We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for an enjoyable stay”
Review of Chiangmai lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chiangmai lodge
Ranked #545 of 908 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Reviewed August 2, 2012

As a single woman I felt that my stay here for 18 nights was very enjoyable. The staff are particularly helpful and welcoming. I would highly recommend it as a quiet and restful place to be, while at the same time very close to so many tourist destinations and shopping venues.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liferite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 27 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2011

This place is fairly new(clean). They take good care of premises. Has security, videocams on all floors.Internet wireless or LAN all floors. English,Japanese and Thai are spoken at front desk. Easy to deal with, very friendly.We have spent 2 winters(Nov.- Mar.) with them out of seven winters and will return.
Rooms are basic with fridge,T.V., amoire for clothes and writing desk.
We sent our bicycles ahead of us and they received them and stored them in locked room.
Very good location , just a short two minute walk to mall with supermarket, theater and restaurants( Thai and western eg. Sizzler,KFC etc). Same mall has outdoor market (clothes and food and foot massage)Thurs-Sat. You are about 3 blocks to the moat which surrounds the old city. Just off the road to Doi Suthep. walking distance to Nimenhaemen Rd. where there are lots of funky cafes and nightlife.
The rooms are inexpensive under 200.00 USD for the month. They also rent by day or week.
They will arrange for motorcyle rental if needed. I recommend a bike to explore outlying areas.

Room Tip: higher room for longstay. Short term are located first 3 floors. side rooms quieter than front(stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brett&Cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This time around, I had a bit of a longer trip to Chiang Mai, so I opted for a serviced apartment/long term hotel. CM Lodge is located about a block to the northeast of the Kad Suan Kaew Mall, which is right at the northwest corner of the moat. The location is great: it's close to the mall, close to the moat, and there are several western style restaurants within a short walk, including those in the mall.

I opted for a large corner room, priced at 8000 baht (which came out to about 11000 with a month's worth of water and electricity), so just under 300 baht a day. Once a week the linens, towels, soap, and tisue paper are replaced, and the floors mopped and garbage removed. You are not going to get a new (the hotel is about 2-3 years old) room this spacious for this amount of money. So that is good. In addition, the rooms are clean and freshly painted: and not an ant, pest, or spider in sight.

Pros: You can rent a motorcycle for a month at a good rate. Location is good. Facilities include coin operated, laundry, wifi, a coin operated drinking water machine, cable TV, and fully furnished rooms.

The cons: The place is slightly pricey for what you get. You could walk a couple blocks in any direction and get a place that's as comfortable for perhaps a thousand less a month. They also charge you a little more than nearby places for electricity, which is unfortunate. The fitness center is basically two machines and an electric fan. Also, it has no pool, which isn't a big deal, except that many apartments in the 7000-12000 baht/month range do. Finally the last con, and deciding factor for why I unlikely to stay more than a month at a time, is that the management is kind of rigid and inexperienced. For example, I need to be persuaded to stay, and the complete lack of any desire to facilitate my long term needs (discounts for 3+ month stays, motorcycle rentals, or pro-rating for long says) were turned down. I found in the space of a couple hours of searching, several places that were willing to do some or all of my requirements.

Bottom line: If you want a hassle-free experience, and are staying in CM one or two months, and are willing to pay a couple thousand baht a month more for it, this is the place to go!

Room Tip: Get the corner rooms if alone or in a couple. It's spacious and very well lit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bearanddragonNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stayed at Chiang Mai Lodge for six months while living and working as English Language teacher in Chiang Mai. The hotel offers long and short term rates and rooms. The majority of visitors are there long term like I was making the place peaceful and well respected by its guests. The rooms and the place are unbelievability clean, tidy and well run. Its in a great area and is priced accordingly. I had a room long term for 4500baht a month, you cant get much cheaper than that considering the quality of the place trust me I looked. That said it was only out of curiosity rather than any need to move. 24 hour security and full CCTV make it an exceptionally safe place to stay and the staff are extremely polite and accommodating. I really don't know what more to say than give this place a try, I can highly recommend it!!!

Room Tip: Go in and see the receptionist face to face.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MagooMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Théophile G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, traveled solo
Thank Celeste-ine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, traveled solo
Thank Jihyo_Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#25 of 389 in Chiang Mai
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hop Inn Chiang Mai
Hop Inn Chiang Mai
#123 of 389 in Chiang Mai
13 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pattara Place
Pattara Place
#196 of 389 in Chiang Mai
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#156 of 389 in Chiang Mai
653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pansook The Urban Condo
Pansook The Urban Condo
#549 of 908 in Chiang Mai
8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puwanon Place
Puwanon Place
#257 of 908 in Chiang Mai
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiangmai lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiangmai lodge

Address: 7 Rachapruak Rd. Huaykaew, Suthep, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #545 of 908 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $16 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiangmai lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Chiangmai lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing