We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, cute pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
Ranked #133 of 387 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our room was very clean and neat. The furnishings were wood and gave the room a more comfy feel than usual. The pool was small, but very well maintained, and perfect to soak in after a long day of exploring. The location was ideal. The staff was friendly, but not particularly helpful. we asked for a taxi to be arranged for a drive to Mae Rim and the only thing they could come up with was a minibus for significantly more money than advertised around town. We booked five nights and wanted to check out late on the last day, we were pointed to the sign that offered late checkout for 300baht, accompanied by a haughty condescending look. They were at most 20% occupancy, I think they could have spared the room. Then again, I had just come back from 4 weeks in Vietnam, were if they can give you something that doesn't cost them anything, they are more than happy to do so. I love Thailand, but it's service industry leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for WangBurapa Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 259 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed three days in this nice, quite hotel. Nicely decorated rooms, dark wood furniture and crispy clean white bedding. Good water pressure, bathrooms are huge and clean. We enjoyed having early breakfast (they start at 6 AM!) and the variety of typical American breakfast foods and Thai foods. Coffee is good. We did not use the pool but it looked clean and big. The staff were helpful and always welcoming. You can walk to many temples and Night Bazaar from the hotel. Also, do go to the Sunday Market - it is a much better experience than Night Bazaar.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seattletraveler1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

nice pool with enough chairs. good location close to some good places to eat, short wlalk to night market. very clean, ac, breakfast was ok. free use of computers with wifi also available. rooms were quite large. thoughb eds were a bit hard. no real complaints for the money it was very good value

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

All I wanted was a clean room with AC and wifi in a convenient location. And that is exactly what Wang Burapa offers. Throw in a nice pool (small, but great for soaking after a long sweaty day) and you have 1 happy customer.

Little things on the downside: the lobby smells like old feet. The bathroom has a moldy odor. The wifi is a bit wonky and not super fast. On check-out I was confirmed I could pay with credit card, but then both their CC thingies did not work and I had to go to an ATM, where I paid 180BHT just to get cash. They had ordered a taxi for me, which did not show up. Gladly there was a tuktuk waiting outside and thus the trip to the airport was even cheaper.

The location is great for all 3 major markets. I even walked all the way to Airport plaza (I love walking, mind you it is 50 minutes in high temperatures). The room size was great for a single person and would be comfortable for 2, but that's it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caipirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

It was because of the location my friends and i decided to stay in this hotel.Everything was so near. The rooms were clean and well done.They had a small swimming pool to add to their credit.The breakfast was good all warm and we enjoyed it. would surely go back again.

Room Tip: Standard room
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here 5 nights, but probably would have moved elsewhere-it just felt like too much hassle during our trip. There is nothing terrible about this hotel, but nothing fantastic either. I paid a low rate as it was out of season so it was worth the money (around 800 baht) but it isn't worth much more. This was probably a nice place when it was new but it is a bit run down now. Staff fairly inactive and all huddle around reception desk avoiding the guests. Bathrooms really smell-not unclean, something to do with their water tank. Pool pretty good and was nice to cool off at end of the day. Beds were crazily hard, sheets clean, ants paraded around the ceiling all the time. Great location, lots of local cafes and market for eating, away from less pleasant tourist strip of bars

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JaneZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is located only 15 mins drive from the Airport just across a beautified canal. Lots of 7x11s and pubs around. Rooms are nice, clean and AC was great. The receptionist and all staff are very helpful. Very close to a gate in the old city wall. The night market is also close. Lots of travel agencies nearby to organize adventure trips and trip to golden triangle. Lots of places to hire bikes also across the street.

Room Tip: Take rooms on the front of the hotel in the main building.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sudipnandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
#116 of 387 in Chiang Mai
564 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eurana Boutique Hotel
Eurana Boutique Hotel
#263 of 387 in Chiang Mai
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#159 of 387 in Chiang Mai
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#85 of 387 in Chiang Mai
278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buri Gallery House
Buri Gallery House
#99 of 387 in Chiang Mai
338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#68 of 387 in Chiang Mai
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WangBurapa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WangBurapa Grand Hotel

Address: 9,9/1-3 MoonMuang Soi.1 Rd. | T. Phrasing A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 387 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $21 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WangBurapa Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wang Burapa Grand Hotel is located near the old city gates. The location of the visitor of the experience both the old and the new combination. Walking street Sunday including famous temple and more than 300 offices located in walking distance from the hotel. There is also a minibus to take to Wat Phra Thrt Doi Suthep, a famous Phu Phing Palace Place. Botanic Garden Queen Sirikit. And many large and small water falls. In addition to the various tour and then to Chiang Mai also offers rafting. The wire rope huge over the wooden canopy and rock climbing. Wang Burapa Grand Hotel with excellent facilities all room have air conditioning, writing desk, TV, LCD TV, free wireless internet access. To provide comfort to your stay. In addition, there is 24 hour room service, executive floor, lift, with a range of leisure activities and recreation such as swimming pool, Jacuzzi system. Both children and adults. WangBurapa around the Grand Hotel has many restaurants and tour companies. Chiang Mai is to take a map and has to explore the second largest city of Chonburi Thailand WangBurapa Grand Hotel is located at an attractive price and a friendly for those looking for accommodation in Chiang Mai City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your WangBurapa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing