We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel in a lovely quiet location within the Old City”
Review of The Twenty Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Twenty Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Our stay at The Twenty Lodge was one of our best ever experiences from a boutique hotel. The owner was one of the friendliness people I have ever met and was always there if you needed help. Service within the hotel was always great and we would definitely return one day. As for location, I found this to be perfect as it allowed us to mix more with locals and not be swamped with tourists like you would at other parts of the old city.

Ps great little pool to chill out around for an hour or two.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hobbsy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for The Twenty Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 157 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at the Twenty Lodge for 3 nights whilst sightseeing in Chiang Mai. It's a good base for seeing most of the sights of C.M. (walking streets, temples etc), but there is a truck ride/taxi ride involved if you want to get to the Night Bizaar and River Ping areas, as they are on the other side of the Walled City. But we found the location favourable as its a bit less "touristy" than the more central streets, and you also get quick access to the Nimmanhaemin entertainment area to the north west of the Walled City. The accommodation is very comfortable in the room itself - although the open-sided shower recess means that there is regular "mopping up" to be done after showering.... The hotel facilities are basic but appropriate with a nice daily breakfast offered, a decent pool for a quick cool off after a day's sight seeing (the water is cold in December though!), and the reception staff are are very helpful with directions and suggestions, and arranging taxi's/private tours etc. In all a comfortable place to stay for a reasonable price. Our only two minor gripes were that our room to the upper rear of the hotel was affected by some noise each morning (perhaps a fan in the kitchen?), and there are at least two healthy-looking rodents that occasionally wander about the central garden area during the day picking up on bits and pieces, but they stay out of your way! Not major concerns and they will not stop us from considering staying at Twenty Lodge again.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms to the rear may be affected by noise in the morning.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GandCAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed in the 20 lodge for four nights and if we were to return to Chiang Mai we would definitely stay in the 20 lodge again. It was suggested to us as a recommendation and we would recommend it to others. The lodge is nicely decorated and the room includes an iPod dock, TV with English Channels, Hair dryer and a safety deposit box. We had showers at all times of the night and day and always found the water hot. For breakfast there was a choice of cooked Thai, cooked European or a choice of cereal, yoghurt and fruit, all was tasty and plenty to meet our needs. All the staff at the Lodge were very friendly and most had a good standard of English. The lodge is located within the old city and within walking distance of shops, restaurants and local Wats. It is a short tuk-tuk ride away from the centre of town (Thapae Gate). Make sure to take the hotel's address or the business card they provide you with because most taxi drivers do not know where it is, that's not to say its in the middle of nowhere, Chiang Mai is a big place.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at 20 Lodge and found the price reasonable for the quality and service we received. One small annoyance was that we were charged THB250 for chipping a glass bowl on the breakfast counter, so try and avoid breaking things! This would not have been the case in a European hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor as ground level rooms do not have as much privacy.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsetters11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a good hotel that offers excellent value for money. It offers a good standard of rooms, the bed was big and comfortable. The staff is helpful and nice.
The hotel is clean and has many facilities, even though we didn't use them because we only stayed 2 nights.
The western option of the breakfast was average, but the Thai one was good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bengivesreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel was literally nearly perfect!Clean, awesome location (central, but yet not in the most touristic area), friendly staff, good facilities (pool seems loots bigger on the photos than in reality, but still nice to have one), hence very good value for money!!the breakfast was basic - bacon&egg, 2 kind of fruits and some yoghurt - but still cannot complain on it! I'd definitely go back if I were to go back to Chiang Mai!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I lived 5 nights in this hotel. I found it was a very good boutique hotel. There were Department Store, Laundry Service, Travel Agency nearby, very good and convenient to everybody. It was a boutique hotel with good and warm service, thanks Ms Elle and the kind Mr. safety guard. (But the female staff wearing coloured contact lens was not good, the face is hard with no smile at all). They provided set breakfast, but the breakfast corner with no one to handle sometime, you have to go to the front office to ask someone to serve you. That was the only drawback of this hotel. One more thing, the swimming pool was very small, but for me, it was not a problem.

Room Tip: 2nd floor room is better for privacy.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 233hehehe233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piyorot, Manager at The Twenty Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you very much for your value comments for us. I do apologize for the girl receptionist who was not smile. She is now improve her service standard already. If you have a change to come back here again you will see her improvement :) Please have a pleasant day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is nice, surrounded by a beautiful garden. The location in the old town is nice,
10 minutes walk to streets with nice restaurants and the important temples. The room was small but nice, the bathroom was modern and clean, however, the shower turned the whole bathroom floor wet. What we did not like so much was the staff. Although they were very polite and nice and we did not have any problem, the atmosphere was a little bit strange. We found a much nicer atmosphere in other Hotels in northern Thailand.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weltreisende81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.0 mi away
Chiangmai Boutique House
Chiangmai Boutique House
#204 of 776 in Chiang Mai
215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thapae Loft Hotel
Thapae Loft Hotel
#35 of 776 in Chiang Mai
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Charme Hotel
De Charme Hotel
#101 of 888 in Chiang Mai
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
3LAAN HOUSE
3LAAN HOUSE
#66 of 776 in Chiang Mai
79 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lanna Tree Boutique Hotel
Lanna Tree Boutique Hotel
#77 of 776 in Chiang Mai
53 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#18 of 776 in Chiang Mai
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twenty Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twenty Lodge

Address: 8/3 Soi 3 Singharaj Road | Sriphum Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 888 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $45 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Twenty Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twenty Lodge is a small private hotel located in the heart of the Old City of Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand. Just a five minute s’ walk to the old city, you will find the most important and impressive temples, Wat Phra Singh and Wat Chedi Luang. Close to the hotel is the popular Chiang Mai Sunday Walking Street Market with a wide choice of local shops and restaurants. The Lodge has a peaceful and very private atmosphere surrounded by a local residential area and is appropriate for travellers seeking comfort and style at reasonable prices. Comfort is our top priority and you will find that the rooms should meet your every requirement. All rooms have been designed in a Modern Thai style, using high quality natural materials. The Lodge has 20 rooms: 18 Superior Rooms and 2 Deluxe Rooms, an 8 meter swimming pool, a fitness centre all within a habitat of trees, small gardens and bubbling brooks, making The Twenty Lodge a memorable place to stay. All rooms are non-smoking. Services and hospitality are the selling points for The Twenty lodge. Guests' requests and concerns, big or small, are considered as top priorities by the staffs and will be dealt with promptly. We have free Wi-Fi throughout the Lodge for all our guests. We also provide extra services for your comfort such as Car Parking, Car Rental, Concierge Service, Laundry Service and Medical Service upon request. Should there be anything else you require please do not hesitate to ask any member of staff. We look forward to welcoming you to The Twenty Lodge and hope that you will consider our lodge a Home away from Home whilst you enjoy your stay in Chiang Mai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Twenty Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing