We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, convenient location”
Review of de Rachamanka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
de Rachamanka
Ranked #134 of 775 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Conveniently located in the old centre this hotel is a great place from where you can explore the city. Close to various temples and just around the corner of the Sunday "walking street" evening market. We booked a deluxe room, which was fairly roomy with basic funishing. Bed was a bit springy but otherwise okay.
The room was clean and serviced every day. The plumbing was a bit off because when the shower or sink was used a stark odour of raw sewage was released. It went away after a minute or so and didn't last when not in use.
We had no WiFi reception in our room although internet connection provided was fast and stable downstairs.
Very helpful and friendly manager.
This hotel is fairly new and not all taxi and tuktuk drivers know where to find it. We've been taken to the luxurious 5star "The Rachamanka" hotel by mistake on the western end of Rachamanka road.
Nice hotel, fair price, convenient location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrt_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for de Rachamanka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 182 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We were warmly welcomed in this small, yet lovely decorated hotel. The rooms are as shown on the pictures- you get what you pay for. Everything is in good condition and Management is open for comments. If you are not sure where to go in chiang mai, ask and you will get great advice- restaurants, sights, tours. You can even book directly at the hotel. We had a good time!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franziska M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have never written a TripAdvisor review, but this place deserves to be talked up! This hotel was exactly what I needed. It's located only a few minutes walk to both Wat Chedi Luang and Wat Pra Singh and about a twenty minute walk to the night bazaar. The rooms were pretty basic, but extremely clean. The beds were also really comfortable. I have to say though, one of the best things about this hotel is the staff. Each one of them did everything in their power to make my stay as enjoyable as possible and genuinely cared about how I was doing. The owner gave me all kinds of advice as to what to do during my stay and helped me book all of my tours. If I ever come back to Chiang Mai, I will definitely be coming back here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schlaghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Came from a larger hotel in Chinatown that was the worst we had ever seen. Hoping we would end up in a better place and we were not disappointed.

The owner is the manager so cares about the reputation of his hotel. He was onsite most of the time and was very helpful. Helped us with tours, car hire and more.

The rooms are basic but at the price very good value for money. The Sunday Markets are a stonesthrow away. Would come back.

Room Tip: Sunday Markets are just around the corner and are stalled by real Thais unlike the other markets
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank machine2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just like at home! I liked this hotel very much. The host and hostess were very enthusiasm and helpful. The hotel is located in the middle of old city, this area is very quiet and comfortable, and the Wat Chedi Luang is next to it, I liked the host and hostess, And if you want to enjoy the Sunday market, it's only steps there. Someday, they invited my wife and son to go to shopping and have fun with her two lovely daughters. We stayed there four days, just felt we were at home. It's a definitely wonderful vacation. I will still stay there if I go to Chiangmai next time.

Room Tip: small but lovely and practical room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jingming_Huang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I really liked de Rachamanka. The hotel is ideally located in the old town, the room was nice, clean and comfortable and the staff and owner very helpful. I have no hesitation to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coliput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We initially booked for 2 nights and then stayed for another week. Everybody at the hotel went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. Nothing we asked for was too much like Thai breakfast and extra towels. The hotel is also very centrally located. We will definitely return to this hotel and recommend it wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Try to book a room at the front, as there is a high school near the back.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micaela v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Anoma 2 Bed And Breakfast
Anoma 2 Bed And Breakfast
#151 of 775 in Chiang Mai
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namamema Colonial Boutique House
Namamema Colonial Boutique House
#130 of 775 in Chiang Mai
15 reviews
0.5 mi away
M.D. House
M.D. House
#202 of 775 in Chiang Mai
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#13 of 775 in Chiang Mai
862 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Naview @Prasingh
Le Naview @Prasingh
#13 of 882 in Chiang Mai
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nai Boutique House
Nai Boutique House
#108 of 775 in Chiang Mai
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to de Rachamanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about de Rachamanka

Address: 82-86 Rachamanka rd. | Prasingh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 775 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $20 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — de Rachamanka 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Rachamanka is located in Chiang Mai’s Old Town, just 50 metres from the Sunday Walking Street. Featuring modern Lanna-style décor, it offers free Wi-Fi and rooms with private bathrooms.Fitted with dark wood furnishings, the air-conditioned rooms come with a flat-screen TV and a fridge. Each room has a bathroom with toiletries and a hot shower.De Rachamanka, Chiang Mai is 70 metres away from Wat Chedi Luang and 100 metres from Wat Phra Singh. Chiang Mai International Airport is a 15-minute drive away.Luggage storage facilities are available at the 24-hour reception, while excursions and airport transfers can be arranged at the tour desk. Car rental and laundry services are also provided.De Rachamanka Hotel has a restaurant that serves Thai and international dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your de Rachamanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing