We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Indian Food.”
Review of spices

spices
Ranked #1,029 of 2,069 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Cuisines: Indian
Description: directly across the road from imperial mai ping hotel
Restaurant details
Description: directly across the road from imperial mai ping hotel
Bangalore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty Indian Food.”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This small restaurant is run by a Thai Nepali Mother & Daughter. The quality of the food was really good and also reasonably priced. Only the regulars enjoy this place as it is on the main road where the parking fecility is not there. Very enterprising lady manages this restaurant all alone, cooking delicious food by herself for almost over 5 years. Please try once for a change...ofcourse for variety of food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BangaloreImage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tel aviv
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a simple restaurant with great food at great prices. The food is very delicious , the people there friendly, and I highly recommend eating there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liatTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian food at a good price with good service.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

A hole in the wall type place you would not expect much from but you would be wrong. Run by a mother and daughter team this little place a street perpendicular to the bottom of the night market (at the northern end) serves the real thing at a very reasonable price. You feel like you are being hosted in the kitchen of your Indian aunt. A place for food lovers who do not care for fancy interior design.
Also, we liked how you can try a whole bunch of things as the prices are low- fun if you like to experiment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank White_Orchid91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian food I've ever tasted!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My friend and I are both very impressed with this unassuming little spot: it is the most delicate and luscious korma I've ever had, and I visited quite a few places ;) All dishes prepared to order and if you requested your dish not spice you can rest assured it will actually be that (thank Haven, no more fiery "surprises"!) and everyone in the family speaks English so you don't have to struggle to explain what you want or guess what a dish might contain without any hope of asking your host.
Overall GREAT experience - we had several lunches and dinners at Spice Indian Food and are going there again today - I can't wait! :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
177 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“excellent home cooked food”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

the menu range is limited but covers vegetarian and non vegetarisn items. this also makes ordering meals easier. it is really difficult to pick out any particular to recommend as each dish we ordered was very satisfying.
it is a small family run business with skeleton staff but the quality of the food is authentic indian.you must be prepared to wait to wait for quiet a while if there are guests ahead of you.the proprietor is also the chef and the food is freshly prepared to order and hence the wait. they have a fair range of starters to keep you busy while waiting for the main meal.
you will however not be disappointed with the food as it is freshly
prepared,clean and very reasonably priced.


this place is a boon for vegetarians as there are very limited options for pure vegetarian cuisine in chiang mai.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rajamanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed spices also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to spices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing