We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely designed compact hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
Ranked #34 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed in this hotel when it had just opened, so they had a few bugs to iron out with the service, however everyone tried to be helpful and was very pleasant. The room was a reasonable size and very nicely decorated with great equipment and furnishings, eg: flat-screen TV, comfortable bedding, good lighting, safe, drinks, tea&coffee making etc. Lots of big opening windows (but no balcony). The hotel has a pool but it is right at the front of the hotel and awkwardly located under the building overhang. The gym/spa facilities were not operating yet so can't comment. Only breakfast was served (no other meals) and the restaurant was quite compact but the breakfast was of good quality.
The hotel is in a quiet side-street, not far from Tha Phae gate and walking distance to night markets and Sunday market and restaurants - an excellent location. We needed just to walk out to the end of the street to get a taxi. We just had trouble getting a taxi upon departure and we also noticed they had a tuk-tuk but we had trouble communicating with the driver to find out where they went, but that was our only problem.
Overall this hotel offers excellent value for money, with lovely rooms in a great location.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globerwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 528 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

Overall we had a good experience staying at De Chai. Nicely decorated in colonial style as the name suggests. We had two room suite. They had double Japnese style bed, a wardrobe, study table, a couch and LCD TV. The lighting was very tasteful. They even have iPod stand for music lovers. The hotel gives free WiFi access. For smokers, the complete hotel is non smoking and you can only smoke outside the premises. Toilets were clean with a Jaccuzi and a separate shower area. The hotel also has a nice Spa where you can get several treatments to relax yourself. Breakfast (include with the rent) was average. Not too much variety. Staff is very courteous and polite. They can speak English well so we never faced communication issue. Another issue is that hotel does not have their own parking. If you are renting a car or motorbike they hotel will arrange parking at some other place with a charge. For people interested in bringing "Lady Joiner", hotel will charge extra 800 baht.
The location is nice and within the walking distance from Night Bazar and Old City. The tour desk in the hotel is recommended since the rates they offer are usually less than what is offered in the market.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PakiNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Newly established hotel with good decor and clean rooms.
Found the hotel as good value for money.
Staff friendly and breakfasts pretty ok!
Generally very pleased.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 2Highflyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

De Chai may have upsold us a room on our on spec. arrival, (they told us there were no 2100 baht rooms available although they were showing on Agoda), but for £7 it was worth it as we got a lot more space for our money.

The rooms are very well designed. Bathrooms opening into the bedroom seems to be a common feature of Thai hotels, but De Chai had the best design we came across (and that includes the Bangkok Hansar) with the loo discretely tucked away in the corner, never to be seen from the bedroom, and the two sliding doors enabling the bathroom to be disconnected such that a middle of the night light in it would not disturb a sleeper. The bed was large and comfortable, robes and slippers were provided and the aircon nice and quiet.

Breakfast wasn't as varied as other places, but this was low season and I would prefer to see them limit choice a little than waste food. It was more than adequate.

The staff were very obliging, but occasionally seemed a little nervous - something a little more training would fix.

I think it was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Don't go for the bottom rate room - you'll enjoy the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy-looo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

The hotel is a few minutes’ walk from the night market located in a very calm area. The rooms are stunning beautiful with modern interiors, clean, and spacious with free wifi. Breakfast was good. The hotel staff are caring, helpful and understood English. Breakfast was good.It has a good spa but little pricey.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgedubai2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeChaiHotel, Guest Service Agent at De Chai The Colonial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Thank you for your impressive react.
We wish you enjoy your trip everywhere, but do not forget to visit us again when you visited Thailand.
Have a nice day!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Very spacious and roomy I was totally happy...free wi-fi. Fast check-in, friendly staff, about 10 minute walking distance to walking night market. Down a quiet street walking either way will lead you to a major road. Pool area is right next to the lobby small but I did not use it. Stayed in a Superior Plus room, great large bathroom...Would stay again absolutely.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jquest1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeChaiHotel, Guest Service Agent at De Chai The Colonial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Thank you for your review.
We hope to welcome you again when you visit Chiang Mai and would be appreiated if you share your happiness while you are staying with us to your friends. Have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We booked our accomodation on Agoda purely on price and based on the photos, we weren't disappointed, it is beautiful and tucked away.
From the moment we were picked up at the airport in the most fitted out van we've ever travelled in till the moment we grooved back to the airport we were looked after.
We found the staff extremely friendly and helpful, they chatted where possible and helped us with any enquiries, the recommendation of the laundry lady down the Soi was spot on, didn't use the tour desk in the lobby.
Rooms were clean and well fitted out, the flatscreen TV and DVD player was handy to check out our DVD's from the market, it's only 5 min walk to the old city and 15 minutes to the Night Bazaar, breakfasts were great and cooked breakfasts were available on request, the fruits were delicious.
We stayed there 8 nights and loved every minute of it. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saykiaora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeChaiHotel, Guest Service Agent at De Chai The Colonial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2011

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your temporary home during your trip. We hope you will stay with us again in the near future when you visit Chiang Mai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,008 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,014 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
0.2 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,348 reviews
2.2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Chai The Colonial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Chai The Colonial Hotel

Address: 6 / 3 Thapae Road. Soi 4 | Changklan Maung, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $81 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Chai The Colonial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Chiang Mai city on the most popular Thapae Road, the city’s main thoroughfare display many of unique and urban shop that had been flourishing along the classic one-way road. Just ten minutes by walk away is fantastic shopping venues Chaing Mai Night Bazaar as well as charming Sunday walking street, or stroll to antique Lanna Temple and the 100 Years market "Kad Luang", you can find everything you need at here! Furthermore, only a five to ten minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your De Chai The Colonial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing