We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“False Use Of The Word RESORT” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal View Resort Chiangmai

Royal View Resort Chiangmai
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal View Resort Chiangmai
Ranked #209 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Jomtien Beach, Thailand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“False Use Of The Word RESORT”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Royal View Resort sure does sound nice but in reality it is just a run down hotel stuck in the back waters of Chiang Mai, no pool, no views to anywhere, small dingy rooms, self service breakfast the same everyday, rice soup and/or bread to toast with margaine and jam washed down by instant coffee of water, please yourself.

Local attractions????? the real attractions are too far away from this place and the restaurants located nearby are best left alone.

My advice.....stay somewhere else

Room Tip: no good rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
1
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai Province, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

It's not centrally located, but we knew that going in. The neighborhood is a bit loud. Ideal location if you want to spend nights at a bar with Thai, and not just tourists. Unfortunately, no place to securely store passports or extra cash either (no in room safe, no safe at reception). The locks on the doors are key locks which are easily tricked (think 1970s locks). It's a pity. Someone spent a lot of time planning and designing the hotel, but it hasn't been maintained. There are cobwebs and grunge for no reason. A bit more regular cleaning and the place would be tolerable, possibly even nice. Combined with the noise, lack of secure storage, and inconvenient location (even the songthaew driver couldn't find the place), it just wasn't worth it. Too many nice places in Chiang Mai to stay at a not nice spot.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank epalpebrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

A small boutique hotel located on a small busy street off Chang-Peuk road. Photos from Agoda website look very nice, and the rates are very cheap. The hotel is quite difficult to find due to the location (about one kilometres off the mainroad). The road is narrow with no footpath, but a lot of motorcycles and cars. If you don't have a car, I don't recommend this hotel because the road is quite dangerous.
The hotel and its garden are ok. Services are good. The owner is friendly. And our room is big, clean and cosy. However, at night sound from the street, especially from motorcycles and share-taxi truck (in thai-"songtaew") was so loud for all night. So, I couldn't sleep.
In the morning there was a smell of cigarette into my room. When I opened the door, I found another guest smoking at the sofa just outside my room, not far from the lobby. Every morning the man smoked there, and nobody warned him. I think because he was a long-stay guest. That was very terrible. And for sure we will not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: any rooms near the street are very noisy. Smoking inside the hotel should be strictly prohibited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akepunlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

This small hotel was great for us. Free Wi Fi, bikes £1 a day, clean rooms hot showers tv AIR CONDITIONING. Free tea coffee and toast and marmalade for breakfast. Terrace. Central location. We could cycle from the hotel to the pool (Lotus Hotel) in ten minutes, walk to all the cool bars and great restaurants. Really reasonable room price too.

Room Tip: nearest to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vintagegirl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
B2 Khamtieng
B2 Khamtieng
#216 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Shilton Resort
Royal Shilton Resort
#173 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
3.2 mi away
De KRIYA
De KRIYA
#142 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baankhun Chiang Mai Hotel
Baankhun Chiang Mai Hotel
#174 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tawan Court
Tawan Court
#96 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nimman Boutique Resort
Nimman Boutique Resort
#120 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal View Resort Chiangmai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal View Resort Chiangmai

Property: Royal View Resort Chiangmai
Address: 47 soi Wiang Bua, Chotana Rd, T.Changpueak, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal View Resort Chiangmai 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Royal View Resort Chiangmai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing