We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Thai welcome I could have had”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Naruncha Green House
Ranked #339 of 833 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This was my first trip alone and after an exhausting and horrible 24h trip I arrived at this guesthouse. Goi (the owner) and Powi (the housekeeper) were amazing. The room was really nice and clean. The shower and toilet were shared, but also clean.
The service was great, when I came home at 3 in the night on New Years Eve there was even a Pad Thai standing ready for me! You can also get a little breakfast for almost no money in the morning.
The location is outside of the city centre, but there is no need to take a tuktuk (although they're not that expensive compared to Bangkok so I've heard), you can easily walk into the city or if you ask Powi nicely (or the little guy who also works there) she might even bring you by motorbike..

Friends of mine stayed in a big guesthouse nearby so I could compare this one to theirs and I must say that the only 2 things that are somewhat '-' are: 1. communication was easier (Goi speaks English very well, but otherwise it was a bit of 'hand and feet talk' and 2. when you are alone you have a better chance of meeting other people in a bigger guesthouse. But for me 1. was not a problem :) had fun doing it and 2. I already had friends who were staying in Chiang Mai.

In short I really enjoyed my stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saskia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 74 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2012

We arrived in Chiang Mai after an extensive bus trip from Laos. My fiance was so exhausted that she ended up becoming very sick. This would have been reason for extreme concern if it had not been for our caring host who helped nurse her back to health over the several days we were there. It was remarkable how selfless she was in making food, checking on her, and making the most comfortable environment possible. We couldn't hold this place in higher regard, truly.

As for the accommodation itself the beds were comfortable, and the rooms had A/C. The location takes you into a great neighborhood right outside the walls which gave us easy access to many of the temples within. You can receive bodywork at the spa which is super convenient.

I certainly recommend this place and the value it offers.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Wow, Goi (the owner) and her housekeeper made us feel like one of the family and looked after our every need. I honestly don't think you could get this sort of service from a 5 * hotel.

The Location is just outside the city gates, 10 minute walk to Chiang Mai Gate, 15 mintue walk to Tha Pae Gate and a 7 minute walk to the Saturday walking street. The only negative I have and it is minor is that there is no where close as in 5 mins to walk to, to get a a quick snack.

The rooms are very clean, simple and you have the option of air con. The bathrooms are downstairs in the back kitchen and are literally sparkling clean. My boyfriend and I stayed in the room with a private bath and then without as the guest house was so nice we decided to stay an extra night!

There is an onsite Spa which I thoroughly recommend and is cheaper than most of the places in town. Free wifi is available and the signal is strong throughout the house.

The housekeeper (unfortunately I didn't get her name) is the sweetest lady I have ever met. When we arrived back from a day of sight seeing she rushed around getting us a cold glass of water, then went into our room to put the aircon on. She also gave us lifts on her motorbike to the Saturday and Sunday walking streets.

I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to be close to the city but away from all the noise to relax and unwind. Plus it is very cheap considering the wonderful service you get. We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

This was a beautiful nice place, the receptionist and the owner where really nice and helpful, we only stayed one night because our room was booked for the next days but definitly would have stayed longer if possible. There is one room with toilet, the others have a shower but common bathrooms, the place is a few blocks away from the night market and the old city, it was really convenient for its price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeoAngelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

A friend and myself found this guest house extremely accomodating. The owner and staff helped us to have the best time in chiang mai beyond our expectations. A must stay for travellers looking for a homely touch.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daviesm12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights during a hectic 2 week trip through 8 cities in thailand, cambodia and malaysia. It was the best value for the money (350 baht for a/c twin room with real comforters) and the most relaxing place, even more relaxing than the hotels with pools. This was because the staff here really take care of you and make you feel at home. when my friend came back with sunburn, the housekeeper (sweetest lady in the world) went and cut fresh aloe and help her apply it. I could spend hours in the lounge chairs outside, they were so comfortable. the massages at the facility were also top notch and the owner is super knowledgeable and can help you arrange anything you need from motorbike rentals to taxi's. i already miss the place and will definitely stay there if i am in chiang mai again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lemyn216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

very familiar atmosphere. Everything is very clean and the people are more than only nice.
It`s also cheap (Single Room 150 Baht, Double Room 250 Baht, ...)
5 minutes walk to the Old City.
It´s a very quite place which is good to relax.
Special: Kitchen

I really would recommend you this guesthouse !

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Wiesinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.8 mi away
Chok Dee Guesthouse
Chok Dee Guesthouse
#373 of 833 in Chiang Mai
60 reviews
1 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#42 of 833 in Chiang Mai
434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ban wiang Guest House and Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 403 in Chiang Mai
701 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#53 of 403 in Chiang Mai
977 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#4 of 403 in Chiang Mai
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naruncha Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naruncha Green House

Address: 6, Soi Ragang 1 | Hai Ya, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Naruncha Guest House)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 833 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $10 - $13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Naruncha Green House 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Naruncha Green House, a reasonably priced, quiet and peaceful guest house in traditional Lanna style... Come and experience the Lanna atmosphere and culture that will make your stay in Chiangmai a memorable one. Our friendly staff is always ready to serve and make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Naruncha Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing