We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dim sum in fantastic old wooden house”
Review of Fujian

Fujian
Ranked #434 of 2,058 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Located within the Kad Dhara Shopping Village is Fujian, The Dhara Dhevi's renowned Chinese restaurant. Housed in a two-story mansion built in a typically Sino-Portuguese style dating back to the mid-19th century. Heading the restaurant is Chinese-born, whose legendary dim sum is served each day at lunch in customary bamboo steamers on large, circular tables. In the evening, the atmosphere of Fujian seamlessly transforms from that of a bygone era to take on a more upbeat, contemporary mood.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Good dim sum in fantastic old wooden house”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Mandarin oriental dhara dhevi in chiang mai is a must - the stunning hotel with its art is like a trip back in history.
There is a very nice old style shopping village on the grounds and after i bit of browsing you may end up in the stunning old wooden house where Fujian chinese restaurant is located.
The Dim Sum lunch is great value and good quality. Our visit was on a sunday and they were very busy. Good fun but maybe better go on a week day.
Overall great experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mascotbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Average dim sum”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My conclusion is that here's no such thing as good dim sum in Chiang mai. Flour skin isn't think nor delicate enough. Filling isn't crunchy shrimp which is crucial for good hahkau or shuimai.

Wait til you go to HK or Bangkok if you really crave for dim sum in Thailand.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K_ken25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
310 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic Chinese food”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Situated in the grounds of arguably one of the best hotels in Thailand (the Mandarin Oriental - Chiang Mai) Fujian is a first class dining experience. I have dined here a few times, both Dim Sim at lunchtime and more recently dinner. The food is amazing. I have had some very nice Chinese meals at leading resturaunts in Hong Kong, and this one is on equal par. The setting too is amazing, inside a turn of the century Shanghai style house. If in Chiang Mai, do yourself a favor and try this one, you will love it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thespgtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
199 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“The best peking duck ever”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We have enjoyed peking duck in Hong Kong, Singapore and many many places in China, we love the dish and look for it all over, nowhere have we been served such a marvel. Not only was the duck cooked to perfection but the carving was a true masterpiece. We have never had such well cut skin without any fat. Our warmest congratulations to all.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TripperEurope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious dim sum”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

This place serves quality food and has an array of Cantonese and fusion dishes. The 2-storey Shanghai styled mansion offers diners a glimpse of intricate Chinese interior. The dim sum is authentic and beautifully presented in bamboo steamers. Dinner can be good or bad, depending on what you order. Cantonese dishes fair better than say the Sichuan dishes.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshinetips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fujian also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Fujian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing