We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best money I spent in Thailand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai
Ranked #77 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best money I spent in Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

Stayed dec 2011, will be returning. Staff went out of their way for me and my friend several times, rooms were beautiful, price was extremely reasonable (had friends down the road paying 40% more, and or place was better). Loved it loved it loved it

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ptothelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    91
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
56
140
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

We booked this hotel after reading all the positive comments from it's guests and true enough, this small yet cosy and homey hotel not only met our expectations but far exceeded it. We booked into the deluxe room but the hotel upgraded us to an executive suite, citing reason that we have 2 adults and 2 kids and bigger room is more comfortable. Very considerate indeed.

This is our first experience with a smaller hotel but the overall encounter has been fantastic! My kids kept telling me how much they love the room and the breakfast. Rooms are clean- spotless clean, bright, quiet and carpetless (much to my delight!). The variety of breakfast choices is just nice, just what we love to have for breakfast at home, nothing too elaborate. We noticed that they cultured their own yogurts too, if we are right. Special mention is their omelets- yummy! My sons had 2 omelettes each. We love sitting outdoor for breakfast every morning and the staff could remember what our drink preference is on our2nd day of stay! Staff are always ready to greet us with a smile or help when needed.

The location is another advantage to choose this hotel. Right inside old city and less than 5 minutes walk to Sunday's night market, it's easily accessible to good food and transports to other places of attractions within Chiang Mai.

We will definitely stay in kodchasri Thani again when we visit Chiang Mai in future.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Isadar1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

We booked this hotel at the last minute when we cancelled our Bangkok stay..
Nothing else on our trip matched up to this stay.
The hotel is 1st class - small with quality fittings and an excellent, well trained staff.

Our room was so comfortablle with lots of extras including fruit and different types of tea to try each evening.
The Breakfast was very complete and the staff in all areas could not do enough to help..
The situation of the Hotel is right in the middle of things and the Sunday Night markets are just a short walk away.
Plenty of cheap local restaurants nearby as well.

Val A

Room Tip: We chose a higher floor room(only 3 floors) but I think all rooms would be excelleny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Val837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed 5 days in Chiang Mai in this hotel. Rooms were nicely decorated, bed was very comfortable, quiet, breakfast was delicious, staff was always willing to help and it was in a perfect location inside the old town. I wouldn't hesitate a second to go back myself and recommend it to family and friends!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cyn2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

Kodchasri Thani is a charming hotel close enough to central Chiang Mai to be a good place to stay and see the city. The rooms are clean and the hotel has a very good atmosphere. Also, for the price, I think this hotel is a good value. While some of the facilities are not very large, I found them to be sufficient for this size of hotel.

What was good

1. Decor is excellent and modern
2. A lot open areas for sitting and reading
3. Staff is professional and friendly
4. Very quiet

What was not so good

1. Some noise from furniture moving in other rooms. I think this is mainly from housekeeping cleaning the rooms.
2. Small breakfast selection-While you can find something to eat at breakfast, the selections are a bit limited. Having said that, I think the selection was in line with what I would expect at hotel of this size. Just do not expect a five-star breakfast selection.

This trip was with a friend. I plan to return to Chiang Mai in a few months with my wife and Kodchasri will be at the top of my list of places to stay because it is convenient, clean, and a good value in central Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rtlmsff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

This is a great place to stay. The staff are fantastic and friendly. Their English is ok but if you begrudge the staff not having perfect English in Thailand then you might prefer to have your fish and chips served elsewhere.

I stayed at the Bodhi Serene next door to Kodchasri for a couple of days also and would say they are very similar but I thought the rooms at Kod were brighter and bigger.

I would highly recommend staying here if your budget is around 3k to 4k

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwi1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

We booked what was described as a superior room but when we arrived we had rooms 2202 and 2203 outside the hotel. Our outside corridor was open to the very busy street which resulted in a lot of noise at night. There must have been a disco/nightbar somewhere in the neighbourhood because the beat and the music would keep us awake till 3am. We asked for another room, but where told (with a smile) this was not possible.
Our showerdoor did not close properly which resulted in a flooded bathroom every time someone took a shower. We reported this to the reception and (with a smile) were told that they would solve the problem, but nothing happened.
When we left the hotel we unfortunately forgot some items in our room. We have been trying to contact the hotel ever since to see if there was an opportunity to get them back. The hotel has not ever returned a call or answered back on our 3 emails we sent.

Room Tip: avoid 2202 and 2203 as they are corridored outside the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NibblesOnMyMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#37 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#40 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#16 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel M Chiang Mai
Hotel M Chiang Mai
#69 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#11 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai

Property: Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai
Address: 54 / 3 Rajabhakinai Road | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#28 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing