We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!”
Review of de Rachamanka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
de Rachamanka
Ranked #105 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

The place is quaint, but the rooms are very small. There's also a strange sewer like smell in the bathrooms. The decor is nice and breakfast really good. Unfortunately the place is located on a busy road, although very close to the Sunday night market and other tourist attractions. One of my family members had a medical emergency when we stayed here and the staff went above and beyond to provide support.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank shabone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    60
    27
    3
    7
See reviews for
23
87
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Just a night there is sufficient for us. We were put up in this "box-accommodation" when the nearby guesthouse which we were enjoying for 2 nights could not extend our stay due to full house. It was not their fault, rather our short noticed to them.

Anyway, we were given a room which had only a tiny window hidden next to the closet. Just like sleeping in a container with any window or skylight. The room is cramped. The single bed is on castors and it moves whenever you lean on the headboard. Actually, there is any headboard at the bed. It is actually the naked wall. Unpainted! The bathroom was okay until you turned on the ventilator. Mysteriously, the bad smell of sewerage permeated the whole bathroom.

Only very basic bathroom accessories are provided for guests. Just that you may like to know.

For 130 baht, you may buy a America breakfast in-house. No Thai food was on offered. We took a short walk out and found some lovely Thai breakfast. It was good food. We think we made a good choice because were happy.

One plus point for the guesthouse ~ it is nicely painted on the outside and located just by the main road, i.e. Rachamanka Road. Tuk-tuk drivers will not miss it. The nice and spacious reception area probably give the place a presentable face. Overall, we would give it 3/5 based on our personal experiences.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryThirteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this place after having viewed the photos on trip advisor and as well as having read all the nice posts below. This hotel is situated in the old city and it's around the corner to the Sunday night market. We got to our room, it has a small window facing the back dark alley. The room had a super musty smell and the bathroom felt slimey and dirty. Saw a huge wolf spider in the shower... The shower was also cold. We couldn't sleep because the ac was so loud and it was making such an odd noise, like a clicking sound every 30 seconds. How can you sleep to that??? For the price of the hotel, we expected more. It was a total let down. We immediately left for another hotel as soon as we woke up.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kk15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branch, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Jim and her staff were so friendly and courteous. Assisted with everything perfectly for our tours and bookings to numerous outings. Best place to stay, clean, friendly, courteous, excellent breakfast, and top notch service. Highly recommended for stay in Chiang Mai

Room Tip: Room on the street was relatively quiet. Enjoyed the balcony and watching all the sights and sounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

. Stayed here for three nights get help and warm service. At breakfast-was given extra fruit, other people do not get it. Also assisted when we wanted to go to one place. Explained how to get there and even helped get transport so as not to be deceived. That service is given. Hopefully for guests, all of them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Destha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel in Chiang Mai. Good location, new and clean! We booked through them a trip around Chiang Mai that proved to be the highlight of our vacation. Overall a great place to stay. Would recommend it to anyone visiting Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BogdanStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

When renovation works are complete, I have bo doubt that this place will again merit the rave reviews but at present there are a few issues.

My room...at 1400 baht was nice on first impressions but on closer inspection, flaws appeared. It had clearly been very recently revamped to the extent that there were bits of chipping, dust and plasterwork on the bathroom floor and I trod on a sharp bit of plastic on the concrete bedroom floor. There was lavatory paper in the loo bowl on arrival.

At this price shampoo in the bathroom would have been nice, however cheap.


The garden was a work in progress and noisy construction work was underway during the afternoon.

On the upside, the staff are delightful and eager to help. Breakfast was good.

In a month or two, all will be well.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bombardierice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Namamema Colonial Boutique House
Namamema Colonial Boutique House
#133 of 747 in Chiang Mai
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anoma Boutique House
Anoma Boutique House
#180 of 747 in Chiang Mai
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#13 of 747 in Chiang Mai
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
#37 of 747 in Chiang Mai
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cozy Inn Chiang Mai
Cozy Inn Chiang Mai
#67 of 747 in Chiang Mai
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
See You Soon, Chiang Mai
See You Soon, Chiang Mai
#77 of 747 in Chiang Mai
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to de Rachamanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about de Rachamanka

Property: de Rachamanka
Address: 82-86 Rachamanka rd. | Prasingh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — de Rachamanka 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Rachamanka is located in Chiang Mai’s Old Town, just 50 metres from the Sunday Walking Street. Featuring modern Lanna-style décor, it offers free Wi-Fi and rooms with private bathrooms.Fitted with dark wood furnishings, the air-conditioned rooms come with a flat-screen TV and a fridge. Each room has a bathroom with toiletries and a hot shower.De Rachamanka, Chiang Mai is 70 metres away from Wat Chedi Luang and 100 metres from Wat Phra Singh. Chiang Mai International Airport is a 15-minute drive away.Luggage storage facilities are available at the 24-hour reception, while excursions and airport transfers can be arranged at the tour desk. Car rental and laundry services are also provided.De Rachamanka Hotel has a restaurant that serves Thai and international dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your de Rachamanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing