We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice rooms, exceptional service”
Review of Sheik Istana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheik Istana Hotel
Ranked #98 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My general rating for this hotel is really 4.5 stars-very very good since it is just a bit too far from town, but they get .5 more for far and away service that was beyond expectation. I have left an expensive object in my room at check out, only discovered once I arrived in my hotel in Bangkok. I sent an email not expecting much (and after 9pm) and by 10pm I got a phone call and they said they'd overnight ship it to me without charge. I offered to pay the shipping, but they insisted. Another example: after I booked my room online I had another question, so I sent a quick email requesting a car pick up from airport. They responded the next day promptly and confirmed. The pickup was in a nice BMW sedan, very new...which is always nice. It cost about USD $8. From front desk, to restaurant staff to gym staff everyone was extremely courteous and helpful.

This hotel only opened in September 2011 and the room I was in was just about perfect. I was on the 2nd floor facing the Ping River and maybe I higher floor would be better, but I had no complaints. Check out the photos for pics of the room. I ate a couple times at the moroccan specialty restaurant and the moroccan food was just amazing if you feel like a break from Thai food (they have Thai food also). The gym and pool are also adequate for this size hotel although not quite up to the standard of a high-end international chain hotel.

If you're looking to stay outside of the city centre (but only 5-10 min taxi away), then this is the place. They do have bikes to use for free for 3 hrs then a small fee after that and they do some free shuttles into town on a regular schedule (although you need to find your own way back).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Almanorkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 228 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2012

Overall of this hotel is very good, nice decorations and good staffs service. I would like to suggest only few things that very important for travallers. First, tap water was unstable especially in my room and spa , second was breakfast and internet connection was very slow.
I really appreciated with the staffs, they were very nice and good service.

Room Tip: Room on the 4th floor... you will have the good scenery there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warattaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Just completed our second visit to this fantastic hotel. I thought perhaps a second visit might not live up to our first experience, but it did, in every way. The hotel wasn't busy so there was no buffet breakfast. Instead we were handed a menu to choose what we wanted and everything was done to order. Personally I prefer this over a buffet. The restaurant staff were lovely, always there and keen to make sure you have enough of everything you want. Coffee is fresh and made to order.....none of the stewed in a pot stuff!
Deluxe room is huge with a 42" LCD and the bathroom is large with separate tub and shower. Attention to detail and the quality of fittings is superb.
The stunning gardens that look out to the river are a work of art and meticulously taken care of.
I can't pick out any particular member of staff as being special....because they all are, polite and friendly...always.
Thank you again to everyone at Sheik Istana, and can't wait to visit again

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BKK111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

The only thing that could be better was the location. it's too far to walk into town, but it being at the riverside was wonderful and provided best views. it's easy to get to find the night-bazaar. Just go staight along the river. The balcony was fantastic. The whole property was very well-maintained and planned. Beautiful garden and pools. The room was great and had everything we needed. Wonderful atmosphere in the hotel. great swimming in the pool.
Breakfast was served at the table once but had a buffet the next day.

Room Tip: all rooms faced the river. get a room on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Waltraud B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

love everything in this hotel ex. Great decorations , nice rooms , good service and also food. You can enjoy your time for relaxing in spa&masssage. It's very pretty good. And the riverside is awesome . It 's mixing with moroccan & thai properly. Very impressed & pleased .

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M3not
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We have just enjoyed a 3day package deal. Everything was truly delightfully.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Once I got past the strangeness of a Moroccan themed hotel in Thailand, the Sheik Istana hotel was delightful. The staff was incredibly gracious, the room very nice. We enjoyed the included breakfast, and our room had a lovely view of the Mai Ping River, which at daybreak showed a pretty reflection from the across-river Wat.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
4.4 mi away
Zensala Riverpark Resort
Zensala Riverpark Resort
#70 of 395 in Chiang Mai
163 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cmor Hotel Chiang Mai by Andacura
1.7 mi away
Viangdara Hotel
Viangdara Hotel
#122 of 395 in Chiang Mai
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Pause and Play Hotel
Pause and Play Hotel
#116 of 395 in Chiang Mai
31 reviews
3.9 mi away
Brique Hotel Chiang Mai
Brique Hotel Chiang Mai
#136 of 395 in Chiang Mai
20 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Chaya Resort & Spa Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheik Istana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheik Istana Hotel

Address: 10/1 Moo 3 Padad Road | Padad, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $53 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheik Istana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheik Istana is ideally situated on the Ping River, the main river that runs through the city, in one of the most beautiful locations in Chiang Mai. All attraction areas are all within easy reach. The design of the 35 luxuriously appointed guest rooms was inspired by Moroccan and Asian architecture, making the hotel ideally suited for a romantic getaway or honeymoon; its convenient location and beautiful, cosy and elegant atmosphere will however equally appeal to business people. Relax and take in the stunning views of Wat Chedi Lium, one of the ancient temples in Wiang Kum Kam,from your guestroom terrace and have yourself pampered by our friendly and professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheik Istana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing