We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nice place to have dinner"”
Review of La Terrasse

La Terrasse
Ranked #29 of 2,069 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $22
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: French traditionnal cuisine in a Bistro's decor. French Chef and exclusively fresh products. Jazz music atmosphere
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
“"Nice place to have dinner"”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Friendly staff and could speak English.
Tasty food and good place to have dinner,relax atmosphere and don't hear much the noise of tuktuk's and car passing by the road.
I highly recommended La Terrasse if you are looking for a good experience and good food in Chiang mai.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 182Kristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    145
    38
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
292 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Wonderful French”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Very good French food. Pricey for Thailand, but in the US this dinner would have cost three times as much. If you are in the mood for French, I would definitely recommend it. Nice atmosphere too. Could have been in France!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderLSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to Eat and Enjoy a evening.”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Brilliant food, tasty and a wonderful experience with Continental food. Delicious food, the ambience was beautiful, excellent staff and all kind of drink was available according to individual taste. It was a situated besides a beautiful lake.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SujitChakravarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great French”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Beautiful French restaurant and food. I ordered the the Coq a Vin and it was very good, needed a little salt but thats easy to add. Wife ordered the sea bream wife a tarragon cream sauce and she loved it. I started with the parma ham with bread and gherkins. The ham was delicious and came on top of buttered fresh bread, which was also delicious (the gherkin was terrible...). Wife ended the meal with a cheese plate and loved it all. For all that and a few glasses of wine we finished around 1800THB, which is a third the cost we would have paid in the US. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELLINGHAM
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“J'adore!!!!!!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We ate here with friends. We all thought it was wonderful Then we changed hotels and ended up across the street from La Terrasse - so I ate here three more times. Because the food is really THAT AMAZING!!!!! The coq au vin is to die for (get it with the fabulous mashed potatoes). The Basque chicken with ratatouille is wonderful. The assiette plates are enough for a light dinner. The kir is perfect.

And the desserts. OMG, they should be served in heaven!!! The apple tart is flambéed in Calvados and served with ice cream!!! The mousse au chocolat is deep and dark and creamy!!! And each diner receives an incredible chocolate made by an Austrian chocolatiere living in Chiang Mai.

I met the chef, Jean-Jacques, who is a sweetheart; the chocolatiere is also an interesting man to chat with; and the staff became my friends away from home as I sat and enjoyed meal after meal while my husband went down the road looking for the perfect burger. I preferred to enjoy fabulous French food, bistro style, in the middle of northern Thailand.

So go. Eat. Enjoy. FABULOUS!!!!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phebess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terrasse also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to La Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing