We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sathu Boutique House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Here Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Bodhi Serene Hotel(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Anodard Hotel(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sirilanna Hotel(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thongkoon House(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveler rating
8
18
21
30
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
18
21
30
57
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 134 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed two nights here after booking in advance. Wish we had checked Trip Advisor first. The room was way too expensive for what it is. The pictures online seem nice but the room was tiny and the bathroom was terrible. If you were lucky, water fell on your head while taking a shower, but water will definitely spray all over the entire tiny bathroom. Gross for using the bathroom after a shower. Breakfast was included but was average. We paid 1800 B per night at Sathu and we found an awesome place just down the block for our last night in Chiang Mai that cost 1100 B and was infinitely nicer.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This guesthouse is beautifully designed, with a comfortable outdoor restaurant overlooking crystal clear pool and rooms that welcome their visitors to relax in comfort. Our room has a smallish patio, but it reflects the eye for detail that permeates the entire property. Beautiful sandstone reliefs decorate the walks in the patios and lobby area. The location is excellent, within walking distance to many market areas, including the not to be missed Sunday night market! The staff is very friendly, offering to arrange tours, suggestions for activities... Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Wish I had checked Trip Advisor when I made this booking. The pictures of the place look really nice and you really can tell that someone has put some thought into designing this, however nowadays the rooms are kind of dingy, the small bathrooms on the ground floor generally full of mosquitos and very damp, causing the room walls to dampness too. Also, not cool to find blood marks on your pillow… I think the sheets had been washed, however probably rather economically…

Once moved to a double room upstairs (sadly they do not have many, i understand most rooms upstairs are twin) our stay improved dramatically, however two mentions:

(1) It really is disgusting to have a urinal in your bathroom, especially since it is not so well washed and sits right by the loo so you are practically nose in it while seated (had to be said…)

(2) I know it is hot, but air con blasting straight towards your bed is not a good idea!

If you add up a pool that gives more the impression of a pond and an average breakfast, one can conclude that the place is rather overpriced. That said, staff is really nice and keen to make you happy and the garden very pleasant to relax in between walks in the town. Could be a far better place with a bit more care (and comfier chairs).

Room Tip: Avoid downstairs rooms
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirelaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Was unimpressed with hotel upon arrival and it went downhill from there. Cobwebs in the bathroom and marginally clean floor. Shower is over toilet so you can't actually stand over it plus no hooks to hang up towels or clothes during and after showering. Then, the sheets had tons of dark hair all over them. Yuck!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crazytraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We visited Sathu Boutique Hotel in november 2012. From the outside the hotel looks nice, but the rooms are dirty. Only the sheets are changed every day. At arrival we needed to ask twice to clean the room (we are no compainer, it was our first time ever to complain in a hotel at arrival).

The hotel is relatively hard to find. Even most of the local Tuk-Tuk drivers cannot even find this hotel in a small alley. Also is the location quite far from the "new" city center (with restaurants, shoppings malls, markets and so on). Only the various Wats can be reached walking.

Last but not least. The owner of the hotel was a disaster. He seemed so afraid to be "robbed", that he treated every visitor as some sort of crook. For example he checked our minibar three times before we left and even tell told us that if he found out that we taken something he would charge us". Every question to him ended up in a complete tragedy, we got so tired of this that in the end we just paid and left. Although we had too pay in our opinion way to much.

One golden tip. Don't do your laundry our activity bookings at this hotel. The laundry was done wonderfull, but we paid about 10 times as much as at local laundry shops. Also for the booking of activities the hotel receives a commission, so it is much more expansive. You can better shop at the various booking offices in the city and check what fit's best to your wishes.

If you want to stay at this hotel. Please take note that the beds are very hard! I love hard beds, but I have never seen a mattrass as hard as this one.

If we had been able to we had switched hotels after 1 night, but it was Loy Krathong in Chiang Mai (a beautiful festival). All hotels were full. So we stayed all 5 nights. Our story about the hotel is very negative, but we are normally really no complainers. We do not need much more then a clean room and to be treated by the personall in a normal way. The way this hotel works, that is just not our cup of tea.

Room Tip: Just choose another Boutique Hotel, there are so many lovely places to stay. Also if you to be near shopping malls, food centers and markets. Search a hotel in the "new" city center (closer to the Ping river).
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuidoNoorlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews