We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* accommodation at backpacker rates!”
Review of Green Hill Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Hill Place
Ranked #561 of 933 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Staying in Chiang Mai for a month we decided to check out renting an apartment to save some money and be able to prepare and cook our own meals from time to time. An agent took us to Green Hills and showed us 4 different apartments. The two in the newest block had kitchens but no cooking appliances or utensils but the apartments in the older block did so we chose a 38sqm studio apartment for 11000 baht a month. This equals about 300 baht a night – 5* accommodation at backpacker prices!

A spacious room but with lots of empty wasted space and although it had a kitchen with microwave, one ring electric stove, etc, there wasn’t a table and chairs to eat any food prepared so one of us would eat at the office desk and the other at the dressing table. The bathroom was large with an efficient hot shower. The aircon unit was quiet and efficient.

There is a coffee shop next to the restaurant which also serves meals at very reasonable prices until 8pm. There’s also a little minimart which again, charges very competitive prices. The only thing overcharged is the washing machines at 50 baht when the going rate elsewhere is 10-20 baht. There is nowhere to dry the washing within the apartment – we had to buy a rail.

Cleaning of the room costs 300 baht and it seems to just involve changing the bed linen and sweeping the floor. There’s a compulsory cleaning charge of 500 baht on departure. On arrival all the mirrors in our room were dirty and they remained that way when we left. Our feet were always dirty if we walked barefoot in the room so I don’t think the floors were ever washed. This was quite a disappointment given the standard of accommodation.

The pool is wonderful – clean, refreshing and pretty big. The downside is that there are only 6 sunloungers which have no cushions so are very uncomfortable, and 6 plastic chairs which are insufficient for the amount of people who need them. There is also only one sun umbrella for those of us who prefer not to fry in the tropical sun!

Nimmenheimen Road is a short walk away with plenty of coffee shops and restaurants (predominantly Japanese) and there are also local food stalls very close by. There is however, nowhere to buy meat, fruit and veg without getting a songthaew to a market or to Tesco Lotus.

There is a lot of aircraft noise but it is limited to reasonable hours of the day and there is a lot of building work in the area. Green Hills is currently building another unit of apartments and there is another site about 100m away with pile drivers going all day so for the present time it’s not too peaceful but I feel the other benefits together with a really good price compensate for this.

However, if we were to rent in Chiang Mai again, I think we’d try to find something closer to the Old Town though I suspect we would have to pay a bit more.

Room Tip: We had a north facing room which kept the room cool and the aircon prices down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MizzTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 43 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2012

I have been staying here for about a month and am pretty happy overall.

Some of the positives about this place is that it is semi-luxury at a non-luxury price. There is a nice fitness room with full free weight set and a variety of cardio machines for free with your stay, a large (maybe Olympic size?) swimming pool outside and a sundeck (you have to pay 50 baht each time to use it), a good convenience store, and a nice coffee shop.

The building is in excellent shape (I'm staying in Green Hill Place 2) and is very modern and new.

It is true that you have to pay for cleaning each time and in some of the other serviced long term apartments cleaning is free on a weekly basis. I still feel that it is a good value, it's just that they have fees set up a bit differently than many places.

Some people would complain about the location but with a motorbike I am very happy here. You would need a motorbike/car/bicycle or be very dependent on public transportation because it's rather far by foot from anything. I like it though because it is quite isolated (gated off actually) from the road and is close to the "chic" Ninanhamen area with great restaurants, places to go out, coffee shops, etc. By motorbike/car you are 5 minutes from the old city with Gaow Son Gheo shopping mall being about a 3 minute drive.

Sometimes there is noise from airplanes taking off at the airport nearby, that's a bit annoying.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the swimming pool, it's a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mavec41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This condominium is ok as far as cleanliness and security goes, TV with foreign channels is almost non existent, as the signal is being bought in Vietnam instead of Thailand, so every time a few drops of rain fall, or a windy day all the channels except the FREE Thai channels are disappearing. Sometimes for a period of 2-3 days. Try to complain it only falls on deaf ears. Definitively no good as far as customer sevice goes.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert293917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Clean and well- furnished apartment with reasonable price.
The swimming pool is bigger than I expect for this type of apartment.
Close to Nimman road that we can find good restaurant, good art shop.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eyepineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Thank 오 나
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank NEOGRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuleEis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.7 mi away
The Grand Napat
The Grand Napat
#70 of 392 in Chiang Mai
263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pattara Place
Pattara Place
#176 of 392 in Chiang Mai
42 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 392 in Chiang Mai
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#52 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,670 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel
3.0 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 392 in Chiang Mai
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Hill Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Hill Place

Address: 45/38, Moo.5, Super Highway Road | T. Changperk, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #561 of 933 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 54

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing