We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
Ranked #44 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

What a little gem this hotel is. The staff are very helpful and the rooms just wonderful. Huge comfortable bed, large ensuite and in a very quiet but handy street. Just a short stroll to the Sunday market and the regular night market. There is a little restaurant just up the road that serves beautiful cheap meals. Granted the pool is not very inviting but I didn't go the Chiang Mai for a swim. Very reasonable rates and well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippamadonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    210
    38
    14
    4
See reviews for
76
262
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

It was a very good experience with De Chai The Colonial Hotel:
- Superb services, staffs are very nice and supportive.
- Size of room is much bigger than I expected, the view is superb on the 5th floor,
- Bed and bath tub is very comfortable,
- Wifi is fast and stable.

Highly recommended!!

Some minor issue, the hotel is not famous, many drivers dont know the address. Breakfast choices is not much, but the order-to-make dishes are good. The pool is kinda small, this hotel is not for pool lovers.

Little suggestion to management, the roof top can be decoration to a leisure area for customers, dont waste the 360 view of Chiang Mai City =)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and thought it was a great value. The location is good, within a 10 minute walk of most areas-night bazaar, sunday walking street, and good restaurants. We stayed in the deluxe double and thought the room was very large and roomy. The room has a very modern design with unique Thai touches. The service at the hotel was excellent and the breakfast was nice. The breakfast buffet has fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, danishes and hot options. You can also order specialty items like eggs, bacon, and waffles/pancakes. :) The staff were very helpful in arranging taxis, drivers for the day, and tuk tuks. We would definitely recommend this hotel as a great option in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We loved this hotel. When the taxi turned off the main street and went down an alley we weren't sure what to expect but then we pulled up to the entrance and we were thrilled. It's relatively new. It has a small but beautiful reception area with relaxing water features, couches and welcome drinks while you wait to be checked in. The staff are so welcoming. They go out of their way to help with a friendly smile. They have a very interesting pool and the room we had was spacious, beautifully decorated and had some fun, quirky features. Breakfast was lovely with a choice of fruits, cereals, tea and coffee as well as eggs, pancakes etc. cooked fresh in the kitchen. On closer inspection, the street it was on was quaint and homely. A short alley with no street lights but was lit by the lights coming from houses, restaurants and hostels, it was gorgeous at night and we felt very safe day and night. The hotel is just outside the walls of the old city and is very central. A short walk from restaurants and bars and very close to the bars and restaurants of the old city.It is also very close to the market area which is a great stroll for food, shopping and drinks at night! Everything is within walking distance but tuk tuks are readily available if you run out of steam!! This really is a beautiful hotel and we were very happy with the price we paid for such a lovely establishment. Stay here!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhappy1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Rcenently Stayed for 6 nights on our honeymoon

Good
Rooms excellent - clean, spacious & soft beds
Service excellent - staff willing to help with everything
Location is close to the markets but also some of the seedy nightlgiht

Bad
Breakfast is only until 10 and not that great- but service is quick
The pool is in a strange location and not really inviting
Can be a little hard to find
Could hear alot of noise from the a hallway and adjoining rooms- this would be distrubing if the hotel was busy

Overall, while this is a nice, comfortable hotel for exploring the markets and old city I think it is a little over priced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morganlee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

this is nice hotel, only open for 2 years, friendly staff, great location, yet, the breakfast is not that good..this hotel request 7 days in advance for any changes and cancellation which is quite long compare with others.

i booked taxi from hotel to airport, but the taxi were late for 10 mintus, the hotel staff arranged their own car (a jeep) send me to the airport, with same charge 150... very nice.

thanks
..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chermei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel is modern and very nice, with an excellent, large room and bathroom, good bed and easily operated controls for A/C, lights, etc. Staff is friendly and helpful. Its location is very convenient - easy walking distance to Old City attractions, Night Market and many restaurants. Breakfast buffet is good, and additional items such as omelets, hash browns and waffles, can be ordered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 381 in Chiang Mai
947 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#36 of 381 in Chiang Mai
957 reviews
0.1 mi away
BanThai Village
BanThai Village
#38 of 381 in Chiang Mai
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,814 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#42 of 381 in Chiang Mai
912 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#40 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Chai The Colonial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Chai The Colonial Hotel

Property: De Chai The Colonial Hotel
Address: 6 / 3 Thapae Road. Soi 4 | Changklan Maung, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Chai The Colonial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Chiang Mai city on the most popular Thapae Road, the city’s main thoroughfare display many of unique and urban shop that had been flourishing along the classic one-way road. Just ten minutes by walk away is fantastic shopping venues Chaing Mai Night Bazaar as well as charming Sunday walking street, or stroll to antique Lanna Temple and the 100 Years market "Kad Luang", you can find everything you need at here! Furthermore, only a five to ten minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Chai The Colonial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing