We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, bad location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paradise Lodge and Spa
Ranked #331 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Positives:
- they make the bed and give you a new towel everyday.
-They clean the bathroom and wipe up all the water that is on the floor every day
-Staff is generally accommodating

Negatives:
- The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to the night market and even further from the old city. It is really out of the way.
-wifi only in the lobby where there are lots of mosquitos
-Sheets were dirty when we arrived, but they happily changed them.
-They bathe a baby in the same sink used to cook you breakfast
-Toilet and shower all in one small space and water takes a long time to drain after shower

They have a tour operator on the main floor but we found them to be way more expensive than others. Best to compare.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaSimonelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 43 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is clearly completely unrealistic regarding itself
The name is so pretentious compare to the place. Rooms are cleans but looks like jail cells.
we booked it by a travel agency and they know then that you can't change and they don't care. We lost the last night beacuse we didn't want to stay there and they didn't refund it.
They're not commercial, only looking for money. The place is noisy with the satff speaking high at night and the place is gloomy.
the building is awfull, big and white without charm. A cold place. the spa is still in progress and you wouldn't relax here anyway.
Near to the aiport

I

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poustouchloune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights in 2 different rooms. Both had no carpets and poorly plumbed bathrooms which meant any waste from the sink was slew across the bathroom floor! One had wifi coverage in the room, the other didn't. But both had massive amounts of ants etc in the rooms. Possibly because they leave the windows to the lobby open all day. The rooms were equipped with easy to use a/c and tv (one with remote, one without), free bottled water and soap.

Breakfast service is comical and the standard of food is what you come to expect of Thai breakfasts; sausage (hot dog), dried scrambled eggs, salad (slice of lettuce and slice of tomato) and 2 slices of barely toasted bread with enough butter and marmalade for 1 slice.

Location not too bad if you don't mind a little walk.

I was booked in as part of a tour which included a 2 day excursion and onward travel. None of the staff had a clue what time I was to be picked up for either of there things which resulted in me getting out of bed a total of 3 hours early across the 3 days.

Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blain87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here with my sister for 2 nights, it came as a package deal with a 1-day-trek and transportation from Bangkok. The lady who seemed to be the manager was an absolute nightmare, it was extremely unpleasant to deal with her as every question or request was a nuisance to her.

Wifi is only available in the common area and the connection was very weak. The staff claimed it was down/slow due to the high number of people trying to connect because it was Songkran weekend. You'll be frustrated waiting to connect and to stay connected.

There is a small missing floor board behind the pond in the common area, which I fell through and was badly bruised and swollen from. The manager lady basically called me blind for not seeing it and yelled at me for asking for ointment and claimed no one has ever had an accident in the past 4 years.

Location is bad, it's a 20 minute walk to get to Old City where all the action is. Rooms are very basic: no desks or dressers to set your things on, simply 2 twin beds on sticky concrete floor. Poor drainage in the bathroom. After showering, the whole bathroom is drenched and it takes a good 10 minutes to drain. Good enough if you are only there to sleep. +s: Aircon (AC) in the rooms & cheap (around 600 baht/night); good enough if you're backpacking and don't mind the long walk.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were placed in this hotel as a package deal with excursions. The hotel is slightly off the beaten track and takes 15 mins to walk to the night bazaar and shops etc. The room was large but had a concrete floor; although this did not look very pleasant, it wasn't a massive issue. The bed was huge but there was a smear of what i believe to be blood on the bottom of the mattress. There was one sideboard in the room and that was all we had to lay out clothes/belongings etc.
The hotel has wifi but this can only be used in the main lobby area and does not reach the rooms.
The hotel staff were a bit hit and miss. Some were more helpful that others. They do a laundry service which we took advantage of and this was fine.
Breakfast was basic with only a few choices on the menu.
There is an indoor pool but i never saw anyone in this - it doesn't look particularly inviting!
All in all, if you're after a cheap, basic hotel then this would be a good choice. If you're looking for something more luxurious, then find somewhere else - it certainly isn't a paradise lodge!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna4450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I came here on a backpacking trip with my boyfriend and iv never been so disgusted with a hotel. We were expecting basic hotels or hostels but this really takes the biscuit. From the outside it looks like a derelict building and rabid dogs and cows are running about all over the place. You are then greeted by the worst smell imaginable which is actually your breakfast. I have not dared eat anything more than dry toast. The rooms are a whole different story, we had two and both were abysmal. Both had just concrete floors and the one we ended up in had a shower right over the toilet which flooded the 'bathroom' for hours and was accompanied by a vile smell of drains. It looks as though it should be nice when you go in due to some pond and waterfall combination in the foyer but its clear that's obviously all anyone's made any effort on. There is also a smelly swimming pool in the foyer which noone ever seems to use for obvious reasons once you've seen it. We were meant to stay for 5 nights as part of a package but made an escape after only one and that's only because we couldn't get a different room for that night. All in all I would stay away its 9 pounds a night or something like that but it's not even worth that.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poseidonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We got this hotel as part of a package deal to do some treking in chiang mai.

When we arrive we were greated by ants and mozzy's everywhere.. Rooms were rotten. Floors had no carpets.

Miles from centre 5 min walk for taxi or tuk tuk..

Breakfast was poor..

Wifi only in lobby.

Ok to stay if u are backpacking on a travelers budget

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aisling-Armagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
5 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 393 in Chiang Mai
944 reviews
4.3 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 393 in Chiang Mai
687 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#19 of 393 in Chiang Mai
3,146 reviews
3.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,085 reviews
3.8 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#176 of 393 in Chiang Mai
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Lodge and Spa

Address: 12 Srichandon Road | Changklan, A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $14 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Lodge and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Paradise Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing