We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice owners.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Somwang Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Somwang Guesthouse
Ranked #350 of 710 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very nice owners.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The rooms are basic and need a little air but good value. The owners were very helpful and it was cheaper to book a tour through them than an agent. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. There is also a great bar across the street called so cool with very cheap drinks!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PozerandTdriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
8
22
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

Though the rooms are incredibly basic, you are in Chiang Mai and don't really need dedicated that much.

The owners, who speak very good English, are always up for a chat. They also will assist with what to do in Chiang Mai and how to do it, with out the focus on gaining commission like so many do. Most things they suggested were at no benefit to them.

Strongly reccomend staying here of you want inexpensive, friendly accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCH1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

This place is in the heart of Chiangmai and all the best places are nearby. It has been family operated for many years. The security is great. No tv or other features but does has air con rooms and fan rooms. I have been going there for many years and will always return. The prices are also reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaloochapurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

the Somwang guest house is located in Soi 2, quite central but somehow it is quite and calming. The place is run by husband, wife and son, all of them very friendly. I recommend the rooms upstairs but be careful, the first one I was given had tons of ants creeping out of the ceiling and it was rather bad, the owners though apologized for the inconvenience and started spraying anti-insect spray all over the place and moved me immediately to another room, which was less nice but definitely much cleaner. I also got a bad bout of food poisoning (not at the guest house) and the owners were extremely nice, asking if they could do something for me, if I needed some tea and generally they were very hospitable. I suggest you try to get a cheaper price than the 400BHT they request (for rooms with no air-con). The place shuts the gate at around 10pm, guests are given keys to access the guest house but it's good cause the area, being very central, is bound to have a bit of nuisance. Overall a nice place and I might go back there if in Chiang Mai"

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_ludovica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

Somwang Guest House. Stayed there during Songran Festival in April 2011.
Family owned, very polite and friendly lady owner. She, her husband and son speak very good English.

They also have travel service available, but they do not push you to book with them.
Compare prices before you book.
Central location! 3 minutes walk from Thapae Gate, yet surprisingly quiet!
2 entrances, one is kind of hidden and sometimes closed!
Room and bathroom was comfortable, clean, relatively large, if a bit dated.
On the hallway wall, there are some historical photos from the 1980 ‘tees.
There are many interesting crafts and older souvenir objects laying around, which are probably no longer available. Also few books and magazines in different languages in stands in the hallways.
Outside our room was a large terrace overlooking the street, with benches and tables. Once we brought our food there, when it was ‘dangerous’ to eat outside during Songkran (you can get very wet!). You can also dry your clothes there!

If you needed extra chilies for your meals, you could pick some from several large plants. Birds liked this area to stop and rest.

Price Baht 400 ($13 Cad)/ night is reasonable.

No cooking was offered during the 3 days we stayed there. The owner was busy with activities in her temple, but no guest was neglected.
No problem in Chiang Mai, as there are plenty of restaurant on every corner or soi.
Laundry service was available and satisfactory.
Prices 35 B/ Kg

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom-2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Moon Dragon Hotel
Moon Dragon Hotel
#104 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#48 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
0.7 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#41 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Log Home Boutique Hotel
Log Home Boutique Hotel
#64 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thapae Loft Hotel
Thapae Loft Hotel
#32 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nai Boutique House
Nai Boutique House
#101 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somwang Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somwang Guesthouse

Property: Somwang Guesthouse
Address: No 2 Ratchamankha Soi 2,, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 710 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Somwang Guesthouse 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Somwang Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing