We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best parts of our Thailand trip!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oriental Cuisine Chiang Mai

Oriental Cuisine Chiang Mai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our class exclusively bring you to find out the art of Thai cuisine. You will learn all techniques of authentic Thai food.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best parts of our Thailand trip!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Thai food we cooked was some of the best food we ate on the whole trip! Our instructor was awesome, very nice and fun! Only 6 people in the group, so we had plenty of 1-on-1 time. We were taken in the morning to look around at a market. Learned many interesting facts about Thai foods and spices. We did a full day and the instructor helped us learn to make each of the dishes. Loved eating all of them! :D Definitely recommend this place!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lanping D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manila
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A "must do" in Chiang Mai!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Thai food cooked in the traditional way, made fun and simple by our great instructor Wawah!! We were a comfortable group of 6, so the instructor was able to give us special attention, answered all our questions and even gave us interesting bits about the Thai way of cooking. I highly recommend that visitors to Chiang Mai include cooking lessons from this school as part of their itinerary. Delicious!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Adeline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“100% Recommended, Highlight of our trip so far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

As all the other reviewers have said, Wawah is fantastic, very knowledgable on an array of topics and willing to teach you about Thai culture, customs and religion. The food was amazing, we couldn't eat it all so Wawah packed it up for us to take on our bus trip to Lampang later that day. We were very lucky to only be in a class with one other person so it was a very personal class. Not a single bad thing to say, from start to finish this was a fantastic day!

Helpful?
4 Thank mizjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fabulous morning out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were collected from the hotel and taken to the market with our guide "Nice," who totally lives up to her name. There, we were shown the produce and the array of ingredients and then had about 20 minutes to explore on our own which was fantastic. We then went onto her house, which she has converted into a cooking school, where we proceeded to make 5 dishes, from her menu, of our choice.

We took our 7 year old daughter and appreciated that we were not charged for her and she cooked with one of us where possible, but there was also a small lounge with a TV that she could use as it was a "full on" morning and she did not last the whole session.

Nice showed us each different dish and the ingredients were all prepared for us, so we just had to chop and cook. The food was totally delicious, great ambiance, great set-up and lovely hostess.

Highly recommended. There are loads of cookery schools here, I can't vouch for the others but this one was great in that they accommodated our child, offered a half day option which we wanted and gave us a thoroughly enjoyable, very full, morning out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FifiCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time, highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and myself recently partook in an evening cooking class with oriental cuisine and had a brilliant time. The dishes we cooked were delicious, and the best part was that we individually picked our dishes rather than as a class. The teacher was also brilliant with great English. Can't recommend this enough!

Helpful?
Thank brosi299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Cuisine Chiang Mai also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Oriental Cuisine Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing