We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food”
Review of Fujian

Fujian
Ranked #452 of 2,058 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Located within the Kad Dhara Shopping Village is Fujian, The Dhara Dhevi's renowned Chinese restaurant. Housed in a two-story mansion built in a typically Sino-Portuguese style dating back to the mid-19th century. Heading the restaurant is Chinese-born, whose legendary dim sum is served each day at lunch in customary bamboo steamers on large, circular tables. In the evening, the atmosphere of Fujian seamlessly transforms from that of a bygone era to take on a more upbeat, contemporary mood.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The staff were excellent and so friendly, like the rest of the hotel complex. Food was superb. Maybe lacks a little atmosphere, but that would be picking faults for the sake of it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArabianVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
370 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Some of the most delicious Chinese food in Thailand”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The restaurant is one of the best and most famous for Chinese food in Chiang Mai, On Chinese new year day, we made it a point to eat lunch there. We weren't disappointed at all. The decor was beautiful and tasteful, so was the range of their menu. We had dim sim for lunch and was very satisfied with the qualities of every dish. The desserts were great as well, service excellent and attentive. This place is highly recommended!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank la_speranza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
145 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very Good Dim Sum Lunch Buffet”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

There are some good chinese restaurants in the city of Chiang Mai but I have to say that Fujian restaurant at Mandarin Oriental Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai is my favourite. The restaurant located in the resort's shopping village, Kad Dhara - beautiful and impressive settings, decoration and architecture. Walking to the restaurant gave you a special feeling like walking through the old days.

I visited the Fujian restaurant at lunch because of its well known Dim Sum Buffet menu - recommended and guaranteed satisfaction. In my opinion, the restaurant is not too crowded on the day I visited, which is great and make everything perfect. Learnt from staff that the lunch buffet menu is popular for local residents; so please book in advance.

They also offer a-la-carte menu at lunch.
Polite and service minded staff - will come back next time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AorPhatthawut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Peking Duck and Suckling Pig in Chiang Mai”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Have searched Chiang Mai far and wide for dim sim and peking duck this good. If you are going to go regularily its worth joining the Mandarin Oriental Hotel Benifits Club.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adam_Barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Good dim sum in fantastic old wooden house”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Mandarin oriental dhara dhevi in chiang mai is a must - the stunning hotel with its art is like a trip back in history.
There is a very nice old style shopping village on the grounds and after i bit of browsing you may end up in the stunning old wooden house where Fujian chinese restaurant is located.
The Dim Sum lunch is great value and good quality. Our visit was on a sunday and they were very busy. Good fun but maybe better go on a week day.
Overall great experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mascotbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fujian also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Fujian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing