We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place, just not my style”
Review of Deejai Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deejai Backpackers
Ranked #103 of 938 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I stayed in a private room for 4 nights and my first room was really really dirty, with gypsy moths hanging above the door and in the bathroom. There were cobwebs in every corner. I told them my concerns about the moths and they switched me to a MUCH better room that was clean and comfortable. I think my first room was a bit of a fluke. It was a great room for the price and I have nothing to complain about with that. My thing is that I think the place is meant for a different crowd - the backpacking around SE Asia crowd, while I am more of an older flashpacker on an around the world. Lots of people absolutely love it, and I can see why, it just wasn't my style. The staff are really nice though, and it wasn't a bad stay by any means, particularly for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plushkanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 372 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2012

Stayed in a private room for 5 nights and was more than happy with every aspect of my stay. Obviously I can't speak for the dorms but my room was comfortable and fully functional without being necessarily luxurious. The shower's not the best but with cable TV, excellent A/C, plenty of power sockets and even a small balcony all for under £10 a night it's difficult not to be impressed! I actually booked a single ensuite and was given a double so no complaints at all.
The location isn't perfect *if* you want to be close to the main bars and restaurants, but it's still within the walls of the old town and CM is such a safe, great place I didn't have a issue with the 10-15 walk to Ratvithi Rd or Moon Muang and the hostel is actually very close to the public park which is a nice place to visit.

The staff were always helpful and friendly and although there's no free breakfast at least you can choose something from the excellent value menu and if the beer from the hostel "bar" is half the price you'll pay in a bar in the town. It's not something I particularly bothered with but there is a nice friendly social vibe at Deejai's, most nights there'd be people sitting around the fire-pit out back drinking and chatting and there's always laughter and conversation going on in the open sided common area.

If I'm lucky enough to return to Chiang Mai at somepoint I'd happily stay there again and have recommended it to other friends heading in that direction.

Room Tip: Get the red communal pickup taxi things rather than an overpriced cab or ridiculous tuk-tuk, just ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I thought the Thai staff at Deejai was awesome, super friendly and helpful. The social atmosphere at the hostel was the best I found during my time in Thailand.

Like some other hostels in Chiang Mai, the location is a bit far from most of the places you'd want to be. Understand, though, that this is a low-priced hostel, so the rooms are going to be basic and a bit old. There are plenty of other places to stay if you want a modern, luxurious hotel room.

Security: there is no access control to the hostel other than the locked doors and windows of your room; anyone would be able to walk off the street into the common areas and hallways, especially if the staff is away from the front desk. While I was there, one girl had her passport etc stolen from her luggage in the luggage storage room.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

The good:
There's an incredibly social vibe at Deejai. I made friends with most of the guests on the first day, and it felt like one big family. There's always someone to go into town with or go for dinner together.

Most of the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, especially the Thai owners and Chinese girl called "man" (but be wary of a few exceptions see below)

The common area is HUGE and very comfortable, with a camp fire at night, a restaurant, lounge areas with pillows or hammocks, etc.

The bad:
DO NOT BOOK JUNGLE TREKS through Deejai if they still use "Panda Tours"! Look for "Panda tours Chiang Mai" to read the nightmare story about drunk guides, sexual assault and cancelling all tour activities.

The rooms are pretty low quality; after my experiences with similar priced hostels, I almost walked out immediately after seeing the rooms here. Still, I stayed because of the people and helpful staff.

Security: I found out the second day that the windows facing the hallway could not close! So theoretically anyone could have walked into my room.

They provide the bare minimum; for a towel you will pay 20baht extra per day. There is no bottled water provided even in the "luxury" rooms.

The staff: be mindful of English "Rob". He used to be a salesman, and during my stay there he sold me on the WORST jungle trek imaginable. He also tries to sell people on having their meals at the hostel or the bar where he works, when MUCH superior food can be found elsewhere. Just take his sales pitches with a grain of salt. Also, "Amy" is just not very friendly. The rest of the staff are great people though.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caspar v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Neem een privékamer, anders kom je met 16 personen op een kamer te liggen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
Thank Sarfari333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Thank K1562AQpaulam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
D-Well Hostel
D-Well Hostel
#8 of 938 in Chiang Mai
224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hug Bed and Breakfast
Hug Bed and Breakfast
#46 of 938 in Chiang Mai
76 reviews
0.6 mi away
HOSTEL by BED
HOSTEL by BED
#7 of 938 in Chiang Mai
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nature's Way House
Nature's Way House
#67 of 938 in Chiang Mai
84 reviews
1 mi away
House No. 11
House No. 11
#26 of 938 in Chiang Mai
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thailandwow Guest House
Thailandwow Guest House
#23 of 938 in Chiang Mai
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deejai Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deejai Backpackers

Address: 193 / 1 - 2 Ratchamanka Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 938 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $10 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Deejai Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing