We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for backpackers!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deejai Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deejai Backpackers
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent for backpackers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

It's a really cheap and good option if you're backpacker.
The rooms are clean and big. They have hot water (all the time!) and everything looks new.
They also have a bar and a swimmingpool, but you have to pay, though.
The wi fi is not good in the 2nd floor (I couldnt use it!). Anyway, is a really nice place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiorella F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    101
    55
    32
    18
See reviews for
3
29
120
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed in a three bed dorm next to the common room, so very noisy during the morning and at night. But earplugs worked. The room was extremely humid and because of that it didn't feel very clean. I also think that are bed bugs in the beds, but I had a special bedbug sheet. The staff was friendly but if we had a problem, the toilet was stuck once for example, we had to tell them a few times before it was fixed. That was also the case when we ordered a scooter. A plus is the garden, 200 meters further down the street, it has a nice swimming pool where you can swim and sunbath for 50 bath a day. Locations is a bit out of the city centre.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first or second floor, they're probably less humid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danouck v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed 6 nights at Deejai's and had lots of fun. There bar down the street gets going pretty good after 9 but unfortunately that makes for a lot a noisy drunks around 2am when you are fast a sleep. The rooms were simple but that's all we needed but the company was very friendly, good place to meet people! Its located in the old city which was a definite plus on a side street not far from many main temples and restaurants.

Room Tip: Don't be on the ground floor...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casa
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights in December. Breakfast and food at the hostel was good. No wifi except for in the lobby as the manager wants to encourage socialisation, but the chairs/seating were miserably uncomfortable. BBQ/other events down the street were top-notch. Room not cleaned once while staying there, and upon entering was not very clean at all. Helpful staff. All in all, I would not recommend this place to anybody other than a teenage backpacker looking for a cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inasianow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Sounded like a great place to stay and despite being initially told there was no room when we arrived they managed to fit us in a room that suddenly 'sprung up'. The rooms seemed good but small, and the hostel as a whole seemed laid back with lots of backpackers. However, after returning to our room following dinner we noticed a bug on the bed and once lifting the sheets realised the mattress was seething with bed bugs! We were forced to sleep in reception as there were no other rooms available and too late to look else where. Not only this but the following day we met another girl who had bed bugs in her room and realised that she had stayed in our room the previous night and told the staff of the situation. SO KNOWINGLY THEY PUT US IN A ROOM WITH BED BUGS. As two 18 year old girls it wasn't the best to be stranded at 2am with no where to stay. Was a disappointing first night as the hostel looked so nice.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annayork1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Masnou, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Nothing to object from this backpackers, cheap prices, nice and comfy rooms, of course with some things to be fix, but it's a backpackers!
Very good food and a lot of tours to offer. They had a nice service, lovely people and huge storage room.
The atmospherw was wonderful!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank etiennemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Deejai for a week and absolutely loved it. We stayed in a twin private room which cost us $8 each per night - crazy good value! The facilities are appropriate to the price, small rooms and poky bathrooms. And don't expect your bathroom door to close! However it is comfortable enough and the excellent common areas mean you don't spend much time in your room. You can't help but meet people here, the beer garden down the road has cheap drinks, live music and a fire pit to sit around and chat. Staying here is fun, plain and simple. This hostel could easily be taken to the next level by making some simple changes, such as an safe in the room, a more organised front desk and a cleaning service a few times a week to empty the bin and top up the toilet paper. Overall I would recommend this to travellers on a budget that are looking to meet people.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hheart_142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
D-Well Hostel
D-Well Hostel
#7 of 787 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thailandwow Guest House
Thailandwow Guest House
#28 of 787 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hug Hostel
Hug Hostel
#19 of 787 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mojito Garden 2
Mojito Garden 2
#196 of 787 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.1 mi away
At Baan Khun Hostel
At Baan Khun Hostel
#75 of 787 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.1 mi away
SOHOstel
SOHOstel
#197 of 787 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deejai Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deejai Backpackers

Property: Deejai Backpackers
Address: 193 / 1 - 2 Ratchamanka Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 787 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Deejai Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing