We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paris style restaurant in Chiang Mai”
Review of La Terrasse

La Terrasse
Ranked #29 of 2,069 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $22
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: French traditionnal cuisine in a Bistro's decor. French Chef and exclusively fresh products. Jazz music atmosphere
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Paris style restaurant in Chiang Mai”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I enjoyed an excellent meal here with my wife on friday. I had french onion soup and beef bourguignon and my wife smoked salmon tapas and tarragon chicken. Staff were extremely helpful and the jazz music added to a very pleasant atmosphere.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank oliver r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean jacques t, Owner at La Terrasse, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you Oliver to take time to write a review. We hope you will come back Chiang Mai after your trip in Laos.

See you soon.

Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    145
    38
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent French restaurant”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

La Terrasse is an intimate small restaurant near Loi Khro Road. The food was really great. Staff is efficient and friendly. The French chef makes sure you feel welcome. A place to go back again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Henriette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean jacques t, Owner at La Terrasse, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I hope you will come back Chiang Mai next year.

Best regard

Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Breath of fresh air!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Deliciously cooked french cuisine in a quiet off-road from all the ruckus, attentive and quick service, bit pricey in comparison to the regular restaurants. Worth every penny, would go back here and recommend it highly!

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean jacques t, Owner at La Terrasse, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. The staff and are glad that you enjoyed your dinner.

See you on your next trip in Chiang Mai

Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Compelled to comment.”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I have just completed my first dining experience at La Terrasse and felt I must comment. The pâté is spectacular and the in house cooked bread a treat. The duck breast tender and juicy complimented by a wonderful sauce. The creme brûlée creamy and smooth with a beautifully crisped capping. The house red is very quaffable, and at the chefs suggestion, a lovely Calvados to round out the feast. The total cost (with 2 glasses of the red) less than 40 AUD! If this restaurant was in Paris I would have been happy to find it. If it was in my home town in Aus I would visit every week but would expect to pay 3 or 4 times the price. If you are in Chiang Mai and looking for something out of the ordinary with an epicurian edge, do yourself a favour and visit La Terrasse. Oh, and skip lunch, the serves are generous and 3 courses a minimum!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean jacques t, Owner at La Terrasse, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. The next time that you come back to La Terrasse, you have to test, the duck confit, the chocolate mousse and try the Armagnac.

See you soon

Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
“U've got it all..”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I think I don't need to go to France to indulge myself to french cuisine,the food was really great here. The place was small but cozy just right for a lovely dinner with family and friends. English speaking and friendly staff was a big help as we don't speak thai..A place you must try when you visit Chiang Mai.
진구들,여기 프랑스 움식 정말 맛있다!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ri Ja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean jacques t, Owner at La Terrasse, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your comment. My staff and i are pleased to welcome Asian tourists and to give them an insight of France by quality French cuisine and affordable price.

Merci beaucoup

Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terrasse also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to La Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing