We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming guesthouse. Great experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seven Senses Guest House
Ranked #30 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burgos, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming guesthouse. Great experience.”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed at Seven Senses for three nights this august at the "Chiang Mai" room. The location is great, just a five minute walk to the old town (although Chiang Mai is not a city designed for walking, that´s for sure). Munee, the owner is a great host, with loads of information about the city and always willing to help, even writing the adress of wherever you might want to go in Thai for the taxi drivers to take you there. Breakfast was superb, with a choice between continental breakfast, muesli set (my favourite) or thai food. The decor of the room was great, and the whole stay was great. Leaving was one of the sadest moments in my trip to Thailand. if i ever may return to Chiang Mai, i will not look elsewhere. This is the place to stay. Make yourself a favour and stay at Seven Senses. You wont regret.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juanffz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    35
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
86
31
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Seven Senses. The rooms are gorgeous and I highly recommend the Chiang Khan room with the outdoor shower, very cool! Loved the attention to details like the mosquito netting and machine that zaps them and keeps them from biting you. The bed was actually very comfortable which is saying a lot for Thailand, the land of hard beds. The food was outstanding, especially the koisoy soup, delicious! Munee greeted us upon arrival with the best cold lemongrass tea Ive had in Thailand! She had great tips for our one day stay and was so accommodating and attentive. Her personality is so sparkling and welcoming. The location is good if you want to check out the "new town" Chiang Mai, which I really recommend. She keeps taxi drivers available right outside which was very convenient. Staying here was like staying at a spa home, so relaxing and we really felt well taken care of.

Room Tip: Chiang Khan has a private outdoor shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This type of guesthouse is usually above our budget, but with a discount by booking online, we were able to get the Ayutthaya suite. The room was just lovely, there is a small outdoor area, and the bathtub/shower is also placed outside. The room is different from a run-of-the-mill hotel room with much much more personality. All the basic stuff was in order. Clean, good bed, tv, fridge etc.
Breakfast was nice. You order the evening before and have the option of regular american breakfast or different thai dishes. Be sure to try the Khao Soi.
When we arrived we were given a cold drink, this is a nice touch but a common thing. The difference here was that the following days we were staying at the hotel the chef gave us cold drinks every time we came back from sightseeing or dinner. Everyday was a new type of juice. The staff in general is very nice. The owner was very helpfull with advice on what to do and see and the occasional sorting out taxi prices for us.
Location was in a quiet resedential area. The north and west gate of the old city is within 15 min walking, Central place mall is 5 minutes away. Across from the hotel is a parking lot that the Sorng-taa-ou drivers use for breaks. 20 baht PP gets you to Nimmanhaemin, riverside or East gate in no time (and you don't have to flag them down on the street, just interrupt their brake).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceftriaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I had booked 3 nights after looking at the photos and did not expect it to be quite like the pictures, but I was really surprised as the place was fantastic and so serene. The owner Munee is so lovely and friendly and went out of her way to help. The breakfast provided is very delicious; try the museli and fresh fruit was great. It is close to everything and yet quiet. I wish I had stayed longer as the tree days were already packed with trips and I would have loved to go to meditation at Munee’s temple with her as well as give alms to the monks in the morning. It was the best place I stayed in on my trip and would stay again and I will highly recommend it to my family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krishan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This small guesthouse is away from the backpacker 'ghetto' but close to the old city and a great restaurant.

A lot of thought has gone into the decoration of each of the rooms, which are all quite different. Lots of local character.

My room wasn't large but it did contain everything I needed. They have bikes you can use and the small sois nearby are good for this. It feels very much like staying in a 'normal' suburb, and yet it's so close to the old city.

Nearby is the excellent Pun Pun restaurant - ask the Manager or receptionist for directions.

The breakfast is great and the breakfast room is set out well for socialising with fellow guests.

The Manager of the guesthouse is lovely and very helpful. She is a Thai lady who speaks excellent English, and she can write taxi instructions etc. in Thai for you. Apparently she used to be an air hostess (hence the excellent English).

This is a very good option. In the off-season be sure to ask for a discount.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie_L14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

The place is beautiful, the Owner is incredibly helpful, even her kids are willing to lend a hand.
Feels like a combo hotel/home stay and we were treated perfectly.
The cafe/restaurant served amazing breakfasts (get the yoghurt muesli).
They even let us borrow bikes for an afternoon to go exploring and helped us plan and book everything we needed.

Great English, friendly & helpful, so we don't have to worry about anything.

Also, there are red truck taxis across the street at all times to take you where you want to go.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BuchanOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We were given the large (Rattanakosin) room at no extra cost, in spite of having paid for a less expensive room. I especially liked the outdoor shower, but everything about the room was quite nice. Breakfast was great, although never a quick experience. We used the bicycle for free everyday, which allowed us to go everywhere we wanted to in the city (and to some remote temples). The staff waited up for our late arrival the first night, and were always friendly and helpful. Location is nicely just outside of the moated city, in an uncongested area. I did notice myself getting tired of hearing roosters crowing, but being away from a touristy area more than made up for that, and I look forward to staying at Seven Senses again the next time I'm vacationing in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred60827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
1.2 mi away
Pak Chiang Mai
Pak Chiang Mai
#26 of 747 in Chiang Mai
508 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arte House
Arte House
#15 of 747 in Chiang Mai
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 747 in Chiang Mai
474 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tanita House
Tanita House
#1 of 747 in Chiang Mai
417 reviews
2.3 mi away
Baan Kiri
Baan Kiri
#40 of 747 in Chiang Mai
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Senses Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Senses Guest House

Property: Seven Senses Guest House
Address: 13 Serm-Suk Street | Changpuak (near Y.M.C.A Suntithum), Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Senses Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Senses Guest House is conveniently located 5 minutes from the historic Janghualin Canal, Night Bazaar, Doi Suthep Temple and many other temples. Each room is delightfully designed in different decor from 7 scenes of Thailand... From the luxurious Manorah room replete with antique furnishings and two-person Jacuzzi to the adorable Pai room offering affordable comfort. You deserve to treat yourself to a memorable experience at the Seven Senses Guest House during your holiday in Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seven Senses Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing