We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai
Ranked #79 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in Good Location”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights, which is located in a good location within the old city walls.

The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, particularly when we requested to change rooms. We had a room by the pool that only has wooden style windows and not glass, which meant that any noise from outside the room felt like it was in the room. Our room change request did not cause a problem!

The hotel is also cat friendly as can be seen by the resident cats, which the staff look after.

Dash Restaurant is also very close by and a must to try.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Del-Sowerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    91
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
56
141
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We've checked out many places in Chiang Mai, but none have beat Kodchasri Thani. The patio/pool area is filled with lush plants, carved teak wood, a teak gazebo, and beautiful pool. Our room had beautiful paintings of Thai lions and teak furniture, and a modern, clean bathroom (no tub, but we prefer showers). Our room looked out onto a big indoor/outdoor lounge area with coy ponds, fountains, and big comfy loungy chairs. Free computers there too. The staff were amazing! Always friendly, smiling and helpful. The front desk staff fielded phone calls for us, returned calls to help us set up a tour, printed things out, and more. Always happy to help. Small gym overlooking pool with treadmill, bike, elliptical trainer, and resistance machine. Good location. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised by this lovely hotel. The location is amazing, right in the old town, and it's quiet and peaceful inside with spacious rooms and interior courtyards, fountains and a pool, so very calm. The staff were all delightful, charming and friendly and I loved the breakfast: plenty of good quality food was available and eggs were cooked to order. All the decor is well chosen in traditional style. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Once you enter the hotel, the ambiance made you feel relax and set you away from the city life.
15-20mins drive from the airport.

Room are spacious, clean. Wifi signal is strong in room and available within the hotel. Staff are helpful, breakfast spread consists of local thai & western food.

Set in old city of Chiang Mai, it's near to the Saturday walking street.
There are many local markets to explore along the lanes nearby and shops, restaurants just outside the city gate.

Travelling with children: Deluxe room we stayed in has fixed shower head and the bed maybe a little to high for children to climb up. Swimming pool with minimum height of 0.5m.

Room Tip: we stayed in deluxe room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiuChing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I recently stayed 4 nights. After the first few hours I thought it was going to be a hard few nights as the room we were in had a bad smell that only became apparent when we went to bed and the air freshener masking the smell had left the room. There was obviously something wrong that made it impossible to sleep in that room. I went to the front desk at 9.30pm to ask for another room. The desk attendant told me the hotel was fully booked and she didn't have any place else to put us. Seeing my distress she agreed to visit the room and was in full agreement that we could not stay there. After a few phone calls she was able to put us in another room where we spent the remainder of our stay. Once we moved everything was perfect. Tea is brought to the room each night which was a nice little treat and the fruit bowl always had fresh fruit delivered each day, a nice touch. A heart felt thanks to the excellent staff that rescued our holiday experience.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suva10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Kodchasri Thani almost resembles a white chapel in amongst the gritty authenticity of the old city. Here's the breakdown: lovely staff, big comfortable rooms, soft pillows, good breakfast, great cocktails and band by the pool (which is a very clean and nice to refresh oneself in) and... cute cats! I realise the cats aren't a draw card for everyone but my mother and I loved them. See you next year Kodchasri!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexandraClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed in a twin room and my mother found the beds VERY hard (still haven't heard the end of it a week later). This may only be an issue for the room we had, not sure.
The pool was lovely, staff weren't as forthcoming as other Thai hotels we have stayed at... Maybe a language barrier but still friendly smiles. Noisy Ac in the room but over all very clean and good value for money.

the fake orchids in the garden made us chuckle :) the real ones they had were lovely enough on their own.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whistlewhilstyouwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 381 in Chiang Mai
957 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#31 of 381 in Chiang Mai
946 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thai Akara - Lanna Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moon Dragon Hotel
Moon Dragon Hotel
#103 of 381 in Chiang Mai
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viangluang Resort
Viangluang Resort
#119 of 381 in Chiang Mai
19 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#45 of 381 in Chiang Mai
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai

Property: Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai
Address: 54 / 3 Rajabhakinai Road | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#28 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing