We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Shame About the Service”
Review of Sheik Istana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheik Istana Hotel
Ranked #87 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, Shame About the Service”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is a great hotel. The location is out of the main city but very close to the airport which is great if you want to be away from the city's hussle and bussle. You can get tuk tuks or taxis in to the city easily enough. The rooms and the decor are all lovely. There are two pools which is great, unfortunately they were a bit cold for us to use. The only thing that let the hotel down are the staff and the service.
We had arranged and confirmed ( twice ) a collection from the airport. When we arrived there was no one there to collect us and when we rang the hotel, they thought we had already stayed there! There was no real apology, which is not really what we had come to expect. We ate in the hotel the first night and the food was not great, I would not recommend the restaurant.
We then had an incident where they tried to over charge us when checking out and basically accused us of lying! It is such a shame as the hotel itself is lovely, just need a bit more training on customer service. Also whist we stayed there in Feb there was construction work that woke us up at 6.30 - you may want to check that this has finished if you are light sleepers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jolly01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chakarn U, General Manager at Sheik Istana Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Jolly01234

Thank you very much for staying with us in February and we are very sorry for the incident concern the pickup service from Airport to Hotel. As your comment I had already investigated what was happened and found the results as follow:-

Transfer from Airport.

We received your inquiry for pick up at the airport with the flight number and estimate arrival time unfortunately that you did not mention for the name of the Operation Airline by the way we send another mail to ask you to confirm with the name of the airline but did not received your confirmation anyway we assume from estimate arrival time and flight number then we send the car to pick you up at the airport as requested. Unfortunately the car that send could not find you while you were trying to call to hotel but our staff did not know that you are the one that requested for the pickup service then our staff recommend you to come to hotel by taxi while the driver still at the airport. I am deeply sorry for this matter and will train our staff to know how to communicate to prevent any case like this in the future.

Food at the restaurant was not great.

As we reviewed to your order on that date and found that the foods you ordered are Thai local dishes that cooked in a traditional style and one of them has some generic herb like aromatic ginger as it ingredient so you might not appreciate with this recipe.

Problem with mini bar when checked out

This is the issue that occurred when checking out that we had the record that the mini bar was consumed and you deny to pay and finally the hotel agree not to charge you and our Front Office Manager had already been responsible for such cost that occurred.

Thank you once again for you comment we will monitor fix these problems that you had comment to prevent any case like this in the future.

Best regards,

Chakarn U.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    62
    21
    5
    11
See reviews for
38
97
20
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed four nights at this exquisite gem of a hotel. We watched the sun rise next to a stupa across the River Ping from our balcony each morning, with the fountains from the Moorish garden tinkling below. The breakfast buffet included both eastern and western dishes.I was enthralled with the Moroccan accents everywhere--lanterns, pillows, woodcarvings. The staff was friendly and helpful. We often took the scheduled free shuttles into town, taking a tuk tuk back. Wish we had a business card with the name of the hotel in Thai for tuk tuk drivers. (The road into town did not look safe to walk along--traffic too close.) The hotel has two pools, a spa and a fitness center, but we did not make use of them. We did enjoy the double swing in the garden under a full moon. We stayed on the fourth floor--there is an elevator--great views. Loved the roosters crowing to wake us up--just a touch of rural Thailand.

Room Tip: Third and fourth floor rooms have better views and offer more privacy. All rooms have Moorish garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geralyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland, Hesse
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Big rooms (we had a suit) that are nicely decorated. But the positives stop here... This is a 3-star hotel at most....

1)The breakfast is of low quality (dry muffins, tasteless fruit - and that is in Thailand where any market has an amazing selection of fresh fruit, - as well as tasteless coffee & tea), and the selection of Western food is extremely limited.

2)The shower cabin in the room is tiny and the water pressure and temperature change back and forth by themseves...

3)Some waiters in the restaraunt do not speak or understand English...

4)During the 1st 2 days, the a/c in our room did not allow to ajust the temperature, so the room became very cold. Only a repeated complaint got the issue fixed. The room door was broken ( did not close), and was fixed - again - after the 2nd attmpt only. Also, it took the staff 3 days to get us 2 working room key cards... And that is despite of 300 TBT deposit we had to give for the key. So we were finding ourselves in front of our room not being able to upen the door - MANY times...

5)There is a loud costruction going on nearby, which made relaxing in the swimming pool impossible...

6)Location is away from town - not that far, but requires a taxi. Interestingly, many taxies and tuk-tuks don't know where the hotel is and refuse to drive there from town.

7)Finally, when we asked for a late check out, the stuff refused to offer any options, even after we pointed out many issues we had during the stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chakarn U, Manager at Sheik Istana Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
On behalf of the management and staffs at Sheik Istana Hotel, I would like to thank you for your comments concern our services and facilities and sorry to hear that you feel disappoint while you were staying with us.

Please be informed that your comments had been well noted and we had monitored such incidents that you had mentioned for improving of our service and facilities to ensure that these should meet the expectation of our value customer as much as we can.

In some reason such as the noise that occurred at the other site of the river bank this is out of our control due to it is being a town Municipality’s project to construct the river’s barrier to prevent a future flood from the Ping River and the worker will start working from 08.00 am – 05.00 pm from Monday to Saturday.

Regarding to the late checkout issue I am so sorry to inform that we could not offer a late check out until 08.00 pm free of charge as your requested however maximum late check out at 2 p.m free of charge had been proposed even we were 98% occupancy rate . Please note we always be flexible with all requirement for late checkout subject to our room availability and occupancy of the date request.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience via our page in tripadvisor and please accept my sincere apologies for the incidents that occurred to you.

Best regards,

Chakarn U.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

This was our favorite "small" hotel during our 12 day visit to Thailand. Our family of 8 stayed here three nights/four days. Noona, Noon, Joey and the rest of the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful during our stay. We took advantage of the free shuttle ride to the evening markets. Every room has a view looking out on the beautiful gardens and Ping river. The view is a little better from the third floor than the first and second floors (we think!). There's a Wat across the Ping that we did not get to explore also. At night it's lit up. For breakfast each morning we ate at their Marrakesh restaurant. There is a new restaurant across the street "Chill Out" that was great for dinner.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rh1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tang Xia China
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have just enjoyed six nights at the Sheik Istana and Hotel, and would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quite hotel away from the hustle and bustle of the City. The staff are very friendly and from the moment we walked in, to leaving six nights later we could not fault any of their attitude or service ensuring our stay was anything other than first class. Breakfast is good, lots of choice and for hotel Coffee it was pretty good. We had one meal at the hotel on our first night, which was pretty good albeit we were the only ones in the restaurant, so it lacked any atmosphere. A Taxi will cost 200BHT and a TukTuk is 100BHT per journey into or from the City. The Hotel lays on three free shuttle bus journeys each day, at 9am, they take you to the local market in Chiang Mai, at 1pm they drop you just outside the main gate of the Old City and at 6pm they take you to the night market. All three places are within walking distance of each other. We looked at booking a trip through their travel desk, but managed to do a private tour to Doi Inthananon for half the cost of a group tour, so do your research. Over the Road is the CHILL OUT Bar, which offers a wide selection of Beer and Food and the owners are very friendly. I would use this hotel again without hesitation.

Room Tip: We were in room 203, it was perfect for our needs. Our friends stayed in a larger room (108) and spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianinChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

This was a very well decorated hotel, with beautiful rooms and a very tasty restaurant.
We were there during winter so we didn't have a chance to enjoy their pools.
It's located a bit further away than most hotels there, which makes it a great place for a getaway.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Avelezpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

After driving through Chiang Mai city, I saw how crowded the streets were at night. I was so happy to not have to sleep in the middle of that. Just a few minutes drive away, I had the peace and quiet to enjoy my beautiful hotel on a river, with a beautiful temple on the other side.What a view! And very little noise from the street. The hotel offers a free shuttle to town but book it in advance so you have a spot on the bus.

We enjoyed the restaurant for breakfast and dinner and enjoyed the views. If you turn right out of the hotel, a two minute walk will take you to a nice restaurant along the river.

The hotel excels in not only the things we expect from fine hotels, but also adds some nice little touches for their guests! I don't want to spoil it for you, dear reader!

I think this hotel had the biggest refrigerator/freezer I have ever had in a hotel room. It helped a lot as my daughter is on a strict diet due to a medical condition. The mini bar prices were reasonable, as my husband availed himself of a few mini bar beers!

Our rooms were very, very clean, the staff attentive, and the atmosphere of the hotel is just great. I knew I made a good decision on this hotel. Do make time to visit the spa for a great Thai massage, 350 THB. You may find a little cheaper in town, but it may not be as clean and professional as what you will have at this hotel. Enjoy!

Room Tip: I was on the top floor, so very little outside noise. Plus it helped with the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
4.4 mi away
Zensala Riverpark Resort
Zensala Riverpark Resort
#58 of 381 in Chiang Mai
154 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cmor Hotel Chiang Mai by Andacura
2.7 mi away
Chankam Boutique Hotel
Chankam Boutique Hotel
#84 of 381 in Chiang Mai
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Oriental Siam Resort
Oriental Siam Resort
#52 of 381 in Chiang Mai
271 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
5.6 mi away
Kiree Thara Boutique Resort
Kiree Thara Boutique Resort
#125 of 381 in Chiang Mai
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheik Istana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheik Istana Hotel

Property: Sheik Istana Hotel
Address: 10/1 Moo 3 Padad Road | Padad, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheik Istana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheik Istana is ideally situated on the Ping River, the main river that runs through the city, in one of the most beautiful locations in Chiang Mai. All attraction areas are all within easy reach. The design of the 35 luxuriously appointed guest rooms was inspired by Moroccan and Asian architecture, making the hotel ideally suited for a romantic getaway or honeymoon; its convenient location and beautiful, cosy and elegant atmosphere will however equally appeal to business people. Relax and take in the stunning views of Wat Chedi Lium, one of the ancient temples in Wiang Kum Kam,from your guestroom terrace and have yourself pampered by our friendly and professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheik Istana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing