We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$39
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveler rating
301
266
45
16
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
301
266
45
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chai great location night bazaar old city side street thapae gate would stay again deluxe room air con hot water highly recommend this hotel big room laundry service breakfast was included rotee massage alley
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
468 - 473 of 634 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Very spacious and roomy I was totally happy...free wi-fi. Fast check-in, friendly staff, about 10 minute walking distance to walking night market. Down a quiet street walking either way will lead you to a major road. Pool area is right next to the lobby small but I did not use it. Stayed in a Superior Plus room, great large bathroom...Would stay again absolutely.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jquest1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeChaiHotel, Guest Service Agent at De Chai Colonial Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Thank you for your review.
We hope to welcome you again when you visit Chiang Mai and would be appreiated if you share your happiness while you are staying with us to your friends. Have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We booked our accomodation on Agoda purely on price and based on the photos, we weren't disappointed, it is beautiful and tucked away.
From the moment we were picked up at the airport in the most fitted out van we've ever travelled in till the moment we grooved back to the airport we were looked after.
We found the staff extremely friendly and helpful, they chatted where possible and helped us with any enquiries, the recommendation of the laundry lady down the Soi was spot on, didn't use the tour desk in the lobby.
Rooms were clean and well fitted out, the flatscreen TV and DVD player was handy to check out our DVD's from the market, it's only 5 min walk to the old city and 15 minutes to the Night Bazaar, breakfasts were great and cooked breakfasts were available on request, the fruits were delicious.
We stayed there 8 nights and loved every minute of it. Thanks to all the staff.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saykiaora
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeChaiHotel, Guest Service Agent at De Chai Colonial Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2011

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your temporary home during your trip. We hope you will stay with us again in the near future when you visit Chiang Mai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

De Chai had such comfy beds and pillows! The rooms had great interior and plasmas with variety of channels. We had such a fantastic stay here! It was great to do all the adventures up in the mountains and be able to come back to a relaxing swim and drinks by the pool at the hotel! Breakfast is superb! Cleanliness is throughout! Night bazaar within walking distance! It felt like we were staying at a five star hotel without spending over our budget! If you're in Chiang Mai, definitely stay at De Chai! We're definitely coming back here!

P.S shout out to the tour desk at the hotel, they're outstandingly helpful! Also to the rotti couple selling rotti on the corner at the entrance of the soi! They've been there for over 21years and make awesome rotti with condense milk, choc syrup and bananas!! :D

Date of stay: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luckypop22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

In fact this is in many respects a five star hotel, but without the impersonal service of many of the real big five star hotels.
Brand-new hotel (less than 1 year) in a very quiet side-street, just a few hundred meters outside the eastern city wall. Everything expected and needed (and even more) is available. Large rooms, extremely tasteful and modernly decorated with an eye for detail. Great and strong showers, nice bathtub. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Aircon is very powerful and relatively noisy. Free WiFi throughout the hotel. Very good and cheap in-house massage-facilities (currently with promotional price). Swimming pool (covered and rather small; seems to be more for decoration). Breakfast buffet is relatively modest. Staff is very friendly and helpful. If you don't mind to spend more money than really needed for decent accommodation in central Chiang Mai, then don't hesitate to go to De Chai !

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelNieuwegein
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

This is a lovely, boutique hotel in a great location on a small street without the tuk tuk noise of Chiang Mai and good value. It is a new, clean contemporary hotel with flat screen TVs, wifi, quiet rooms, and large modern bathrooms. The spa has a high standard of professionalism and highly recommended. The staff is charming and very helpful but perhaps not as polished as well trained staff in big chain hotels if that is important to you. The restaurant provides nice lunch and dinner choices though basic anat very reasonable priced.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c0verst0ry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews