We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with a few shortcomings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
137 Pillars House Chiang Mai
Ranked #2 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This charming new property is built around the historical home of Anna Leonowen's (The King & I) son. The new additions are sympathetic to the original 137-pillared house, minus the pillars.
The nicest thing about the hotel is the Thai-colonial-chic decor, abundant with wooden shutters, and probably the prettiest bathrooms I've encountered. The worst thing is that the rooms surround a central courtyard, with bedrooms that fall prey to kids yelling and playing at 8am in the central lawn. When you give in to the noise and stumble out for breakfast, you find a meagre and unappetizing spread, disappointingly not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank madchinaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

I understand why this is the highest rated hotel on Trip Advisor. We stayed here on our recent trip to Chiang Mai for Loy Krathong. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous, the room was one of the best I've ever stayed in, the service was superb, and a great location. It was a bit pricey, but I'm very glad we stayed there. My only recommendation would be that they could add a transfer from the hotel included in the room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tlstar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

....would have scored 5 stars if not for the minor inconsistency.
1. The complimentary mini bar items are never the same, sometimes you get an apple juice, a cranberry and an orange. Some days it will be all orange. Sometimes there are 2 cans of schwepps soda water, sometimes none. Sometimes there is a Heiniken and a Singha, sometimes just you get just one. Jsut like the tea bags, there will be days when it is replenished to full complement, sometimes not.
2. First day at breakfast, there were proper linen napkins on the outdoor tables. Then they went AWOL for 3 days and paper cocktail napkins took their place. Then on the 5th day, the linen napkins resurfaced. Odd.
One thing that remained constant was the fruit bowl in the room. There will always be that nasty yellow chinese pear and farang navel oranges. Lord knows we tried to get rid of these several times during our week long stay by offloading them at the fruit bowl at the gym. But somehow these pesky fruit will find their way back to the room. We have given up since. It is strange that a hotel will insist upon filling fruit bowl with these non-tropical fruit when there is a myriad of cheaper tropical fruit in the local fruit market. Sapodilla @ Bht35, rose apples @ Bht10....yet they insist on stocking their bowls with the bht 50 yellow pears. Just thought it might be nice for travellers to be greeted by the unusual instead of the boring old apple, orange, pear.
Rooms are amazing. The staff here is the biggest asset as they try to entertain every unusual request we put upon them. A BIG thank you to Nicky for all her patience. We will definitely see you guys again next year!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank KraZkatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We went to Chiang Mai and stayed at 137 Pillars House, and we highly recommend this hotel to stay! One of the best we have ever been! Beautiful decoration, nice service, far enough of center, to be quiet and close enough to go downtown; if you ever go to Chiang Mai (and can afford...) this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritacoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel! It is absolutely beautiful, the service is perfect and it was my favorite hotel during this trip to Thailand and Laos.

1. Rooms - the rooms are exquisite. I had a Raja Brooke Suite and it's gorgeous. Every detail, design element and item in the room has been carefully thought out. It was a luxurious amount of space for one person so it would be no problem at all for two. You have the bedroom, a dressing room, a LARGE bathroom, outdoor shower and a terrace. The bed was extremely comfortable - best sleep I got on the trip. They've thought of everything - even a pre-loaded iPod in each room.

2. Grounds/hotel facility - the hotel is stunning as it quietly unfolds from where you first pull up. The open air lobby is so pretty, the buildings with the rooms are built discretely into the grounds and the original 'pillars house' that now holds the bar, restaurants, etc. is really something special. Then there's the pool and the 'green wall' which is stunning and original. There was a piano player each evening in the open air part of the pillars house and I loved listening either there or from my own terrace. Magical!

3. Service - what really makes this hotel great and puts it among the best hotels I've stayed in is the service. The staff are excellent and think of everything, sometimes even before you do. They almost can't do enough for you but are never in your way or hovering too much. Best service I experienced in Thailand!

4. Location - I was a little concerned about not being within the Old Town but I should not have been and I think the riverside location of this hotel was even better. It provided an escape from the traffic and chaos that you can find in the old town and just outside the gates. It was only a short walk across the bridge and into town and tuk tuks were also plentiful.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYC304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed three days at 137 Pillars House in Chiang Mai two weeks ago. We were exhausted from two days travel from states, and were taken in and nurtured by a caring, thoughtful staff. We liked being across the river from all the "old city" hoopla, and the neighborhood along Charon Rat Road is developing into a high quality venue for native crafts, silk and handiwork. We had an excellent dinner in the hotel, and several in the neighborhood based on recommendations.
We also had excellent massages in the spa, but at 5X the price of comparable services across the river. Our room was an elegant sanctuary during our visit to Chiang Mai which we loved.
We really enjoyed our stay at 137 Pillars House and thought it was a great value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We booked the Louis Leonowen suite for our stay because of its private pool, but we actually found that it's not necessary cause it's really too small & you won't enjoy swimming in a tiny pool that was facing 3 walls.
The interior of the suite was great! It was comfortable, clean & tidy, equipped with indoor & outdoor shower. But was quite expensive for Thailand standard ( round USD 900 for our suite)
The hotel is nice but you have nothing much to do cause it's really small.
Staff are friendly and helpful, the service was quite impeccable.
Overall a nice experience.

Room Tip: If you prefer more privacy, better ask for room on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChloeSnowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 395 in Chiang Mai
595 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,528 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Na Nirand Romantic Boutique Resort
1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai

Address: 2 Soi 1, Na Wat Gate Road | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $482 - $957 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious 30 suite boutique Hotel is built around a colonial teak homestead built in 1880s. It is located in a leafy residential enclave a few minutes walk from the historical Wat Gate Temple, Ping River and boutique shopping area. Four stunning suite types range from 70 -135 square meters; two with small private pools. Tiled verandas, cane shades, rattan furniture and free standing Victorian baths are reminders of days gone by, blend with modern facilities including outdoor gardens showers, flat screen televisions and wi-fi. A range of bespoke dining options include the Jack Bain's Bar, Parlor, Wine Cellar, The Dining Room, Palette, Kitchen and Private Dining, using organic ingredients from the Hotel's garden.Recreation facilities include the Spa, Gymnasium and Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing