We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Eat and Drink in Chiang Mai”

Doo Dee Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #112 of 2,102 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $18
Cuisines: Italian, Thai, Dutch, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat and Drink in Chiang Mai”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just over the road from the Chiang Mai Gate Hotel this is a very clean and friendly establishment. The Landlady and staff are all very attentive and great company. Choices of where to eat and drink at this end of town are more limited than in the more lively NIght Market area. Very popular with all nationalities particularly the Dutch.

The menu offers a wide choice of Thai and European dishes. My personal favourite was the Burmese curry. During my 3 weeks in Thailand this is the only time I came across the dish. If you like a bit of Eastern spice mixed with a more traditional European stew then try this. Even if you don't like either still give it a go it's awesome!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grimm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management D, Manager at Doo Dee Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for commenting on our Burmese curry.
The Thai name is Kaeng Hang Lae should that interest you.

We can't promise it's as tasty elsewhere as it is at Doo Dee.

Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Management Doo Dee Pub & Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    72
    11
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quality Western Food in Chiang Mai”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Doo Dee Pub & Restaurant serves up some of the best western and Thai dishes my wife and I have had in Chiang Mai. From what we can tell, Doo Dee's cooks do them all justice. Highly recommended if you are near Chiang Mai Gate and want a nice sit down dinner in a comfortable atmosphere. The owner has a great collection of music that adds to the overall ambiance, and the decor is very inviting. My wife and I love the pillow backed seating downstairs, but also love the view of the Thai pagoda just across the street when enjoying dinner upstairs. Only issues we have experienced are on the busier nights. Food orders can sometimes take a little longer due to the sheer volume of customers spilling out into the seating that lines the street, but we think they do a good job managing it all. Kudos to the owner for usually greeting customers on the busier nights and letting them know that there is an expected wait so they may avoid disappointment if they are in a hurry to grab a bite. From our experience we recommend getting in earlier in the evening (around 6pm or 7pm). An average meal with 2 beers for me and my wife runs us about 400 baht ($13 US). We still haven't quite figured out the best way to park our motorbike here, but we usually opt to park on the sidewalk across the street when it is available. Only thing stopping us from giving 5 stars is the current suspension of their daily specials that we absolutely loved...especially the 150 Baht Wednesday pizza special!

Recommendation: The Kebab Shoarma

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher-J-Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management D, Manager at Doo Dee Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Chris,

Thank you for your review. Yes we have been busy but tried to give every table the service and quality of food they deserve, and we need to inform our guests in advance should we suspect the speed of service or quality of food can or might be compromised. And informed guest is better then an unhappy guest! Our kitchen is not designed to handle such great flow of people, in fact we are more a pub then a full restaurant!

Anyway we thank you and all our other guests for understanding and for bearing with us during this period.

As a final note our specials will be returning in some shape of form, keep track of our website and Facebook page for announcements and updates.

We hope to welcome you back at Doo Dee Pub & Restaurant!

Kind regards,

Staff, Management and Owners of Doo Dee Pub & Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“An excellent bar....”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

It's almost like a proper pub back home, except its in Thailand, good food, good drinks menu, TV screens for sport, wifi, an upstairs terrace and lovely chunky wooden furniture.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank yachtmasterjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management D, Manager at Doo Dee Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear guests,

We are happy you enjoyed our restaurant and food.

We are looking forward to see back at any time.

Kind regards,

Management Doo Dee Pub & Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
“Fantastic spot, excellent food!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were staying at the hotel across the road and had dinner here every night! They were very busy every day but the little wait for our table was worth it!

Their menu futures Thai and Western dishes and all are prepared with attention.

Highly recommended and we will be back for sure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management D, Manager at Doo Dee Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear guests,

We are happy you enjoyed our restaurant and food.

We are looking forward to see back at any time.

Kind regards,

Management Doo Dee Pub & Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uden, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Doo Dee Pub & Restaurant”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great place!!! Very nice food, staff, music and owners! They have Thai and International food. A friendly atmosphere, and good service made this a good choice. We have eat there for the rest of our stay in Chiang Mai.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management D, Manager at Doo Dee Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear guests,

We are happy you enjoyed our restaurant and food.

We are looking forward to see back at any time.

Kind regards,

Management Doo Dee Pub & Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doo Dee Pub & Restaurant also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Doo Dee Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing