We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Cottage Home Cookery School

Thai Cottage Home Cookery School
Ranked #31 of 59 Food & Drink in Chiang Mai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small cookery school dedicated to ensuring visitors to beautiful Chiang Mai have a truly amazing experience learning about Thai traditional food, and the Thai food culture. We welcome all visitors at every level, whether a cooking novice or those who seek to build on existing abilities. Our highly experienced and patient teachers hope to pass on their skills and passion for Thai cuisine.
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Very good instruction. Loved learning about the various ingredients. Takes the mystery out of Thai cooking. Make sure you go with an empty stomach. Great little recipe book, also. Yummy food. :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank hadrian08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    15
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We surely recommend this place! They pick you up at your hotel, go with you to a local market and show you all the ingredients you are going to use (very helpful for us that didn't know most of the things they showed us). Then you go to their place and start cooking. Very easy, for every level. After that, you eat it or take it away if you're not more hungry. They speak really good English, easy to understand them, and they are really nice and helpful people. We love this funny experience (although my boyfriend wasn't convinced at first).

Helpful?
Thank Raquel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 hour of experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

first we visit in the local market and learn about the special products and then we learn to cook 4 kind of dishes.
in the group was 4 couple from all over the world and also the time to be together was interesting.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank laor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great experience cooking in an actual Thai home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a good Thai cooking class at short notice and we got really lucky finding the last 2 spots at this place. They sent a shared taxi to our hotel and dropped us back (price included in the fee). What we really enjoyed was going to an actual Thai home and learning a few basic Thai dishes there. They also had a trip to the local market nearby before the cooking to show and explain the ingredients.
The class was very well organized and by the end of it, we were amazed at what we could dish out! The only thing missing were beds to nap in after the sumptuous meal!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VikramDevare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lucked out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Well I think I just chose a bad day to do it. There were only 3 of us, and it was a little awkward. The teacher was lovely and knew his stuff but he was also a little awkward... Food was great though. Overall I'm glad I did it.

Helpful?
Thank Riannevee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Cottage Home Cookery School also viewed

 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Thai Cottage Home Cookery School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing