We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jolly good grub”
Review of We's Restaurant

We's Restaurant
Ranked #92 of 2,058 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kastanienbaum, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Jolly good grub”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Not many eateries could be as small, simple or more pleasing than We's which is owned and run by a couple of ladies with occasional help doing everything from cooking, serving and washing up.

The menu is tiny too but the flavors are big with great attention to detail. Delicious brown rice is standard as are fresh herbs. A banana flower with prawn dish was particularly memorable and prompted a second visit the following day after a disgusting meal at another restaurant that was scarcely edible.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Austin59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    58
    25
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
380 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Not what I'd expected”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We's Restaurant was nice enough, but not nearly as good as I'd expected after reading the reviews on here. Service was slow and not very friendly - we had to wait ages to order and it took forever for the meals to arrive in a nearly-empty restaurant. The food was quite okay but a bit bland. I got the impression it had been 'adjusted' for tourist tastes which isn't helpful if you like regular Thai food. We sat outside so we could watch the world go by. It's a pleasant enough environment but it was also one of the few places in Chiang Mai where we were bothered by mosquitos. Make sure you wear repellent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy12343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiang mai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Again and again - We's restaurant make me popular”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Why popular? Because I take more and more friends to eat there and every new person I bring there thanks me and wants to return a favor...
It's very simple actually - the woman is just BRILLIANTLY talented!
Do you need anything else rather than that?
Not to my taste...
But if you insist, then she's also super friendly and welcoming, the food is almost under-priced for it's quality and she uses absolutely no MSG and preserved ingredients.
So far - no other restaurant in the city got me so addicted... :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nachumr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The food is a bit bland”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a nice meal here - the staff were friendly and the restaurant itself was nice. The food was a bit bland though... we asked for the massaman curry 'spicy' and it definitely wasn't, the fried rice was dull, the fried pork and pumpkin was very good but didn't have a great deal of flavour so would have been much better accompanying other dishes that had more taste. The spring rolls were the best bit; quite unusual with some holy basil in the mix. All in all, OK but if you're looking for something to tingle the tastebuds maybe look elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bunnydarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The food was very good (my wife's favorite tom yung kung, and she had it at many different restaurants), and very reasonably priced. I agree with another review that the big dog in the restaurant made dining a bit of a problem -- having to watch that the dog doesn't get your food is not right. Patio chairs and tables were also more for relaxing than eating. All in all a bit too laid back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bikeboardride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed We's Restaurant also viewed

 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to We's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing