We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST STAY HERE!”
Review of Cool Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cool Guesthouse
Ranked #91 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MUST STAY HERE!”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We did not know what to expect and luckily we fell into the most accommodating and cute guest house in a great part of the city. The owner knows a lot about wine and has a bunch of really good organic wines you can buy by the glass or bottle (a very rare thing to find anywhere in Thailand). It is located right near the old part of town and you can walk or bike (just take a free one from the house!) anywhere. Another thing that was really impressive was how great they were with helping plan our time in Chiang Mai. They were connected to all the great tour companies and had really well educated reviews on each one. AND we didn't feel pressured to take any of them... it was up to us and that was very refreshing. We told them what we like and in an hour we had everything planned for our full week there! They took care of all the scheduling and we just had to show up. I think Cool Guest House was responsible for creating some of the best moments we had traveling in Thailand. PLUS there is a great little Jazz Co-op bar 2 doors down that is really the best place to hang out at night and unwind. We will be back again and recommend it to all of our friends!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    79
    26
    17
    5
See reviews for
36
103
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poros, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed for one week in February 2012 and although the room (No 2) was comfortable and decorated in typical Lan Na style, it was like living in a goldfish bowl. The room is on the ground floor & has no outside space at all. The path to the other rooms & the laundry area was immediately outside the door and the open stairs, which ran horizontally, leading to the upstairs rooms, were about 1 mtr away from our window. Consequently we had to keep the curtains closed most of the time in order to have some privacy. The only other window was covered by an opaque mural & would'nt open, so it was dark. The maid service was excellent, however, and laundry that we left in the morning was back on our bed by the afternoon. Because there wasn't even a small patio area it was impossible to wash small items of clothing as there was nowhere to dry them at all. Towels were changed whenever we indicated that we wanted clean ones, by leaving the soiled ones on the floor, which was a good idea.

Breakfast was tasty but a bit haphazard. There aways seemed to be a member of staff sitting at one of the seats using a computer and sometimes we had a long wait.

I have to agree with an earlier reviewer who stayed in the same room - the gaps around the door let the mosquitoes in, and the garden area seemed to be more for the owners & staff than the guests. I like to have a rest late afternoon before going out for the evening but this was impossible. There were always members of staff out there talking and calling to one another & a small child riding a tricycle up and down & shouting, right outside. Whilst I appreciate that children have to play, there was no consideration for guests. On top of this they have a dog that is usually in the garden, that starts barking early in the morning & then all day, at guests coming & going as well as anyone else it doesn't know, so forget having a lie-in.

Having said all that it wouldn't take much to make Cool guesthouse a lovely place to stay but I would imagine that upstairs would be a better option. The gueshouse was far enough away from town to be quiet (we never heard any traffic noise) but close enough to have a leisurely stroll to dinner in the evenings.

The friendliest member of staff was the night porter who always greeted us with a big smile and had a laugh with us - he was a really nice guy.

Room Tip: I would advise an upper floor room as I think they may have a small outside area. Definitely not th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolguesthouse, Owner at Cool Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Hi, thanks for the review. All our rooms are open on a charming patio with a little tropical garden a bit like a motel. The laundry is more than 10 meters from your door room #2 and thanks for the compliment of the laundry efficiency, we know our guest stay here in average for 3 or 4 nights so we can ensure a laundry service in less than 10 hours (sometimes 6).
Due to a room improvement gap is cover on the door frame and mosquito natural repellent are available in your room as a free use of the fragrance lamp which one is a also a natural repellent. We are sorry but in Thailand there is mosquitoes.
The little kid is my daughter and as we are a GUEST HOUSE, we also sleep in a room not so far from your room, we are living in the sport to better serve our customer and word every day 12 hours a dat. Yes she play after school, sometimes, and as she a bit shy she quiet for a kid of her age. We also welcome and love families with kids (free stay and mattress up to 12 years old). Our dog Beep Beep doesn't bark much as you said, you can not imagine how many customers love him and take photos with him.
Also for a small guest house with only 7 rooms open we are paying a security guard to let open all night and allow check out even at 5am morning.
And yes I disagree with you Cool Guesthouse is charming and a lovely place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurrieq, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Will most definitely return to this guest house whenever I'll return to Chiang Mai! What distinguishes Cool Guest House from any other guest house is precisely the lovely people who work there and who make sure that you make the most of your holiday. The rooms are very basic, however they're also very comfortable and welcoming. We were traveling Thailand for 4 weeks and I had just finished traveling Australia, so we were definitely on a budget, and Cool Guest house provided the little luxury we could afford without spending a fortune. You do get two bottles of water everyday which we found helpful given you can't drink tap water in Thailand!! We always had clean towels, clean room and air conditioning ! Breakfast was lovely because it was homemade! Selection is limited and it wasn't free of charge either but then again it was always served with a smile and that's something that really matters to me :) Location of the hotel is extremely central and you can walk to practically anywhere within the historic district. Another reason why I fell in love with this place, is for the people at the travel agency who actually helped us plan the rest of our time round Thailand, without any pressure! We stayed there for a week, the advise we got from Nathalie (owner) and Nicky - Swiss woman living in Thailand - was absolutely priceless. Through the travel agency, we booked our trekking trip, which was absolutely amazing, cooking class, as well as the slow boat trip to Laos. Not to mention that after a short visit to Vietnam, we decided to go back to Thailand and visit the South of Thailand. Since we had had enough of hassles in Vietnam, we decided to contact Cool Guest House once again and they sorted out our last week in the South of Thailand via e-mail and phone! One more thing, you also get free bikes - I personally never used them since I prefer walking, however I'm sure it's a great way how to discover Chiang Mai, exercising and saving the planet & your pocket at the same time! Will definitely visit again !!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertie_29_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We had a very nice stay at Cool Guest House.
As soon we pushed the wooden garden's door, it took us into a charming tropical patio with orchids & palms trees, potteries displayed, goldfish fountains and 2 adorable green lovebirds. Very exotic ambiance.
The rooms were lightly decorated in an authentic warm Lanna Thaï style, providing all the details we were expected for as a big bed, warm water, a flat screen TV, fan, air-conditioned, safety box,free daily bottles of water, shower gel & shampoo dispenser, a hair dryer and also an aromatherapy lamp : we felt comfortable like at home !
We also were sensitive at their clever "green policies" like energy saving light bulbs using, towels cleaning on demand, key cards.
We stayed 6 days at Cool Guest House, well located in the historic center, enjoying the bicycle which were provided for free ! and also had fun by using the nice red tandem ! Thanks for the advice guys ! Their travel agency was helpful to arrange the rest of trips.
A super friendly staff served us for breakfast home made yogurts and locals fresh fruits juice with fresh baked bread even if we woke up a bit late sometimes...
We had a genuine crush for Cool Guest House and i understand better why it's a recommended frenchie place to stay : we will definitely come back guys !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingridandjarod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

I was in Chiang Mai once for 3 days only and decided that one day I would come back for a longer period. So in December 2011 I came back for 12 nights. As I travel a lot I usually stay in hotels or guesthouses and for this trip to Chiang Mai I decided to try some of well recomended guesthouses. That's how I came across the CGH website which turned out to be a big disapointment for me.

But let's start from the beginning. Let's start with my arrival. After a long three flights to get to Chiang Mai I was pleased to know that someone from the CGH would be awaiting me at the airport to pick me up. Yep, there was someone waiting for me but what a shock I had when it turned out to be a tuk tuk driver. I was very tired and never expected that a pick up transport would be a tuk tuk but I said to myself, well, never mind, don't let this spoil a beginning of your holidays. Just like I said, I was tired and all what I wanted was just sleep in a bed after 36 hrs of travelling.

A young Thai man checked me in for 12 nights. I was asked how would I like to pay and I said that by cash, upfront for 12 nights (and I regret that very next day!). I asked about a free bicycle rental as it was one of main reasons, why did I choose this guesthouse for my staying. The other reason was location - I volunteered in Viengping Children's Home and from this guesthouse it was only about 10 mins walk to Chang Phuak station for Mae Rim (yellow songthaew) where the orphanage is located and last reason was that this guesthouse has a travel agency as well. I was told that bicycles are free of charge for guests of the CGH. It turned out to be a lie, you have to pay deposit of 2,000 bath each time you want to use it, and also you have to fill out form that you take responsibility for damage/loss or if a bicycle is stolen. I would not mind to fill it out the forms but what I minded is that after making a photocopy of your passport and taking your credit card details by the CGH, you still must pay deposit for use of a bicycle that supposes to be free of charge.

I got room number 2, about 10 meters away from always busy and noisy main road and just few yards away from the Chang Phuak (North) Gate. My room seemed nice, there was an old TV (remote never worked), a small air conditioner fixed to a wall, an old and noisy but working air conditioner beside a bathroom. Everything seemed to be in order. I was not bothered with TV, though that a selection of a cable TV was very poor. There was no news channel which I always listen when I wake up. Also there was no kettle for making a nice cup of tea in the evenings or early mornings when you wake up. A small thing that is a must for me.

First night I did not get too much sleep as a small garden between a bar/restaurant and rooms was busy and noisy.This small garden is used as a living room for the owners and visitors as a smoking area. Nearly every night I was awaken by night staff making noise in their room - it was like moving furniture, I do not understand why it had to be done nearly every night around midnight and five o'clock in the morning. Speaking about five in the morning. There are three bird cages in a small garden, the birds start singing every day after five six in the morning, around same time a traffic starts on a road in front of a guest house.

First four nights I was bitten by mosquitoes during the night, though I used a mosquitoes spray. Fifth night I decided to buy a mosquitoes spray, so from now on each night before going to bed I sprayed the room and left for a walk for about 20 mins before going back to sleep. The reason? Look at the pictures... windows could not be closed properly, and there were big holes between the door and walls through which mosquitoes were coming in. The sixth night an old air conditioner started leaking water in the middle of the night. It was fixed on eight day of my staying.

At that stage I really was sorry that I had paid in advance, there was no refund and I did not fancy to pay extra for a new accommodation somewhere else.

Regarding to a drinking water, you were allowed two half litters bottles of water. I had to buy more water not only for drinking but for brushing teeth every day as well.

Also I didn't not expected my room being cleaned every day, but I did expect having at least towels changed every day or second day and bins taken away. From my 12 nights staying twice my room wasn't cleaned and was left with towels for two days and without water.

After so many bad experiences I didn't bother to book anything via their travel agency. I was quite unhappy over there. I used a travel agency in city centre for my trips around and also for a transport to the airport on my departure day.

Regarding to distances to attractions such as Night Bazaar is about 35 mins walk, Saturday Market about 30 mins walk, Sunday Market is about 20 mins walk away.

While I was staying over there I noticed that visitors stay maximum two three nights. I suppose if I had stayed for same period I wouldn't be so bothered but I stayed longer and I was bothered though it was firstly my stupidity that I paid in advance. Well, lesson learnt.

Would I recommend this place? Well, for a short stay, a night or two maybe, for longer stay, definitely not.

Room Tip: Rooms are too close to a main busy road beside the Chang Phuak Gate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnaKurcinova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolguesthouse, Owner at Cool Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Your review is full of inexactitudes and exaggeration:
Why you stay 12 nights if you don't like our guesthouse? You never come to talk to us during your stay, we are here everyday 12 hours at our office. And contrary at what you say: we can refund you at any time and help you to find another place. We will never refuse a refund because a guest doesn't like our guesthouse.
Bicycles are FREE, a one time security deposit of 1000 Thb by bicylce (not 2000 as you wrote) is asked to cover loss or breakage if needed. Security deposit is gived back after final use. Guest can keep bicycle even after check out until they go the airport or transportation station. We don't have credit card details of our guest even when they book by our website because we use paypal. The one who have details are the others booking company not us.

We are helping an orphanage also by entertaining orphans on Sunday too. Give a Children's Home a Great Day Out at Baan Praporn’ (House of Blessing).

In Thailand there is a lot of Tuk Tuk, it's a symbol of Thailand do you know it? And yes usually our guest are very happy to be picked up by a traditional Tuk Tuk. Are you not in holiday to relax and get something exotic and typical?

All our rooms have now 32 inches Sony flat TV with over 60 channels and Internet on TV with skype. Guest can access to all internet for free.

All our rooms have been fully redecorate and have double windows so now from the street which one is 20 meters far you don't hear nothing if you close correctly the two windows.

Yes the patio is fully available for guest until 10 to 11 pm and as our room are not smoking we welcome them to do it in the garden patio or at the breakfast area outside guesthouse area if it's later.

As you said one night they was noise, it s not our staff, it happened that a 50 years old French couple have a long dispute. It have been the first and only time we got this problem, my wife went out at 5 am to propose them for free a second room to separate them and ask them to remain quiet and respect guest. This is also our daily life: full commitment with guests and working everyday over 12 hours a day, this is what we need to do when we have a guesthouse and we are proudly doing it. Sometimes when we saw reviews of some guests we are thinking that we are almost devil and here for nothing. It's far to be like that. We apologize for this.

It happened that your aircon have a dripping problem, this problem can happen by condensation in tropical country, even it happened to me with brand new aircon. Again my wife went personally to wipe your room at 11pm and bring a technician to inspect it the next day around 10 am. We apologize for this too.

For the water we give for free every day a bottle of half liter of water to each guest, however we never refuse a third or more bottle if needed and simply asked. Again why you don't come to talk to us? We are here to listen and please our guest.

Regarding mosquitoes yes we have as every where In Thailand and we provide: natural spray and free use of our lamp diffuser.

We see you shoot a small Gecko in your bathroom, we are lucky to have them as they eat mosquitoes and doesn't bite people.

We are offering daily cleaning and change towels when you drop them at the floor, it's writing inside your closet as the others instructions. We sign with the Green hotel treaty that we try as much as we can to save the planet and don't wash towels when not needed. It's up to you to decided when you want us to wash it. Cleaning of the room can be done when staff is working 8am to 5pm, if you stay in your room all day long it's not possible, we will not disturb you.

Bottle of water are provided every day for free.

For the taxi, I suggest to all guest to take it in the street it s cheaper and we can speak in Thai where the guest want to go, we also ask the price before. Our guesthouse to airport is 60 Thb (1.5 euro or 2 usd) and Red taxi are happy to do it, it 's also a contribution to the small local business.

Respect to the location of our guesthouse we are in the perfect diagonal (X) center of Chiang Mai city when you see a map and at the north of the old city inside the moat.

Chiang Mai is the second or third city of Thailand, that mean: it's big! expect walking a bit in the no saturated and obstructed city compare to Bangkok where I was living 11 years. I love Chiang Mai because you can bike (i have an electric bicycle to not pollute).

We recommend our guest to go to Chinese Market instead of Night bazaar (far less touristic and much cheaper) and to not miss Sunday walking street just behind our guest house a 10 minutes walk using our free map we design specially for all guest staying with us. At Sunday walking street you can find handicraft really from Chiang Mai (OTOP certified).

We love help and give advise to our guest: again why did you not come to talk to us?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We had a nice stay at the Cool Guesthouse. We weren't exactly sure what to expect, but the large bed, with the relatively large room, A/C, and hot water made the stay enjoyable. The two bottle of free water each day helped too!! Especially when the days are hot, and the tap water is not potable!
The staff was super friendly, and very helpful. Nikki, who seems to run the associated travel agency (Cool Asia Travel) was great, and arranged not only our trips in Chiang Mai, but also those in other parts of Thailand. Though the breakfast menu was minimal and simple, what they did, they did well. (Just don't expect to have anything local to eat.) But it certainly was great to step out of the room and know you would have an almost entirely private meal (esp if you're up early!), served quickly with a smile on their face.
I have nothing bad to say about the Cool Guesthouse, though for anyone who wants to be in the center of things, this is a few blocks away from most of the interesting activities and is on one of the major roads. However, it is still walkable to pretty much everywhere, and is directly across the river from a bunch of delicious street food.
**Added bonus - if you go over Loy Krathong (in Nov), they wil help you make your own krathong to launch in the river!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Boi de Llobregat, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

the coolguesthouse is one of my favorites places to stay n chiang mai...perfect

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xaarsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Mai
11.6 mi away
Lanna Saithong Resort
Lanna Saithong Resort
#2 of 7 in San Sai
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Siriwan Guesthouse
Siriwan Guesthouse
#56 of 747 in Chiang Mai
75 reviews
0.9 mi away
All in 1 Guesthouse
All in 1 Guesthouse
#11 of 747 in Chiang Mai
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SK House 2
SK House 2
#96 of 747 in Chiang Mai
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 747 in Chiang Mai
474 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pha-Thai House
Pha-Thai House
#60 of 747 in Chiang Mai
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cool Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cool Guesthouse

Property: Cool Guesthouse
Address: 87 Sri Poom Rd - Sri Phum Changphuak Gate | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool Guesthouse is located in the exact middle of Chiang Mai, inside the moat of the old city at Chang pueak gate a 15 minutes drive from the airport, train or bus station. 10 minutes walking from Sunday Walking street, few minutes walking from the main temples. Recently re-decorated and improved (sound proofed double windows), we offer 7 rooms all nicely decorated with both air con and fan, 32 inches LCD TV with internet, webcam and skype build in, 60 international channel. Hot water, safe box, hair dryer, daily free bottle drinking water, daily cleaning, laundry service. Breakfast in a French style. Free bicycle and tandem use. Nathalie and Xavier will welcome you and advise for all your trip and transportation around Chiang Mai and Thailand. We are speaking English, French, Spanish and Thai. We are also recommended by "Le guide du routard 2012&2013" as "a coup de coeur". Our team and us will be happy to welcome and serve you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cool Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing