We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Chiang Mai”
Review of The Twenty Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Twenty Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

The twenty lodge was fantastic. If you visit Chiang Mai definitely stay in the Old City. I was traveling alone and I stayed here because the reviews were great and the pics looked inviting. I really enjoyed my stay here although, I rented a bicycle as soon as I arrived which was key. Without a bike, I would stay closer to the east gate of the old city, that's where most of the action is. If you like riding a bike, stay at the twenty lodge. I rented a bike across te street for 150tbt for 4 days.

Read more about my experience in chiang Mai, hungryglobe.tumblr.com

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HungryGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 157 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Twenty Lodge along with some relatives over the New Year period. It was the perfect spot to be in Chiang Mai at the time, not far from all the NYE festivities but still in a quiet enough location to get some decent sleep. This is a very small hotel with (as the name implies) just 20 rooms. Consequently it had a very personal touch especially from the Manager who was an extremely polite and friendly gentleman who relocated one of our travelling parties without hesitation after they had reported some problem with their room. Our room was a deluxe suite which was beautifully appointed with a very modern feel to it and excellent bathroom & shower facilities. The room had a very relaxed atmosphere with a leather lounge where we could laze about. There is a very small pool outside the reception area which we didn't use but still would be ideal for a refreshing dip after being out amongst the hustle and bustle of Chiang Mai. Breakfast is ample without being over elaborate and there are other breakfast venues nearby so it's not really an issue. There are significant temples close by and also quite a few eateries offering delicious and genuine Thai food at really cheap rates. This hotel is a fantastic place to stay in Chiang Mai. It does not suffer from the people traffic that you experience at the big hotels and offers more in convenience and personal service. The hotel also has great aesthetic qualities, it was a genuine 'feel good' experience for us. We definitely recommend it and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Deluxe room was worth paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Location: Reasonable. It's about a 10-minute walk to the Sunday night market. Not in the center hub of the city so getting to some locations may require either a long walk by foot , or going by bicycle/tuk tuk etc.
However, this could be a plus point for people who appreciate a quieter side of the Old City.

Surroundings: Good. The greenery and decor is lovely and feels like a cosy, secret garden.
The same ambience would probably be hard to achieve for places which are more centrally located so I see it as a tradeoff between ambience and location/nearness to center of town.

Having said that, there were no lack of eateries/cafes nearby and also bicycle rentals, tour agencies etc because this property is still within the Old City after all.

Room: This needs improvement -- First of all, the light bulb right in the centre of our standard room was not working and this made the room too dim for our liking (there were only about 4-5 light sources in total , so that's 20% down) We highlighted this to the staff but after 4 nights (our entire stay there) , nothing had been done. So basically we had to live with the dim lighting .

Secondly, there is NO shower curtain in the bathroom so the floor ends up getting VERY WET and slippery. This is a real safety hazard cos the last thing you want on your holiday is to slip and fall ! We requested for an additional floor mat to mop up the water and to their credit, we didn't have to repeat this request ie: 2 fresh floor mats were supplied every day.

Thirdly, the air con is really NOISY, probably due to age or lack of maintenance. While it was able to cool the room quite efficiently,it also did so very noisily. This became very apparent especially at night when everything was quiet EXCEPT the aircon. They should service the aircon unit more frequently to ensure guests can get a good night's rest.

The flat screen TV was nice and the selection of channels available was decent. The ipod dock is also a nice touch (though we didn't use it)

Service: Average. The staff were generally friendly and their command of English was okay. The night security guard spoke almost no English but he was always smiley and helpful.

Breakfast: Basic. If you want variety you'd have to head out and hit the streets.
On our first day, we had to wait almost 45 minutes for the food (eggs/toast etc) because apparently there'd been a blackout /power loss in the kitchen.
Fortunately this was only the only occurrence throughout the 4 days we were there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esther27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We recently stayed here for five nights, as the town was pretty booked up and our choices were limited. Personally I found it was too far away from the things we wanted to do, so we were either taking a very long walk or in a tuk tuk, so that weighed heavy on my overall rating. However, if you're looking for a small place, that's off the beaten path and quiet, it could be a good choice. There was good and bad. Here's some detail/ratings as to what was important to me:

- Room 4: we needed five nights, and the lower price standard room was not available, so we chose the more expensive deluxe room. it was large, it was clean with new curtains, it had a comfortable and new leather sectional sofa, the king bed was great (comfortable, not hard), it has an IPod player and a large flatscreen. Each day they left us a newspaper and a different fruit. Bathroom was large, but had nowhere to put your toiletries (no shelf), and on and off, there was a nasty smell eminating from the drain near the toilet (which we could deal with)
Location 3: good for the Sunday walking street market, but too far to walk regularly to the Night Bazaar, the Moat, the River, restaurants, Saturday walking street market. Off the beaten path and quiet. Good laundry and bike/motorbike rental a few houses away
- Reception 4: cordial and courteous. There was always someone there (though only one person could be helped at a time, since its a small property). We arrived very late our first night (delayed train) and the night security guard called the Manager to come who came to check us in
- Grounds 4: very nicely kept. Note that the pool is much smaller than it looks in their photos. Good for a quick dip though
- Breakfast 2: selection was very limited. Ad then the coffee beans would run out, then the milk would run out, then the water would run out, and there wasn't anyone around to help. We would have to go look for someone frequently. Room for improvement here on variety and service.

Overall, it was a good stay. Not the best location for me personally. But good and quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JSS949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here for five nights and it was excellent. Only 5-10 min walk to Sunday night market, 60Baht for a tuk tuk ride to night bazzar. Room was spacious and clean. We used the i-dock to listen music in room and wi-fi was provided free of charge. The hotel manager, Mr. Nong was funny and helpful. Breakfast was good with limited choices. On the downside, the wi-fi was not stable in room and swimming pool was quite small. Nevertheless, I would definitively recommend this hotel to travellers in Chiangmai. Thanks Nong, you and your team did a good job!
We booked the scorpion-tailed boat river cruise via the hotel and it was worth for money. We found a tuk tuk in the street and the driver drove us to an another river cruise called Maekok river cruise which was its competitor. Then we have to pay another 100Baht from there to our booked scotpion-tailed boat river crusie. The taxi driver was tricky as he was commissioned to drive us to the wrong place, be careful! For the the scorpion-tailed boat we booked from the hotel, it was excellent as we enjoyed this 2 hours river cruise in the sunset with an english speaking funny guide and end up with a delicious mango sticky rice and an iced laichi drink.

Room Tip: High floor room without a water pump on the roof is good to light sleeper and it will create noise i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whywhy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We arrived here on the 17th December 2012 with high hopes and it exceeded our expectations by far.Greeted by very polite staff. Limited but delicious breakfast, clean spacious rooms with an iPod/iPhone dock and a 32 inch flat screen TV, nice small swimming for a dip after a long day of sightseeing, fast WiFi throughout hotel including rooms FREE OF CHARGE! unlike other hotels i have previously stayed at. There is a famous temple nearby called wat phra singh,there is a massage place owned by a mother and daughter, cheap price great massage on the same road, a lot of tuk tuks pass by and are easily stopped.
Chiang Mai is beautiful and Twenty Lodge is a great base from which to explore C.M. from.
I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dilan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Convenient location and great staff who accommodated all our needs. Limited but delicious breakfast served. Room was very clean with good sized bathroom. We walked everywhere but for some people those distances could be far. But no lack of tuc-tucs around for a quick ride back to 20 Lodge. It's a stones throw from the 3 Kings Monument and the Women's Prison for grabbing a foot massage. Great place for couples. Stayed 4 nights and was never wanting for anything.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DigitalDrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Buri Gallery House
Buri Gallery House
#98 of 389 in Chiang Mai
342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rich Lanna House
Rich Lanna House
#50 of 786 in Chiang Mai
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
i Lanna House
i Lanna House
#17 of 908 in Chiang Mai
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baan Huen Phen
Baan Huen Phen
#39 of 908 in Chiang Mai
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Charme Hotel
De Charme Hotel
#98 of 908 in Chiang Mai
80 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chiangmai Boutique House
Chiangmai Boutique House
#200 of 786 in Chiang Mai
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twenty Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twenty Lodge

Address: 8/3 Soi 3 Singharaj Road | Sriphum Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 908 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $43 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Twenty Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twenty Lodge is a small private hotel located in the heart of the Old City of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand. Just a five minute s’ walk to the old city, you will find the most important and impressive temples, Wat Phra Singh and Wat Chedi Luang. Close to the hotel is the popular Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market with a wide choice of local shops and restaurants. The Lodge has a peaceful and very private atmosphere surrounded by a local residential area and is appropriate for travellers seeking comfort and style at reasonable prices. Comfort is our top priority and you will find that the rooms should meet your every requirement. All rooms have been designed in a Modern Thai style, using high quality natural materials. The Lodge has 20 rooms: 18 Superior Rooms and 2 Deluxe Rooms, an 8 meter swimming pool, a fitness centre all within a habitat of trees, small gardens and bubbling brooks, making The Twenty Lodge a memorable place to stay. All rooms are non-smoking. Services and hospitality are the selling points for The Twenty lodge. Guests' requests and concerns, big or small, are considered as top priorities by the staffs and will be dealt with promptly. We have free Wi-Fi throughout the Lodge for all our guests. We also provide extra services for your comfort such as Car Parking, Car Rental, Concierge Service, Laundry Service and Medical Service upon request. Should there be anything else you require please do not hesitate to ask any member of staff. We look forward to welcoming you to The Twenty Lodge and hope that you will consider our lodge a Home away from Home whilst you enjoy your stay in Chiang Mai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Twenty Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing