We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy ambience, friendly staff, great place to stay in Chiang Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai
Ranked #83 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We booked this hotel after reading all the positive comments from it's guests and true enough, this small yet cosy and homey hotel not only met our expectations but far exceeded it. We booked into the deluxe room but the hotel upgraded us to an executive suite, citing reason that we have 2 adults and 2 kids and bigger room is more comfortable. Very considerate indeed.

This is our first experience with a smaller hotel but the overall encounter has been fantastic! My kids kept telling me how much they love the room and the breakfast. Rooms are clean- spotless clean, bright, quiet and carpetless (much to my delight!). The variety of breakfast choices is just nice, just what we love to have for breakfast at home, nothing too elaborate. We noticed that they cultured their own yogurts too, if we are right. Special mention is their omelets- yummy! My sons had 2 omelettes each. We love sitting outdoor for breakfast every morning and the staff could remember what our drink preference is on our2nd day of stay! Staff are always ready to greet us with a smile or help when needed.

The location is another advantage to choose this hotel. Right inside old city and less than 5 minutes walk to Sunday's night market, it's easily accessible to good food and transports to other places of attractions within Chiang Mai.

We will definitely stay in kodchasri Thani again when we visit Chiang Mai in future.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Isadar1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 297 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2011

We booked this hotel at the last minute when we cancelled our Bangkok stay..
Nothing else on our trip matched up to this stay.
The hotel is 1st class - small with quality fittings and an excellent, well trained staff.

Our room was so comfortablle with lots of extras including fruit and different types of tea to try each evening.
The Breakfast was very complete and the staff in all areas could not do enough to help..
The situation of the Hotel is right in the middle of things and the Sunday Night markets are just a short walk away.
Plenty of cheap local restaurants nearby as well.

Val A

Room Tip: We chose a higher floor room(only 3 floors) but I think all rooms would be excelleny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Val837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed 5 days in Chiang Mai in this hotel. Rooms were nicely decorated, bed was very comfortable, quiet, breakfast was delicious, staff was always willing to help and it was in a perfect location inside the old town. I wouldn't hesitate a second to go back myself and recommend it to family and friends!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cyn2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Kodchasri Thani is a charming hotel close enough to central Chiang Mai to be a good place to stay and see the city. The rooms are clean and the hotel has a very good atmosphere. Also, for the price, I think this hotel is a good value. While some of the facilities are not very large, I found them to be sufficient for this size of hotel.

What was good

1. Decor is excellent and modern
2. A lot open areas for sitting and reading
3. Staff is professional and friendly
4. Very quiet

What was not so good

1. Some noise from furniture moving in other rooms. I think this is mainly from housekeeping cleaning the rooms.
2. Small breakfast selection-While you can find something to eat at breakfast, the selections are a bit limited. Having said that, I think the selection was in line with what I would expect at hotel of this size. Just do not expect a five-star breakfast selection.

This trip was with a friend. I plan to return to Chiang Mai in a few months with my wife and Kodchasri will be at the top of my list of places to stay because it is convenient, clean, and a good value in central Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rtlmsff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

This is a great place to stay. The staff are fantastic and friendly. Their English is ok but if you begrudge the staff not having perfect English in Thailand then you might prefer to have your fish and chips served elsewhere.

I stayed at the Bodhi Serene next door to Kodchasri for a couple of days also and would say they are very similar but I thought the rooms at Kod were brighter and bigger.

I would highly recommend staying here if your budget is around 3k to 4k

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiwi1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We booked what was described as a superior room but when we arrived we had rooms 2202 and 2203 outside the hotel. Our outside corridor was open to the very busy street which resulted in a lot of noise at night. There must have been a disco/nightbar somewhere in the neighbourhood because the beat and the music would keep us awake till 3am. We asked for another room, but where told (with a smile) this was not possible.
Our showerdoor did not close properly which resulted in a flooded bathroom every time someone took a shower. We reported this to the reception and (with a smile) were told that they would solve the problem, but nothing happened.
When we left the hotel we unfortunately forgot some items in our room. We have been trying to contact the hotel ever since to see if there was an opportunity to get them back. The hotel has not ever returned a call or answered back on our 3 emails we sent.

Room Tip: avoid 2202 and 2203 as they are corridored outside the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NibblesOnMyMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My husband and I are wrapping up a brief 5 day stay in Chiang Mai today. We have nothing but the highest praise for the Kodchasri, particularly the wonderful staff. Being greeted with a smile every day goes a long way. Everybody from the restaurant staff to the front desk and maid service did everything they could to make our stay the most enjoyable we have ever had while on holiday. Nightly tea, fresh fruit replenished daily, and helpful tips and directions were some extra touches we especially enjoyed. Additionally, the facilities and our room were spotless. Many thanks to all.

The hotel has a good location in a quieter part of the old city. Somewhat removed from the night bazaar area but within easy walking distance. Nearby We's restaurant was phenomenal as well.

Cannot wait to return to Chiang Mai and the Kodchasri!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sampina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#33 of 388 in Chiang Mai
980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#39 of 388 in Chiang Mai
986 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#37 of 388 in Chiang Mai
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Thai Akara - Lanna Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#132 of 388 in Chiang Mai
262 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
#67 of 388 in Chiang Mai
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai

Address: 54 / 3 Rajabhakinai Road | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#28 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $73 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing