We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality for money”
Review of Deejai Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deejai Backpackers
Ranked #103 of 934 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I am here for 7 nights and its the most sociable place I have stayed! Really great atmosphere with mix nationalities.
Rooms are very basic but for the price it's fantastic! Meals and drinks on site are pretty pricey compared to outside but still reasonable.
Many people book 1 night and end up staying several.
Chiang mai itself is great and the Sunday walking market is brill

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meljc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 372 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay! Staff are great, rooms are great, garden is great, beers are great, food is great...! What more could you need? A great place for meeting people, not too noisy if you want an early night (but you should make good use of the BBQs, Jungle Chicken Bar, pool table and awesome hammocks and chill out areas) Just stay here and see for yourself!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanuckChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Currently staying in this hostel. Already have stayed 3 nights and extending that for another 7 as we love the atmosphere here. Renting a double room with air conditioning, TV, fridge and fan. Loads of storage space and the room is very clean. Really good common area which is constantly busy due to the great atmosphere here. Beer is a little cheaper here than in other bars so helps keep people in the hostel. Surprisingly quiet here at night even though it is full of backpackers. Have WiFi in our room but I know this is not available in all rooms but shouldn't make too much of a difference due to the great common area. One of the best things about the place is the staff. They are really helpful and great as t sorting out tours. Best hostel we have stayed in, in Thailand and would definitely return next time we are in Chiang mai which hopefully we will be (Brilliant city).

Room Tip: Air con double rooms really clean and large. 450Thb per night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eimalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly, helpful staff, Rob the manager is very knowledgeable about the area and history of Thailand in general. Good food, cheap beer. Great meeting area in the lobby. Good base for heading out to other places in the region.
Next door to a Budist monestry, so need to be respectful of their lifestyle!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jemhorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

For those travelling the backpacker lifestyle and looking for a base in northern thailand there is no other choice than this. There is a super chill and friendly atmosphere here. There are two English guys, Adam and Rob, who work there and are really friendly and helpful with anything from handling issues with your room to giving general travel advice in the area. The rooms are fairly basic but clean. You can get anything from a dorm room to a single private room. Don't come expecting a nice resort though. What this place lacks in luxury though it makes up for in a overall fun and friendly environment. Had some of my best nights in thailand at this place. Theres a backyard area with a firepit and lofts where everyone hangs out and parties. I've never made more friends so easily in my life.

Overall, while not the most luxurious and comfortable place you'll ever stay at, I guarantee you'll have the most fun here.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank filio623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was pit off by negative reviews but decided to tak along with someone on my train who was booked there. What a pleasant surprise! For only 125 bhat a night I got a room in a 3 beded rom with en suite and fan. Mozzie screens on the windows so no need for nets. Welcoming, English spealing staff who were really helpful. Drinks and food avaolable at reasonable prices snd the reception\chill oit area made it easy to meet people. Nice area at night.

A bit of a wa;k to the markets and bars but the exercise is good for you!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaesYFfnnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great place! Friendly staff, nicely arranged reception and beautiful garden! In the morning there is no one in that garden and it's so nice just to sit there, enjoy the morning sun and relax. During the day people were playing billiard, or just sitting or laying around reading books. Very peaceful place. And in the evening, one could enjoy good music here, there were also drinks at the bar. The best value in this place are actually the people, it's very easy to meet someone and find interesting company. Also, Backpackers are organizing tour to the lake, every Thursday at 11 a.m. That was a nice experience too! I would recommend it to everyone.

Now, about the accommodation. I've stayed in a single room on the first floor, my window was facing garden. Sometimes, in the night I could hear voices from the garden, people were sitting and talking. But for me it was not a problem to sleep. And it wasn't that loud.

Single rooms are not very well equipped, actually there is only a bed in the room. Nothing else. But rooms are clean, the bed was good and in the toilet everything worked properly. So after few hours I've got used to it! This place is clean and with a good vibe and it was the most important for me.

There is a safe box, near the lobby and it's free of charge. Just bring your own padlock :) About wifi, people usually use it in the lobby, but since my room was on the first floor I had signal in room too. So it was cool.

Also, the city center is about 15-20 minutes walking. On the way there, you can visit few temples. There are also places to eat very close to Backpackers. And there is an 7/11 store, also couple minutes of walking. So, by my opinion location is good.

To conclude, this place has a great atmosphere and that is it's biggest value! :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shakti81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
D-Well Hostel
D-Well Hostel
#6 of 934 in Chiang Mai
219 reviews
0.6 mi away
HOSTEL by BED
HOSTEL by BED
#8 of 934 in Chiang Mai
112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hug Bed and Breakfast
Hug Bed and Breakfast
#52 of 934 in Chiang Mai
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lantern House Backpackers
Lantern House Backpackers
#85 of 934 in Chiang Mai
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thailandwow Guest House
Thailandwow Guest House
#24 of 934 in Chiang Mai
200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hug Hostel
Hug Hostel
#27 of 934 in Chiang Mai
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deejai Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deejai Backpackers

Address: 193 / 1 - 2 Ratchamanka Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 934 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $10 - $13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Deejai Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing