We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful hideaway, excellent value”
Review of The Twenty Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Twenty Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful hideaway, excellent value”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent a week here at the beginning of September and loved it. The room we had was stylishly decorated. It was calming and spacious, yet felt really cosy too. The price we paid included breakfast every morning which was great. The pool was quite small, but we only needed to dip in and out of it so it was perfect for our requirements. The fitness centre had everything we needed and the communal areas were really well used. The staff were absolutely lovely, really friendly and helpful. We went across to the Birds Nest café regularly for lunch which was a stones throw away. Highly recommend this! The hotel is only a three minute walk from the old city walls in one direction, where you can pick up a tuk tuk taxi to be taken longer distances, and a five minute walk into the Sunday Walking Street markets the other way. There's a laundrette right next door to the hotel too.

Room Tip: We had room 6 on the first floor. It was really peaceful and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmap5660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    59
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
31
84
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Enjoyable stay - good location in old town. Rooms were a good size, clean and comfortable. Bathroom a little small and toilet was not very well secured. Minimal selection for breakfast however Cafe Birds nest over the road was great..
Only 20 rooms so very quiet and off main road. Easy walking distance to most of old town.
Has a gym ( didn't use) and a small pool. Garden is very tropical - only downfall was the mosquitos..
Manager "Nong" was exceptionally helpful and an absolute delight. All staff were friendly and helpful, though some did have limited english.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend..

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are certainly worth the extra $$ - request upstairs though
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela092013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My partner and I stayed 14 nights and we loved the place. The room was bright and light, clean with everything we needed. Bathroom had a leaking shower but we just ignored it. Bed was massive, hard like all Thai bed but comfortable. Breakfast was served very quickly with a selection of hot western or asian food plus cereal, fruit and yoghurt. The staff where lovely and always friendly and helpful, our jug was broken and was quickly replaced. When we booked a tour they phoned around to see if they could get a better price. The pool is small but lovely. The gym is not bad for a small hotel, you wouldn't want to use it too much as it would get boring.
The area is quite but close to the moat. A 10 min walk to the nearest mall if u can get across the main road! didn't try many food places in the area but the coffee shop across the road made a great drink. There are a couple of local bits and bobs shops on the road which sell drinks and nibbles.
Recommended for a quite and pleasant stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellaQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duffel, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We selected this hotel because we wanted a small hotel in the old town and we got exactly what we were looking for. We stayed there 2 times and were both times very satisfied with the service and the rooms. It's within walking distance of the more crowded places in the city and yet far enough not to be bothered by traffic or other noise. The laundry shop at the other side of the street delivers clean laundry at the reception of the hotel, even after closing hours if needed.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 on the ground floor are really OK. Rooms 6 and 7 are a bit darker with some smell of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Although a bumpy arrival at the Twenty Lodge, we did end up enjoying our stay there.

Having booked a twin room through a third-party website, we arrived to be told our "request" was not available. Options were to pay nearly two thirds of the room rate again for a camp bed to be brought in, or to rent another room. They offered us the deluxe room at a discounted rate, and as this ended up being not much more than the camp bed, we went for that option. All worked out fine, but created stress that could perhaps have been avoided had they let us know earlier via email.

Aside from that, our stay was pleasant, mostly!

Pros: modern rooms, serviced well each day, reasonable breakfast included, small but clean and refreshing pool, (some) friendly staff, great location in old town, walking distance to all markets etc, and a GREAT cafe (cafe birds nest) 2 doors down.

Cons: deluxe room was next to kitchen so I was awoken by pots and pans at 4.45am every morning. Breakfast started at 7, but the one morning I had to be done by 7.30, breakfast setup STARTED at 7 and I had to eventually walk down to the kitchen at 7.20 and request service (but to their credit, I had toast and an omelette in front of me within 3 mins). One or two office staff were friendly and helpful, but often rates quoted for tours and taxis were sometimes double that of what we ended up paying by organising it ourselves.

All in all, check your room on arrival, spare your sleep patterns the deluxe room - its not worth it! Other than that, a nice enough place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Really nice little hotel, in a nice quiet spot that doesn't get much passing traffic. Walking distance to the Sunday market was good too. Rooms were clean and a good size and were cleaned really well every day. Breakfast options were basic but nice although they aren't ready to serve at 7, better to aim for an 8 am breakfast when more staff are around. Don't get the deluxe room as it is next to the kitchen so gets early morning noise - as in 5 am. There are also laundry's nearby for washing and a funky little cafe down the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I really loved this hotel. It was new and had big rooms, comfortable beds, a pool and even a small gym. Its location is excellent in the North-West corner of the old town, away from party hostels and bars but still with lots of convenient cafes, mini-marts, laundry places etc. nearby. Rent bikes and you can get to anywhere else in old town within 10 minutes. We've stayed here twice and will definitely stay again when we return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babbatronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.7 mi away
Moon Dragon Hotel
Moon Dragon Hotel
#103 of 381 in Chiang Mai
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Charme Hotel
De Charme Hotel
#93 of 826 in Chiang Mai
65 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lanna Tree Boutique Hotel
Lanna Tree Boutique Hotel
#73 of 736 in Chiang Mai
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rich Lanna House
Rich Lanna House
#42 of 736 in Chiang Mai
173 reviews
0.8 mi away
BB Mantra Hotel
BB Mantra Hotel
#38 of 736 in Chiang Mai
171 reviews
0.6 mi away
At Chiang Mai Hotel
At Chiang Mai Hotel
#47 of 736 in Chiang Mai
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twenty Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twenty Lodge

Property: The Twenty Lodge
Address: 8/3 Soi 3 Singharaj Road | Sriphum Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 826 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Twenty Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twenty Lodge is a small private hotel located in the heart of the Old City of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand. Just a five minute s’ walk to the old city, you will find the most important and impressive temples, Wat Phra Singh and Wat Chedi Luang. Close to the hotel is the popular Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market with a wide choice of local shops and restaurants. The Lodge has a peaceful and very private atmosphere surrounded by a local residential area and is appropriate for travellers seeking comfort and style at reasonable prices. Comfort is our top priority and you will find that the rooms should meet your every requirement. All rooms have been designed in a Modern Thai style, using high quality natural materials. The Lodge has 20 rooms: 18 Superior Rooms and 2 Deluxe Rooms, an 8 meter swimming pool, a fitness centre all within a habitat of trees, small gardens and bubbling brooks, making The Twenty Lodge a memorable place to stay. All rooms are non-smoking. Services and hospitality are the selling points for The Twenty lodge. Guests' requests and concerns, big or small, are considered as top priorities by the staffs and will be dealt with promptly. We have free Wi-Fi throughout the Lodge for all our guests. We also provide extra services for your comfort such as Car Parking, Car Rental, Concierge Service, Laundry Service and Medical Service upon request. Should there be anything else you require please do not hesitate to ask any member of staff. We look forward to welcoming you to The Twenty Lodge and hope that you will consider our lodge a Home away from Home whilst you enjoy your stay in Chiang Mai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Twenty Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing