We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautifullly decorated hotel, new, modern, and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
Ranked #37 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed here in January 2012, but didn't have time to review it until now. I absolutely loved this place. The room is really spacious and comfortable. It has nice tall ceiling, great lighting, and very tasteful and modern decor. The whole hotel looked really new. All staff in the hotel were really friendly and helpful. We needed our laundry done, and there is a laundry place just 1 minute walk outside the hotel. The lady there did our laundry and it was ready within a couple of hours. I really loved this place. The only negative I can think of is that air night when it was so quiet, I could hear a bit of air-con noise, but it wasn't bad at all.

If I go back to Chiang Mai again, this will definitely be the place where I'm staying!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
There are newer reviews for De Chai The Colonial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 496 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel in itself is nice with a clean room and bathroom and the location is great as well, just off a big road and yet very quiet. The only thing that disappointed us was the breakfast, it's not exactly a rich buffet, although it does offer a little more than the bare essentials. If you want you can get eggs, French toast, a waffle or pancake, but you can tell the cook isn't really used to making these.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kurt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay. The positives: walkable distance to the night market and to Thaepae Gate of the Old City; the quality matress was very comfortable; the temperature ( AC) was truly controllable from your own room; having a shower and a tub. The negatives were: lots of mosquitoes in the room when we arrived; the design of the bed with the wooden ledge all around made it hard NOT to bruise your shins on it; the breakfast room is very small. This hotel is more of a boutique hotel where you have more personalized service. Breakfast was simple, selection was small, but everything was fresh and delicious, and eggs were made and cooked to perfection. We would recommend this hotel if you want this location, but next time we would like to try staying right inside the Old City.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sndra88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We got a recommendation from our friends and were glad we stayed in this hotel. It's a tastefully designed in a historical style, yet very modern in every aspect, it's very clean, located on a quiet street in a central area. The hotel is not so big so there's a tranquil atmosphere. The staff is very helpful and courteous. Their breakfast is tasty. The only downside - the swimming pool was very small and seen from the entrance, so it felt less comfortable than we expected.
It's an excellent place to stay in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YuliaAndRoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed @ De Chai for 3 nights in December 2012 while on a roundtrip in SE Asia. Overall, we had a good experience and would stay again.

Location:
The hotel is located a couple minutes walk from the Thapae gate where you can enter the the historical part of the city. It is located halfway down a small side soi, so might be a bit difficult to find at first, but every songthaew or tuktuk driver we encountered immediatly knew where to go, so no problems there. It is also within walking distance to the nightmarket / eatery area around Chang Klang road. Restaurants and bars can also be found abundantly on Moon Muang road and Sridonchai road. Finally there's a couple of nice places to eat down Thapae road itself (inside the old town).


Room:
The room we stayed in was very modern, spacious, nicely decorated, and well equipped. It features a large and well made bed as well as a small sitting area. The bathroom is also modern and has all the amenities one needs. There is room for improvement however in the sound isolation of the rooms; we frequently heard doors slamming shut during the night.


Breakfast:
The hotel serves a buffet breakfast in their restaurant near the lobby. Although the choice of foods was not as wide as you usually see at buffet breakfasts, this was no problem at all, as the quality of all the food available was great, so it did not get boring at all. A couple of things like eggs / omelet or pancakes will be made to order. The coffee is quite reasonable as well.


Services:
We made use of several hotel services. We went to the spa to get a Thai massage, and although it was a tad more expensive than what you would find roadside, the massage was really good quality and was really a good experience. Furthermore we also used the hotel's laundry service and we had nothing to complain about that as well; everything received clean and pressed, as expected. The staff at the hotel reception was friendly and very helpful in arranging transfer to the airport, storing our bags at check-in (we came in very early from the night train) , and again at check-out (evening flight).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0epMeloen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stay in August 2012, me and my sister.
Clean, friendly staff and very well located (between night market and down town) a walk distance (+- 10 minutes). Located in a quiet neighborhood.Wi-fi poor in the room, but working near the rooters in lobby and stairs. I could call friends and family trough tribair.
We have booked a tuk tuk to visit all atraction as umbrella village, jewlery factory, silk factory and others place (these shops/factories are all in the same main street).
Average assorted breakfast but good.
Bathroom with shower in oone side and bathtub in the other, hot wather allways available.
Lower bed, watch out your feet, once you knock with your feet on the bed you will remember to be more careful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GIlberto E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel and found it very modern and clean and in a pretty good location within walking distance to the night bazaar however we found it to be very noisy. Doors slamming at all hours of the day and night due to the accoustics of the hotel. Breakfast was pretty good but the breakfast room was quite small. Also the fitness centre was non existent.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor as the ones on the lower levels are very noisy
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuegalCoffsHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#31 of 388 in Chiang Mai
971 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,872 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 388 in Chiang Mai
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#36 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#45 of 388 in Chiang Mai
938 reviews
0.1 mi away
BanThai Village
BanThai Village
#43 of 388 in Chiang Mai
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Chai The Colonial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Chai The Colonial Hotel

Address: 6 / 3 Thapae Road. Soi 4 | Changklan Maung, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $68 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Chai The Colonial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Chiang Mai city on the most popular Thapae Road, the city’s main thoroughfare display many of unique and urban shop that had been flourishing along the classic one-way road. Just ten minutes by walk away is fantastic shopping venues Chaing Mai Night Bazaar as well as charming Sunday walking street, or stroll to antique Lanna Temple and the 100 Years market "Kad Luang", you can find everything you need at here! Furthermore, only a five to ten minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Chai The Colonial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing