We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just so many different things to remember”

Thailand Hilltribe Holidays Private Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.38*
and up
Private Tour: Full-Day Authentic Hill Tribe Villages in Chiang Mai
More Info
$193.03*
and up
Private Tour: 2-Day Authentic Hill Tribes Tour and Homestay from Chiang Mai
More Info
$395.32*
and up
4 Days- Responsible Hilltribe tour of Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle
Ranked #21 of 277 Tours in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Provides off-the-beaten-path tours of Northern Thailand that aim to show you what life and culture for Northern Thais and hilltribes is really about, in a responsible and respectful way. Our guide will take you out of the tourist bubble and together you will share a true cultural immersion experience that is authentic and educational. Offering 1-multi day private tours, can be tailored and great for all ages and families.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Leicester, England
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Just so many different things to remember”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have recently completed the 5 day Mae Hong Son Loop tour. From the planning at the start to finish everything went smoothly, many thanks to Mel for her patience as exchanged various emails with her asking her advice and sometimes changing our minds.
Our tour was accompanied by Pat, Mel's partner as our guide and our driver Od.Pat is committed to improving conditions for people in the hill tribes and has a desire to make them more independant.
Pat is also very responsive to the views of the people on the tour, he very quickly realised that we weren't particularly interested in the mass tourist attractions like the Tiger Kingdom and adapted our tour to what we wanted to do.
During the 5 days we did so many things, too numerous to mention them all but for us the highlights were the overnight stay with the hill tribe family, the visit to Lod Cave and a visit to a local school in the hill tribe area. The family we stayed with in the hill tribe were delightful, all their children were lovely and while the accommodation was basic it was clean, fairly comfortable and they did everything to make us feel part of their home.
On our visit to the school we met children from all the different age groups and have encouraged us to set up links with a school I work with in the UK.
As well as the planned visits, lots of random things happened including stopping off at roadside cafe to watching some locals knocking ant's nests out of trees so they can collect the ant's eggs.
Pat was taking pictures throughout the trip and at the end gave us a USB with them all on to take home.
If you want a non-touristy trip seeing so many different things then do this trip, it is something you will never forget and if you have any questions please feel free to contact me

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank awizzbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    31
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boise
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Highlight of my Thailand Holiday”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This tour was absolutely outstanding and definitely the highlight of my holiday. If you want to get off the beaten tourist track, I highly recommend this tour. We did some of the standard stuff (White Temple in Chiang Rai), but most of the time, we saw few other tourists. The trip was very scenic into the highlands, and the visits with the local tribes were a real eye-opener. My guide was Pat, who is extremely knowledgeable about Thailand, the hill tribes, and the blues. As soon as Pat discovered I am a fan of the blues, we were treated to a stream of BB King and Eric Clapton that Pat played through the SUV's sound system. And Winai is an excellent and very safe driver. The best part about this tour is the flexibility--they have a suggested itinerary but are very flexible in visiting other nearby attractions or in dropping portions of the recommended tour if you are not interested. Pat speaks fluent English, but because he is Thai, his English is heavily accented; so just be patient and ask him to repeat things, and you can eventually understand everything. Pat is an interesting character, a bit of a philosopher, and a proponent of the plight of people of the hill tribes. If you want an ordinary tourist experience, this is not the tour for you. But if you are adventurous, like to see different things, meet local folks, and want to experience some of the true culture of the hill people of Thailand, there is no finer tour available.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppylinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Memories are made of this..Thankyou”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Outstanding. Highly recommended for families...adventure..great food..and most importantly great company...thanks to "Ae' and "Od".

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank roamingmark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duaringa, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Thank you for making our Thailand trip special”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were looking for a tour that would be interesting, entertaining and informative and we certainly made the right choice with Hilltribe. Melissa was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, it was a pleasure to deal with her. Ae and Od were our guide and driver for the three day Chiang Mai trip and it was like travelling with old friends. They were knowledgable, helpful and fun to be with. Our 9 year old daughter missed them when we left the tour, they were wonderful and ever so patient with her. I would highly recommend this company. We can't wait to go back and do another trip with them, planning already.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Syrole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We are a family with two boys at the age of 10 and 7 1/2 having just recently enjoyed a wonderful four days tour with Pat and Winai.
It was our ambition to experience the real life off the beaten track in the North of Thailand but also to see important places like the Golden Triangle.
With their deep knowledge of the region, culture and people  Pat and Winai took us to places  we would not have seen if we travelled  on our own.  We were deeply impressed by the easy life and friendliness of the hilltribes, we fell in love with the amazing beauty of the country and we liked to taste excellent local food. Of course we were also riding elephants, we sipped very special coffee and talked to local people while visiting their homes.
After intensive days we were fully loaded with new experience. To all planning  to travel to the North of Thailand we highly recommend to talk to Mel and Pat to set up an individual tour.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Felice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thailand Hilltribe Holidays Private Tours also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Thailand Hilltribe Holidays Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing