We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely touch, friendly services and attentive to details”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai
Ranked #76 of 376 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Homely touch, friendly services and attentive to details”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Boutiques can be fascinating. Down to earth yet super friendly services really make you feel at home. It's more relaxing than, saying endless 'good morning' before you get out of a five star hotel. Architecture is tasteful with Lanna style. I can't explain more, just go and enjoy the friendly touch and homely services. Take the time and appreciate the details they prepared for you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    91
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
56
141
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a great 8 days at the Kochasri Thani hotel. Overall, I would strongly recommend this hotel, which was good value at 3000bht a night. Bed was too hard for me!

Pros
Super location
Quiet oasis
Roomy and high quality room
Lovely pool area
Good choice at breakfast
Egg / omelette cook at breakfast
Very clean and good room maids

Cons
Hard bed
Staff did not come round the pool area (e.g. To see if you wanted drinks etc)
Lack of sun beds
Sun beds were not adjustable

We would definitely return if we go back to Chiang Mai.
Breakfast food cold

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJEColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights. Our first night we stayed on the 3rd floor and the room appeared to have either background drums from a neighboring business or a pump that sounded like background drums. When we asked for another room the next morning, we were immediately transfered to room 1105. Beautiful, peaceful, large, spotless, and quiet! We loved returning to our room during day outings as the days' temperatures were in the high 90's and the room was always so clean and cool. Nice large bathroom. The service at the hotel was outstanding! The front desk staff spoke English and seemed to enjoy practicing their English skills. They answered all our questions and enjoyed that we were having such a good time. They appeared to enjoy their jobs and had fun with each other. The food servers were so attentive, they almost anticipated our every need. We thoroughly enjoyed the duo that sang in the evening. We made 2 song requests, which they had not performed before, but read the music from their ipad and sang/played both songs so well! We and they had so much fun. The location of the hotel was perfect for us. Being in the Old City was a good choice. Right across the hotel was the Corner Mini-market, which we visited about 2 times a day for bottled water, beer, and snacks. It couldn't have been more convenient! There were always tuk tuks and red taxis driving in front of the hotel, and a ATM center about a block away. A good massage spa, one minute away. This boutique hotel is not well known to tuk tuk and taxi drivers so take the hotel card with you. We plan to return to Chiang Mai in the future and will definitely stay at the Kodchasri Thani again! Thank you to the entire staff for making our stay a very pleasurable and memorable one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mchun96813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Tresa, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Nice facilities for a good prices (3000 Baht per night during May).
Breakfast was nice as well, the only thing which bothered us a lot was the very boring repetitive music...
Room - comfortable bed, clean room; the only problem was that the water did not flow off easily (e.g. in the shower)
Staff was very friendly.
Located nicely between amongst several bars in the historical part of the town
Prices for drinks at bar are quite expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripabroad2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed in room 1101. Unbelievable how they created a peacefull calm environment in the middle of the city. Once you entered the main door of the hotel all the busyness of the city disappeares, fantastic. Also the birds know, we saw more birds on the property of the hotel then in the city.
Also a great advantage, once you entered the main door, you entered a zone of nice climate, away from the heat of the city.
You need a good night sleep? Go here, great airconditioning in the room, adjustable to your needs from very cold to off, in steps of 1 degree celcius combined with the posibility to adjust the fan speed in 3 degrees. We stayed in multiple places around Chiang Mai but we slept nowhere as good as in Kodchasri Thani hotel room 1101.
You like to swim? Go here. They have a great pool with just the perfect temperature of the water, not too cold not too warm. Refreshing without beeing chilly. Perfect. Next to the pool there are some nice sunning seats with huge towels from the hotel, refreshed every day. Directly next to the pool are toilets and showers with shampoo, conditioner and showergel. Perfect, you dont have to go to your room after you finished swimming to freshen up. And god what does the shampoo and other stuff smell nice. ( we mentioned that when we checked out and as a poresent my wife got a nice box filled with it!)
The food was also amazing, what a great cheff they have! Western or thai it doenst matter. You can eat indoor or outdoor. We have eaten outdoor, nice under a big umbrella listening to the live music. What a voice the guy has!
All employees are there to make you happy and feel good. They really understand the hotel business and the meaning of service, just great. I think the manager does a outstanding job!
Offcourse you pay a little more than a typical guesthouse in Chiang Mai but you get so much more. We would definatly go back here if we have the chance to visit Chiang Mai again.
Dont have any doubts just make your reservation and experience calmness, thai hospitality, great food and perfect service. Compliments to Kodchasri Thani!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BroekWvanden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed at the Kochasri a total of 6 nights over two passes through Chiangmai. Was placed in the same upstairs room on both occasions. Room was modern, sizable, clean and quiet, albeit at the beginning of low season. Bathroom was sufficiently large with all the needed amenities. Good air conditioning, refrigerator, hair dryer and TV provided. Fruit placed in the room daily. Free Wi-Fi in the room initially was dysfunctional but that was remedied without much difficulty when the staff reset the router. Two Apple computers, free use, provided in public areas. Helpful, although at times could not connect to the Internet with them--staff responsive. In fact, a consistent finding was staff, although sometimes "English-challenged", was uniformly anxious to please. Breakfast (Asian and Western fare) was exceptional, as was the coffee, especially for a hotel of this size. Adequate exercise room and pool. Attractive grounds. Very good location with easy walk to anything attractive in the old city of Chiangmai. I wouldn't look for an alternative to this hotel unless you were intent on staying in new Chiangmai.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
172 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

This Hotel lives up to its reviews in Trip Advisor.

Well located within the old city walls. Perhaps not the majorities choice in this area as there is so much budget accomodation in the area.

Spacious reception area. Delightful courtyard garden, planted with love and cared for with even more love. The main feature of it is the triple pool, more like three giant plunge pools with sunning area.

Small gym area. Delightfully large quirky lounge area.Small but interesting museum.


Superior rooms are a good size, 34 square meters ,well appointed but could do with a couple of armchairs rather than the stools in room 304. Bathrooms are well designed, plenty of towels, hot water always hot and a great pressure.

A/C is gentle and efficient.

Restaurant serves good food.Same kind of price range as everything surrounding it. Buffet breakfast caters for every taste reflecting the internationa clientle.

Couple of pet cats have the run of the reception and garden, lovely creatures but perhaps not to everyones taste.

We would certainy return.

My only gripe and it is a tiny one. The room and bathroom waste bins are small lidded dustbins. You have to lift the lid to use them all the time.

Room Tip: only saw my own so not sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#34 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thai Akara - Lanna Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Viangluang Resort
Viangluang Resort
#102 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#42 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moon Dragon Hotel
Moon Dragon Hotel
#95 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai

Property: Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai
Address: 54 / 3 Rajabhakinai Road | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#28 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing