We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very loud noise from the bar”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kalare Night Bazaar Guesthouse
Ranked #538 of 806 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I booked this hotel cause it's cheap but...

this hotel looks old and look like renovated from office or something to be a hotel. The location is just opposite D2 hotel, hotel room is upstairs of night market and bar that played live music so the noise comes around 8pm - midnight.

So I decide to early check out next day and not request for refund but I just want to warn the review readers stay away from this hotel..... if you wand to sleep zzz

Room Tip: stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nut L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here for a week en route to Cambodia. Free WIFI, food options out the front door as well as a 7-11 store and transportation. 500 baht per night rate. WIFI does not work in all rooms so get room 209 or any room close to the stairs for best reception. Relatively clean but doors do not sit properly and mozzies can get in the room. AC works fine but a bit noisy. This hotel is right inside the night market (food court section) and music will be playing until around midnight. Be aware that only one of the staff can speak English. They will not try to push tours on you but the shops at the Night Bazaar are a different matter ; )

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hobogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A comfy bed, good A/C, about an eighteen minute walk from the Old Quarter. They didn't even jack the prices too much for Songkran (Thai New Year.) This should have been a fine hotel stay, or at least not too memorable. Unfortunately, there are a few problems when it comes to the bathroom. Problem one: the stink. We had to keep the bathroom fan on the whole time we were in the room to alleviate the smell left by poor plumbing. Problem two, the bigger problem: We stayed here for three days and two nights. Two people. Seventy two hours. We are going to need a second roll of toilet paper. After not receiving one during the room cleaning, my girlfriend went to reception to ask for one. She returned nearly in tears after being bullied by the manager and DENIED A ROLL OF TOILET PAPER! The manager told her that one roll per stay, regardless of length, was enough. If we needed more, we would have to buy our own at 7-11. She wouldn't even sell us a roll. I went downstairs in a huff, where I was laughed at by the manager and her friend. Undeterred, I asked again. She said she would "bring it up to me later." Knowing what this means, I said I wasn't leaving without a roll of toilet paper. I am a man with bowels, and I know when to take a stand! So she rolled her eyes and walked to the supply closet where she handed me a half-depleted roll of TP.
Are you really going to deny your multi-day guests toilet paper? Should we use your linens?

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarnivoreOnTheRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Chiang Mai is by far one of the cheapest parts of Thailand accommodation and food wise. We got Kalare guesthouse for £9 per night for a double room which was reasonable given the location. Saying that, the location is both good and bad. The guesthouse is located literally inside the night bazaar. This is good for a few reasons, mainly that you can wear yourself out shopping and only have to walk a couple of minutes to your bed, and also the proximity to the food centre. Inside the night bazaar, right near the guesthouse is a canteen type centre with street food, Chinese food and Indian food. The downside of the location is the noise, the fact that anyone can walk up the stairs and into the hallways, and the fact that there's a hotel down the road called Galare guesthouse. We got a taxi from Chiang Mai airport to Kalare guesthouse...but found ourselves at Galare guesthouse. We then had to walk from one to the other, but still had difficulty finding the place. Not only did we have this trouble to start with but explaining where we were staying to travel agents was a little challenging. I'd advise you to take a card from reception and present that to a travel agent or taxi driver.

The rooms are small and basic. Our room had a pretty foul smell the whole time we were there, which we think was the drainage system as the smell worsened every time we showered. The room was very noisy, although we didn't really mind as we are a young couple and enjoyed the blues music from the bar metres opposite our window. I wouldn't recommend the hotel to anyone with young children, as you wouldn't get much sleep before the bar closes at about 1am.

The hotel staff were unhelpful during our stay. One girl on reception gave us a map and a few directions and helped us find a hotel opposite with a pool we could use. However the other two, an older lady and a younger man, were extremely rude and reluctant to help. On our last day we stayed at the pool in the hotel opposite until about 1pm. We had asked in the morning if there was a room available where we could shower before getting on a bus for 12 hours, we were told it was fine and to simply return to reception when we wanted to wash. However, when we did come back, the woman was on reception and rudely told us we'd be charged 300 baht each for showering. I said that we weren't informed of the charge earlier, to which she replied "we'll I'm telling you now". I found her manner rude and patronising as she went on to make a point that electricity, water and air conditioning cost money.

We won't be staying at Kalare Night Bazaar Guesthouse again as Chiang Mai has so much to offer, we feel our experience at the guesthouse didn't help us enjoy Chiang Mai to its full potential. Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jocelyne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 393 in Chiang Mai
945 reviews
1.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 393 in Chiang Mai
687 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#19 of 393 in Chiang Mai
3,147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,085 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#176 of 393 in Chiang Mai
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalare Night Bazaar Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalare Night Bazaar Guesthouse

Address: Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #538 of 806 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Kalare Night Bazaar Guesthouse 1.5*
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing