We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay and very friendly service”
Review of Diva Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diva Guesthouse
Ranked #24 of 733 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay and very friendly service”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Rooms are colorful and very clean. The service was exceptional, great and honest advice and always helpful with a big smile. It's central and a real bargain. Nice common area with free wifi. The food we had in the restaurant was really good. While it is a busy place and you hear the odd noise, we didn't feel disturbed by it. Overall, would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Try for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    93
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
10
124
81
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed here in Diva Guesthouse for 2 nights during a recent trip to Chiang Mai. Had booked for a room online. Steffen handled my reservation and it was fuss-free.

The guesthouse itself is located in the southeastern part of the old city. Most tuk-tuk drivers are not familiar with Diva Guesthouse but there are a couple of other lodgings just beside it which can be used as proxies (i.e. Same Same Guesthouse) as these are more recognizable to drivers.

For the very meager price that I was paying, I got my own airconditioned bedroom with ensuite bathroom which I thought was a real steal! The staff were also very helpful. Upon check-in, I was escorted to my room and given an intro on the ins-and-outs of the room. The room was quite modest (for the price I paid, I am not complaining) but the management tried to make the most out of it by painting the room in bold colors to at least add some mood.

I note that many reviewers here have commented on the paper-thin walls. This is true -- I kept hearing vivid laughter coming from the room next door. Aside from this, when someone knocks, it's hard to tell if they're knocking on YOUR door or another. Some had noted on the noise coming from the tuk-tuk outside. Although my room (#5) faces the street, I did not really notice this.

It is also possible to book tours in the guesthouse. The good thing about this place is that they don't really force you to book if you're not interested (I had heard horror stories about other guesthouses that evict guests who don't book tours with them) and besides that, they're also very much willing to give travel tips on places in and around Chiang Mai.

There's an upstairs and ground floor lounge which guests can use to relax. WIFI is also available all throughout the property though the signal in my room was quite weak. A restaurant is open from about 8am to 9pm daily which serves all meals. I did not get to try it though.

All in all, I thought Diva Guesthouse was a wonderful place to stay in Chiang Mai. Most importantly, it offered excellent value while retaining a personalized level of service (the staff would refer to me by my first name) as well as reliability.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed here in a 3 bed private room on the ground floor, the room was nicely presented in quite a hippie and collective style. There are two issues with this room; 1 the bathroom is a wet room and the drainage is not good so gets flooded easily. The other issue was at night, the room backs onto a yard were the rubbish is kept so the birds and wild cats got in and made ALOT of noise which sounds like someone is breaking in.

The location is perfect right on the main strip of other guesthouse's, bars and cafes but doesn't make it noisy as most places close by 10/11pm.

There is a great little cafe called mickeys opposite which serves really nice lassis's and food. Definitely recommend going there, we went there pretty much everyday.

If you want to book excursions then book with the hostel, Pinnie the main lady is great and happy to sort out anything.

Overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieCollins88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We booked to stay here via hostel world and it was better than we expected! Very basic but clean, bright and comfortable rooms it was excellent value for money! The service however outshines anything I have prevously experienced and makes up for the simplicity of the place.
We were sat down and welcomed and shown in detail the map and all that Chaing Mai has to offer!! Really fantastic guesthouse and I recommend to other travellers - located in the old part it is a ten minute walk to all the bars, restaurants etc and the night market but it is far enough away to be in a nice, peaceful, quiet part of Chaing Mai. I was with a female friend and we felt very safe walking back from the markets and bars each evening.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at diva over christmas and new years. Emailed them to reserve a double room, Stefan emailed me back very quickly and was very helpful. The staff were all great and they have loads of info about tours and activities. The room was clean, averge size with ensuite. Hot water in the shower. Only drawback was the noise a night from the tuktuks on the road, they have massive exhausts and are noisy! The rooms are highly decorated, beds comfy. Good value and location. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place and stay there again. We loved it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katievic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed in about 4 guesthouses in Chiang Mai before I stayed at Divas and it was definitely the best. The staff are so so wonderful and know exactly what you need. The dorms are nice and clean and perfect for just over 100 b a night. There's a cute little 'chill out' area too. I just wish I could have stayed more than 1 night!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riannevee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

In some words:
- great staff with a lot of energy
- superb service (they will help you even if you don't buy anything)
- original clean rooms
- always smiling
- great super awesome cool amazing... :)

HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen_0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.7 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#29 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#17 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#15 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.6 mi away
Banilah
Banilah
#35 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diva Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diva Guesthouse

Property: Diva Guesthouse
Address: 84/13 Ratchapakinai Road | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 733 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diva is a tastefully designed budget hostel, offering attractive and clean rooms. Every room has at least one window and strong WiFi signals are guaranteed throughout day and night in rooms or common areas. Diva is strategically located between Tapae gate and Chiang Mai gate in a backpacker area. Close to all the important cultural sites and between Saturday and Sunday walking streets. It is the perfect base to discover all adventures and beauty that the north of Thailand has to offer. The spring mattresses are new and all the rooms include a western toilet with hot shower inside. Linen, blankets, pillows and towels are provided in every room or dorm. Rooms are Fan-cooled or air-cooled. Also family/group room and dorms are offered ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Diva Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing