We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short and lovely stay in March 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baan U Sabai Boutique House
Ranked #78 of 733 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Short and lovely stay in March 2013”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in the hotel during our 2 day trip from BKK to Chiang Mai. Hotel is very close to the airport and you get a free shuttle (both ways). Staff in the holel is very helpful and responsive (email exchange before we came as well as full support during our stay). Lovely furnished hotel - you can see they treat this hotel as it was their house - with care and attention. Rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. We were flying back to BKK in the evening, but we could stay in the hotel after check out (also in the pool, towels were provided). Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Convenient to get a room on the ground floor with direct access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kasiaxandrzej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baanusabai, Owner at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review of the hotel and our services. All staff and I are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and your comments will certainly motivate us to continue our strive for excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Respectfully yours,
Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    37
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
57
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
163 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great little place to stay for a couple of days. Located near the airport, however you do not register the noise of any plane. We found this hotel is worth its price. The staff is most discreet, friendly and helpful. They serve breakfast in your room. We had a room with terrace directly near the swimming pool which was great. Easy transportation by tuk-tuk into city centre. Laundry service is absolutely price worth and of high quality.

Airport Plaza Shopping Centre only 6 minutes walk away. This is worth a detour, as you find an amazing food floor where they serve delicious dishes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baanusabai, Owner at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review of the hotel and our services. The entire team and I are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and your comments will certainly motivate us to continue our strive for excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Respectfully yours,
Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Very nice Lanna style, new and done all in teak.
Near airport on a side street. There is only commercial type of business in the area. We had rental car, but it is not far from old city by taxi/ tuk-tuk. Hotel requires you to remove shoes when going up to rooms to preserve their teak floors. I don't blame them as the floors and hotel is very pretty. The rooms are a good size and nicely decorated with a nice balcony overlooking the pool.
We would stay there again on any trips back to Chaing Mai.
The only negative is the breakfast which is very mediocre and there are no restaurants near.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baanusabai, Manager at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Primitifs,

We are so appreciated for your kind review and looking forward to see you again in the near future.

Thank you and Regards,

Phantarak A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Baan U Sabai is a perfect gem. Small in size but HUGE in service!
Rooms are exceptionally clean.
Staff are like friends and family...super nice :))
My husband and I stay there for 5 days and we were taken care of so well !!
Will be back soon!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon-Choo-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baanusabai, Owner at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Shahenta,

Thank you very much for your kind review of the hotel and our services. The entire team and I are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and your comments will certainly motivate us to continue our strive for excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Respectfully yours,
Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband Pete and I stayed in the Baan U Sabai Boutique House for the first 10 nights of our honeymoon (2-12 Feb 2013) before we moved on to Krabi to explore the beaches of Thailand.
This is a gorgeous boutique hotel, everything is decorated in Lanna style that is typical of Northern Thailand. The hotel is immaculately furnished, everything is in excellent working order and so clean you can't see a dust particle anywhere.
The rooms are big and gorgeous, with very comfortable beds. There are pool view rooms or pool access rooms, and both types are stunning.
There is a safe in every room, you get 3 bottles of complimentary water, tea, coffee, the usual, and a bathrobe. The Wifi connectivity in the hotel is brilliant, really fast and seamless!
The breakfast is A la carte and especially made for you - they have a wide range of choices, my husband had something else every day :) I have gluten and lactose intolerance and they catered for me perfectly - my breakfast of chicken and veg plus some fried eggs was amazing!
The customer service is second to none in this hotel, you really get the friendly, personal service that chain hotels and larger hotels lack. The staff was so so lovely and the owners are brilliant too. Lovely people. You can get a taxi service from them and for 120 Baht (less than £3.00) they will take you anywhere in town. You can take a tuktuk back from anywhere in town for 100-120 Baht. If anyone thinks this is expensive, they must be joking or they didn't know how to negotiate a price and they got ripped off. Serves them right for not doing their homework ;) Thai people love to banter and one tried to charge us 300 Baht but we said No, laughed and moved on. The next one took us back to the hotel for 100 Baht. Of course they will try!
The hotel is 5 minutes away from the airport which is very convenient. Also, if you send an email to the hotel at least 1-2 days before, they will come and pick you up from the airport free of charge! I didn't realise this even though it was on my booking.com confirmation paperwork. But they did drop us off for free. And you can also get a push bike from the hotel for free if you want to bike around. We hired a bike instead so we could explore Chiang Mai to full extent, which was brilliant. Bike rental starts from 200 Baht / day. We hired a bigger one for 500 Baht / day and kept it for 6 days. The hotel owners recommended a good place for bike rental. We hired it for a day and called them up every day to extend the hire, they were very chilled about it. You must wear a helmet in Thailand or you can get fined - but they give you helmets in the bike shop.
OK, location. I must address this. You would not expect a hotel to be where the Baan U Sabai is. It's not in the town centre or the touristy area, it is in a quiet area. It is near the airport but we didn't hear the aeroplanes at all. We went to a local Thai barbecue restaurant to eat a few times - loved the food there, and on most days we ate in town - after a day of driving around on the bike and walking in town taking in the gorgeous temples and vibrant markets, we either ate in a restaurant or grabbed some food from one if the thousands of food stalls on the street. Chiang Mai is fantastic and I had a foot massage almost every day (7x) as there are massage places at every market and they are all great. I would get a 30 minute foot massage (80 Baht) while my husband got a coffee or looked around the market. We went to a lot of temples, Doi Suthep up on the mountain is fantastic, 30 Baht to get in, but don't spend your money on the waterfall (100 Baht) as it was not so interesting and the toilet was vile.
While on that subject, take tissue with you as toilets are everywhere but they don't seem to have tissue... You don't want to be caught out!
So, for us the location of the hotel was not an issue; we always like to see how people live and the touristy area with all the night markets around was a lot noisier. Plus the incredibly huge Airport Plaza shopping centre with lots of restaurants on the 4th floor, supermarket on the ground floor, and hundreds of clothes shops and other little shops, is only a 5 minute walk away!
The Baan U Sabai boutique hotel is a gorgeous haven and I wholeheartedly recommend it! We had an amazing time there and the owners and staff was so lovely I cried a little when we left, and that never happened to me before... I can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ancsa07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baanusabai, Owner at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Ancsa07,

Sawaddee ka! How are you guys? i and all staffs here are so appreciated for the super lovely review. You cant believe one of my staff try to drink a coconut milk because she want to be beautiful and has a good shape like you.(LOL) However we hope to see you and your husband again in the near future. We miss u already!

Thank you again for having been our guest.

Warm Regards,
Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thames ditton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Very helpful staff and owners who were charming and could not do more.
I would definetly stay here again as my chosen hotel in chiang mai.
They provide an excellent taxi service to downtown which is useful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billyboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baanusabai, Owner at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Billyboats,

I and all staffs here are so appreciated for your nice review and we hope to welcoming you back in the near future.

Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Been to many hotels before and coincidently found this hotel on the internet. Love they way they decorate the room in wooden Northern Thai style with pool access (at this price I found it very luxury). Breakfast in a' la carte and have to be order the night before. Free WiFi through-out the hotel. Staffs are friendly and helpful. And we love the free airport transfer.

Room Tip: Rooms have difference decoration, and best rooms are the Deluxe Pool Access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIKIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
Sheik Istana Hotel
Sheik Istana Hotel
#83 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
VC@Suanpaak Hotel & Serviced Apartment
2.2 mi away
Chu Hotel
Chu Hotel
#26 of 733 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rich Lanna House
Rich Lanna House
#46 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.0 mi away
Seven Senses Guest House
Seven Senses Guest House
#28 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
2.3 mi away
KETAWA Stylish Hotel
KETAWA Stylish Hotel
#55 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan U Sabai Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan U Sabai Boutique House

Property: Baan U Sabai Boutique House
Address: 213/7 Mahidol Rd | T. Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 733 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan U Sabai Boutique House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living up to its definition in Thai, Baan U Sabai is your "comfortable living" home, where you will enjoy being in a truly unique location of Chiang Mai, but still feel like being at your own home. Built entirely out of teak wood and decorated with exquisite craftsmanship, our two-story boutique hotel is a magnificent work of art, as well as a paradise for any wood enthusiast. We provide 14 guestrooms: 9 Superior rooms and 5 Deluxe Pool Access rooms, that you can relax on the patio of the swimming pool right in front of your own bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan U Sabai Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing