We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service, lousy food”

Sunflower Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #1,247 of 2,044 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good service, lousy food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Had a family dim sum lunch there March 2014. We lived in Hong Kong for 25 years and have eaten our way thro' tons of fine dim sum over the years. This has got to be the worst I have had. I had presumed that as this hotel was one of the first big hotels in CM it would tolerate only the best in its restos. We drove 45 minutes in from Mae Onn for the occasion. Never again. I highly recommend that those craving excellent Chinese food give it a miss; the only first-rate Chinese restos in CM are, imho, (1) the Fujian at the Dara Dhevi (esp. the dim sum) and (2) the new Jia Tong Heng (no dim sum) laying on the north-side just off the No. 11 Superhighway between Thepanya Hospital and Home Mart, not the old original one (which is terrible). You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rbmcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dim Sum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

A perfect Dim Sum with all the selections ever wanted in an elegant restaurant. I was very impressed with quality, quantity and price. Having visited this same restaurant twice within a 3 week period, I found that their quality never dimished. A definite revisit is warranted. I love their food, and the view is awesome.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovemytravels72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good tase”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great Chinese cuisine with good taste located at the high floor of Centara duangtawan chiang mai. If you love Chinese food then please try to visit this place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Service Terrible Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

I was looking forward to eating here as it came highly recommended by a friend and the first course did not disappoint, a great leak and mushroom soup but the two main courses where bland and tasteless. How a chef can manage to do this with Chinese food is beyond me. As a resident of Chiang Mai I can tell you there are many good restaurants and some within walking distance from this one. Go and find one you could not do worse.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunflower Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Sunflower Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing