We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy room in friendly guesthouse/backpackers”
Review of Diva Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diva Guesthouse
Ranked #24 of 733 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cosy room in friendly guesthouse/backpackers”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

While the bedroom and bathroom were small and with only a fan to keep us cool, we enjoyed our stay of several nights at this guesthouse as it was in a great location and with friendly, helpful staff. Step outside the door and you're ready to explore all of the old Chiang-Mai city area. Afterwards we lazed in the top veranda, reading and drinking a few Leo beers to recover.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evahn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    93
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
10
124
81
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've repeatedly stayed at the diva Guesthouse throughout May. Dorms are very clean and have many fans to keep you cool.
Staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. Ice coffee is very good, wifi is good. There is nothing wrong about this place. I so recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dcopeland85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My friend and I stayed for two nights at the Diva Guesthouse in July 2013 on our trip to Chiang Mai and it was a great experience! It is located in the Old Town of Chiang Mai and is within walking distance of many pagodas. The food at the restaurant downstairs is delicious but takes awhile to prepare--if you need to eat a quick meal, I would recommend walking down the street and finding somewhere else.

The rooms are incredibly colorful to say the least. I don't mind super bright, vibrant colors, but if you are looking for a calm, relaxing room atmosphere, I would probably go somewhere else. The hot water is a little tricky to figure out so make sure to ask before the receptionist goes away for the evening. Like most guesthouses in Chiang Mai, the windows are only screens, which meant a lot of the traffic noise drifted into our room. It's the price you pay for being located in the middle of the city, but I would consider bringing ear plugs. You also get great WiFi in the rooms. They do not clean the rooms for you but if you put your trashcan outside, they will empty it everyday.

The staff members are very helpful and willing to set you up for tours in Chiang Mai. We decided the day before in the afternoon that we wanted to go zip-lining the following afternoon and they were able to set it up for us no problem.

They were also wonderful in that they let us keep our luggage an extra day as we had an 11 pm flight. We checked out that morning and moved all of our luggage downstairs where they let us keep it tucked away in the hallway. That was really a lifesaver so we could enjoy another full day in Chiang Mai and I can't thank the owner enough! This spunky little guest house is a great place to stay and if you make the effort, you can really get to know the owner and staff members well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purple2Moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked for 2 nights initially but ended up staying for 4. Their friendly and helpful staff along with the clean and spacious rooms made our stay here very enjoyable. We ate at the restaurant most meals and found the food very tasty and good value. The location is great and can also arrange to rent a motorbike for 24 hours which was around £4! They have an in house tour operator through which we booked a 2 day trek and slow boat to Luang Prabang. The 2 day trek involved elephant trekking, white water rafting, nights accommodation in a hill top village tribe. The only bad thing I would say about this trip was that the activities were shorter than the advertised time. After returning from the trek we received a free Thai body massage from the massage parlour over the road which they own also. All in all I would definitely recommend this place as they offer all you need in Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Initially we arrived an were told there was no space but after eating (a fantastic) breakfast of muesli and yoghurt and inquiring about the trek they ran space appeared as if by magic! We could not have been happier a the women running diva became like our mums. They were so approachable and incredibly helpful in booking experiences (trekking, tigers and cooking) as well as giving info about chiang mai. We were also offered a free massage for after the trek - so well worth the stay. We had a shared triple room for 110 baht each.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellasilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Diva Guesthouse is definetly the best hostel I've ever stayed at! the location is perfect, the rooms are so lovely, colorful, big, clean and we had a very very comfortable bed in the red room. As everyone already mentioned, the food is perfect as well. But the thing that made this stay unforgettable was the incredible friendly staff! Jeab helped us so much, she never forgot our names, recommended us an amazing cooking course and was so sorry when they closed for songkran(the only bad point, but hey, they totally deserved their holidays!) and helpful to find a new guesthouse. Friends of us who already checked out of their hostels and werent allowed to take a shower there afterwards were invited by her to stay at our room, shower and chill on the balcony until their busses/trains left in the evening and all in all i ve never felt that welcome and home ever again. For sure i m coming back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laawendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Its a hostel. But its the best damn hostel i've ever been in. Wake up go to the Diva and tell her what you want to do and she'll arrange it no problem. its the most convenient and easy way to spend your time in Chiang Mai. She'll do everything from book your treks or elephant tours to get you a motorbike to rent ready outside the next day. An all around incredible hostel. Heavily recommend staying here

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brennan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.7 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#29 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#17 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#15 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.6 mi away
Banilah
Banilah
#35 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diva Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diva Guesthouse

Property: Diva Guesthouse
Address: 84/13 Ratchapakinai Road | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 733 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diva is a tastefully designed budget hostel, offering attractive and clean rooms. Every room has at least one window and strong WiFi signals are guaranteed throughout day and night in rooms or common areas. Diva is strategically located between Tapae gate and Chiang Mai gate in a backpacker area. Close to all the important cultural sites and between Saturday and Sunday walking streets. It is the perfect base to discover all adventures and beauty that the north of Thailand has to offer. The spring mattresses are new and all the rooms include a western toilet with hot shower inside. Linen, blankets, pillows and towels are provided in every room or dorm. Rooms are Fan-cooled or air-cooled. Also family/group room and dorms are offered ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Diva Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing