We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stunned by lack of service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheik Istana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheik Istana Hotel
Ranked #79 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“stunned by lack of service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

THE BUILDING AND GARDEN LOOKS LOVELY however service is non existant. Miles out of town , only one shuttle a day, worst breakfast ever in Asia, no buffet, absolutely tastless so called Moroccan breakfast with no flavouring at all unless you want to put heinz chili sauce on it.Plastic jam, cardboard croissants and canned music. The internet took 5 hours to connect, had to ask 3 times for room to be cleaned, water in pool was very cloudy but told due to heavy rain and was ok to swim in. HUGE TV but no channels because of a coup so nt much use. No nearby facilities shops or visible places to eat found on our short stroll .Decor is quite ok and bed is comfortable, good bathroom, nice to have a bath for a change. ITS NOT CHEAP and feels abandoned, only appeared to be one other guest at breakfast...we had thought this would be a bit of luxury...only thing we enjoyed was a complimentary thai massage when we arrived. It is quiet and view onto river is pleasant enough...can see it has potential if it had guests,, was better managed and got a chef and more sevice and definely more shuttle option offered being so far out of town.

Room Tip: Superior room adequate, all have good views, more expensive rooms just bigger and seperate shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harmony88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    61
    21
    5
    11
See reviews for
37
96
20
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

loved this hotel, the rooms, the staff. the swimmmingpool. the hotel is 10 minutes drive from city, but you can take shuttle bus and just take a tuk tuk back, very easy but be sure that you take a map with you where you can point the hotel, otherwise they don't find it.
we had a junior suite and is was wonderfull, very big and nice bathroom. in room lots of space to put everything in closets. dinner was very good and breakfast was a la carte, just good.
special thanks to shuttle bus driver noom and john from restaurant was also very helpfull. we miss it already. do make a reservation for a massage in hotel it was the best we had.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessica v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We have travelled extensively around Asia in the last 10 years and regard the Sheik Istana as the best hotel we have stayed in. We were their guests for 8 nights, and all members of staff treated us with much warmth and care, tending to our every need and ensuring we did not want for anything. The restaurant provided plenty of choices for dining, and we also enjoyed using their well-equipped gym and the 2 salt-water swimming pools. Our room was extra large and very clean, the king-sized bed ensured a good night's sleep, and our balcony overlooking the Ping River was a favourite spot for a pre-dinner drink and to enjoy the peace and tranquility.
We have no hesitation in recommending the Sheik Istana to anyone heading to Chiang Mai for a relaxing holiday and we certainly look forward to returning to the Sheik Istana ourselves in the future.

Room Tip: We would recommend a suite overlooking the Ping River. The surrounding area was quiet, so noise shou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were really pleased with our choice, so much that we stayed for four extra nights. The staff go that extra mile to ensure a happy stay and we appreciated their friendly help when needed. A really well equipped gym and 2nd pool available. Beautiful gardens on the riverside to enjoy and relax in. Free transport to the various markets was provided and bicycles if needed. We had our own transport but the hotel could arrange trips to the local attractions. I would really recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to be away from the city noise and traffic but close enough to get there in five minutes. Almost forgot, there is a complimentary massage for each guest at the spa.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor so had a good view of the river and temple across the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosieandjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

i sent the email to get some information and book the room , the staff was so efficient to reply to me !
when i arrived had a beautiful lady staff pick up for us in airport , this is a cozy hotel and unique decoration . In the lobby had yummy welcome drink ,cool towel , and quick check in just 2-3 mins , then guide us to the room and introduce hotel facilities and shuttle bus time set !
the restaurant staff was kindly service and active to remove the plate
and offer late check out time untill to 14:00 and had sweet gift !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessphyllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have stayed in so many hotels and resorts in Thailand and Sheik Istana Hotel is definitely one of my favorites! The Moroccan style was quite impressive. The room was huge and very clean. The staff were nice and friendly. The hotel ambience was generally light and peaceful. We were in Chiang Mai for 3 nights and every night was a different hotel. This was our last stop and the experience was good. But I must agree on one of the reviews regarding the shower issue. They could do better. The spa was lovely and the restaurant was not bad. They were very generous with the food portion (dinner). Breakfast line was just ok. Few friends have decided to stay at Sheik after seeing our photos and comments. :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceegee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I was very impressed on first impressions of this Moroccan styled hotel. The location was perfect for us around 10minutes outside Central Chiang Mai by the river Ping overlooking a Stupa temple. The rooms were very large, well decorated and the staff were excellent. My two issues were firstly the minor- the showers were terrible for the quality of the hotel. Secondly and much more problematic I got food poisoning from the hotel restaurant! This was a huge problem as 1 of 3 days there was gone due to illness and the only thing I'd eaten all day was the hotel food. A big downer on an otherwise lovely hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diplexalitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chakarn U, General Manager at Sheik Istana Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing of your experience and sorry to hear that you had experienced with the food poisoning when you were with us for the first night.

On this matter I would like to informed you that this is the first time that we had the report that our guest had faced with the food poisoning since the hotel establish in 2011.

Please note that we had the SOP to control for our cooking process and we trust that our food were well prepared with standard of the food hygiene.

Once again thank you very much for telling us what you fell and we will monitor this scenario to make sure had our food are save and clean.

Best regards,

Chakarn U.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
4.4 mi away
Zensala Riverpark Resort
Zensala Riverpark Resort
#52 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
3.8 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.9 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#51 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kiree Thara Boutique Resort
Kiree Thara Boutique Resort
#122 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheik Istana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheik Istana Hotel

Property: Sheik Istana Hotel
Address: 10/1 Moo 3 Padad Road | Padad, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheik Istana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheik Istana is ideally situated on the Ping River, the main river that runs through the city, in one of the most beautiful locations in Chiang Mai. All attraction areas are all within easy reach. The design of the 35 luxuriously appointed guest rooms was inspired by Moroccan and Asian architecture, making the hotel ideally suited for a romantic getaway or honeymoon; its convenient location and beautiful, cosy and elegant atmosphere will however equally appeal to business people. Relax and take in the stunning views of Wat Chedi Lium, one of the ancient temples in Wiang Kum Kam,from your guestroom terrace and have yourself pampered by our friendly and professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sheik Istana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing