We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best value for money in a spotless & friendliest hotel in Chian Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baan U Sabai Boutique House
Ranked #77 of 720 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“best value for money in a spotless & friendliest hotel in Chian Mai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Baan U Sabai is a beautiful family run boutique hotel with lovely staff and amazing interiors. The rooms are spotless and the pool is amazing. The location is quiet yet perfectly position between the airport and the centre of the city. The owner’s daughter goes the extra mile to make u feel welcome and her knowledge of English helps a lot in customer service dealings. Breakfast could be improved as now days a buffet breakfast is a norm. But for the rest, a well worth stay. BTW if you want to spend a day with the elephants on a farm that actually cares for these giants (and not abuse them for the sake of tourists), go to Patara Elephant Farm. Its a bit more expensive but you get to “own” your own elephant for the day, care about it, wash, clean and ride it and even swim with it. And the lunch, prepared by the village women is traditionally Thai and delicious. Amazing stay, definitely coming back!

Room Tip: all rooms are located around the central pool and have balconies and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliver p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baanusabai, Owner at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Oliver,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our services. My staffs and I are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and your comments will certainly motivate us to continue our strive for excellence.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Respectfully yours,
Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    36
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
58
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Very cute hotel a little bit outside the city centre, but it does not matter the taxi are so cheap anyway.

The rooms are lovely, all in wood, clean. The staff are all very helpful: giving you advices.
There is a pool, even if I enver went there it is nice to have one.

The only minus is the breakfast choice: only three types of breakfast.

Otherwise I would really recommend to go there!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minoushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baanusabai, General Manager at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Minoushika,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our services as well as the pool. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.


Respectfully yours,
Phantarak A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Thailand, our 1st port of call was Chang Mai where we stayed at this guest house for 5 nights:

The hotel is immaculate with beautiful teak throughout. All the staff were very helpful & friendly & nothing seemed to be too much trouble througout. The hotel is about 1mile out of the centre of Chang Mai but can easily get a tuk tuk into town between £1-£2. Breakfasts was very tasty & after the 3rd day offered us further alternatives to the menu in case we were getting bored of the limited (4) options available.

Only negatives is for a hotel of this standard possibly lacking a bath in the rooms & showers were not that powerful but saying that the bathrooms again were immaculate.

Would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a bit of a sanctuary & calm in a hotel as the place definetely has a tranquil "zen" feel to it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baanusabai, General Manager at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Scott,

Thank you very much for having been our guests. We appreciates your kind comments and value your recommendations. We will continue to improve the shower system.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Chiang Mai and Baan U Sabai in the near future.

Respectfully yours,
Phantarak A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Baan u Sabai is a lovely place to stay, the rooms are beautifully arranged and the guest house staff are always pleasant, there is nothing wrong about this place as all, We are a couple that have totally enjoyed our stay in chiang mai and in Baan U Sabai.
possible points for improvement
showers, these are not the hottest or the best, but are still adequate,
the pool is refreshing (you know that breathe of air you have to take when you just dive in, however we are in chiang mai in winter.
The rooms are dark so you find it hard to see things when rummaging around in your bags.
the breakfast is well cooked but lacked options. i had sticky rice with omellete every morning as i was vegetarian.
the location is not ideal however some might say it is a positive, it is a 60baht ride into town (2US) so it is not far and it was quiet. (although i can sleep through anything)
it is close to the airport plaza mall with a western superrmarket to pick up you supplies, and all the street food is just a walk away but to get into town is a 5-10minute ride.
We stayed for 6 nights and loved it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soon_2_b_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baanusabai, General Manager at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Soon_2_b_B,

Thank you very much for having been our guests. Our staffs and i appreciate your kind comments and value your recommendations. We will continue to improve the shower system and add more breakfast choices for the vegetarian.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Baan U Sabai in the near future.

Respectfully yours,
Phantarak A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

This is a fairly new hotel/guest house and deserves a look in. I've just completed a four day stay and couldn't have been happier with the hotel. Not a five star of course, but it is out of the ordinary. The rooms are constructed from reused Teak and the style is very northern Thai. The staff were most friendly and welcoming. Coffee making facilities and fridge in each room (sadly, no tea bags) and a beautiful pool in the centre of the hotel grounds. There are only about a dozen rooms or so, which gives one a feeling of intimacy, and guests take off their shoes to venture into the rooms area. 'Croc' sandals are provided for guests use and they are very comfortable - and quiet. Each room has a small 'locker' for their outside shoes in the reception area. Free WiFi in the rooms was good, fast and reliable. The pros are many but there are also one or two very minor cons. I didn't think these detracted from my stay at all, but it's nice to know before staying at any hotel. My room was quite dark during the day, but this was only because the decor is real Teak, and wooden walls don't reflect outside light too much. But there were plenty of lamps to illuminate the room so this wasn't a problem. The only other thing worth mentioning was the hot water in the bathroom. This was supplied by a small instantaneous type water heater. While it did supply hot water, one had to turn the volume down a bit in order for the water to be hot, rather than tepid at full flow. Again, not a problem but don't expect high pressure hot showers. The hand basin did not have hot water directly, but shaving in cold is no big deal and you can always fill it from the shower or kettle if you really are after hot water. Breakfast was simple and delicious. Not a big choice, but it was enough to start my day on and the staff were happy to give seconds if you were still hungry. Breakfast was included in the tariff and you indicated each evening what you would like to eat the following morning. It's very close to the airport (44 baht taxi door to door - although you also have to pay 50 baht on top if the taxi has used the airport car parking facility). I suspect the hotel may also pick you up from the airport, gratis, if you arrange this with them in advance(?) They were happy to drop me back at the airport after my stay, again gratis. The hotel is only five minutes walk from the Airport Plaza shopping mall, which also has a Multiplex Cinema plus some the usual restaurants (Sizzlers etc.) . It's about a twenty five minute walk to the edge of the old city centre, or a five minute Tuk Tuk or taxi ride. All in all the pros far outweighed the cons very much and I had a great stay.

Room Tip: I suspect the rooms that have pool access on the ground floor may be a little quieter than the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaius_Tacitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baanusabai, Owner at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Gaius_tacitus,

Thank you for taking time to let us know your experiences during your stay. All Staffs and I are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and your comments will certainly motivate us to continue our strive for excellence.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Chiang Mai and Baan U Sabai in the near future.

Respectfully yours,
Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

We booked the hotel after finding it on the internet and ended up staying for 5 days. It is close to the airport in a nice quiet street away from the noise of the town.
The rooms are lovely and, very clean and the staff were very accomadating. The pool is really nice, altogther a very pretty place to stay.
The only thing that we felt could be improved was the breakfast which was poor. Also we were asked to pay each day for that night which is quite unusual as normally when they have your credit card number you pay on check out.
However we would really recommend this hotel, maybe rent a scooter to get about town easily. It really is a little haven in chiang mai.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilyh35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

This is my first review I have ever written about a hotel before so that should tell you just how much I loved this place. We stayed there for 6 nights. Initially this was only going to be one, then we would find somewhere a little more in our price range. But we just had to stay here for all 6 nights. First of all the hotel itself is a beautiful mix off authentic old Thai style but with all the mod cons you could need to be comfortable. It has only been open two months but is really stunning and well finished. From the antique wood everywhere and the re-claimed tiles in the lobby to the samsung TV's and bespoke hand carved stair case, this place reeks of quality. The location is also great about 15 mins walk or 5 mins tuk tuk into the old town. You are also 5 mins walk to the airport plaza if you so desire a shopping trip or the cinema on a rainy day. But the thing that sets this place apart is the staff. From the minute we walked through the door we were made to feel like the only guests in the hotel which is a rare treat. Just to give you an actual scenario, two nights ago was our wedding anniversary and when we got back from a wonderful day out waiting for us in the room was a pretty expensive bottle of wine and a card wishing us all the best for the day. Last night we were both pretty tired and fancied some pizza and a DVD. Not only did they call and order for us but the owners daughter went home, bought back HER dvd player and a selection of HER dvd's for us! Now obvioulsy as it's my anniversary im feeling all the joys of spring but that aside this place really does deserve the credit im bestowing on it. All I can say is if you are coming to Chaing Mai you would be silly not to try this place for yourself. I booked through Agoda and got a great room rate too.

Room Tip: Room 203 is absolutely gorgeous and was personally recommened to us by the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeybadger30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baanusabai, Owner at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Honeybadger30,

Thank you very much for your kind review of the hotel and our services and so sorry for the late reply. Its been a long time since you have stayed here and we miss you and your wife. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Respectfully yours,
Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
Sheik Istana Hotel
Sheik Istana Hotel
#83 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
VC@Suanpaak Hotel & Serviced Apartment
2.2 mi away
Chu Hotel
Chu Hotel
#31 of 720 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rich Lanna House
Rich Lanna House
#42 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.0 mi away
Seven Senses Guest House
Seven Senses Guest House
#24 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
2.3 mi away
KETAWA Stylish Hotel
KETAWA Stylish Hotel
#53 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan U Sabai Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan U Sabai Boutique House

Property: Baan U Sabai Boutique House
Address: 213/7 Mahidol Rd | T. Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 720 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan U Sabai Boutique House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living up to its definition in Thai, Baan U Sabai is your "comfortable living" home, where you will enjoy being in a truly unique location of Chiang Mai, but still feel like being at your own home. Built entirely out of teak wood and decorated with exquisite craftsmanship, our two-story boutique hotel is a magnificent work of art, as well as a paradise for any wood enthusiast. We provide 14 guestrooms: 9 Superior rooms and 5 Deluxe Pool Access rooms, that you can relax on the patio of the swimming pool right in front of your own bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan U Sabai Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing