We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique charming little hotel”
Review of The Rim Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rim Resort
Ranked #29 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great airport pick up ( very nearby), charming small hotel with pool and nice characterful rooms with balconies. Food was also nice and cocktails/wine enjoyable. Free ride into evening market was a bonus and large mall nearby by taxi. Loved breakfast and there was a small gym on site too. Lots of mosquitos but they provide coils, sprays so wasn't a big problem if you used repellant

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank sankes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 715 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in September 2013. The room was gorgeous, the staff were amazing, the service was excellent. We ate in the Canal restaurant one night with our accommodation package. The food was absolutely beautiful - all of it. We had the Thai menu - 3 courses and a lovely bottle of local white wine. If you are game, try the little "pop up" outdoor restaurant about 10 mins walk away. From the front of the hotel driveway, go left for around 10 mins, this restaurant is only there after around 4.30 pm in the afternoon, before that, it is just a bare patch of bitumen. The food was outstanding, two main meals and a bottle of water for 80 THB!! If you get the chance, we highly recommend doing a day trip to the Elephant Nature Park. Chiang Mai, The Rim Resort, The night markets and the Elephant Nature park was definitely the highlight of our trip toThailand. Loved it!!!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I've been to Chiang Mai many times and this has been my favourite hotel so far. The location is good (ten minutes walking distance to most places in the old city). Don't let the noisy traffic outside deter you cause if you take a room overlooking the pool it's very, very quiet. Very friendly and professional staff. I love the Lanna touches in the hotel. Breakfast good. The only thing that would be nice is if they would have more tables outside for breakfast: the tables near the pool would be great for this! Spacious room with nice bathroom and great balcony overlooking the pool. Would definitely recommend and stay again!

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nebukatnesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great place and highly recommended.

1) Nice large rooms and bathrooms with balcony. Clean and nicely decorated, modern.
2) Beautiful pool area. Food and drinks available. Shaded and relaxing. The sound of the water bubbling is very soothing. Really an amazing pool!!
3) Breakfast was good with large buffet of hot dishes (thai dishes of rice/eggs or egg noodles), pancakes, cereals, and they'll make eggs on request.
4) Helpful staff. Will help you find transportation/tours. Very nice and friendly.


Tip: About 3/4 of the hotel rooms surround the pool, but there are 5-10 that don't (they are next to the lobby/restaurant, on both sides) Recommend ensuring you ask for one with a balcony around the pool.

One thing to know is that this is located in the old town (good!), but it is on the side opposite of most the action. Most of the activity in the town is on the east side of the old-town. Now, the old town is only ~1 mile across.. so it isn't a long ways, but it is on the quieter side of the old town. We liked it as it was peaceful at the hotel, and we walked across, or took a tuk (about 100baht ($3)). Both are easy to do but something to be aware of as most of your dinners, tour operator info booths, wandering about shopping - are going to be about 1/2 mile across the old-town.

Room Tip: Tip: About 3/4 of the hotel rooms surround the pool, but there are 5-10 that don't (they are ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plexiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The staff is helpful and polite, the bedroom was clean and the breakfast was great! They help us with everything we need, from maps and tips to where to go to renting motorbikes. They have internet in all the room in the hotel and security that will help you to get a taxi/tuk-tuk for a good price.
The location is the best, next to all the big temples and in the old city. If you rent a motorbike, it's easy to arrive and to leave from there. If you are looking for somewhere to feel like at home but with all the cleaning and cooking made by someone else, this is your place!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iMarina87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The rim was a lovely hotel on the outside of the square of chiang Mai. The buildings were all beautiful. The bedrooms were large with a good size bathroom.

There is a small ish pool in the middle of the hotel with several sun loungers, it was always very peaceful and nice to cool off in. Only ever one or two others in the pool.

The hotel is walking distance to some of the temples but not in the busiest part of chiang mai, they offered a free bus to the night market if wanted each night and a tuk tuk back was reasonable at 100b.

A loveley hotel with great staff

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dabbott84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Nice rooms, excellent buffet breakfast, gym, helpful staff, very clean, conveniently located. This was a perfect hotel for the first place we landed in Thailand. It was relaxing and helped us to get our bearings before moving on to other cities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lj474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.9 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#33 of 393 in Chiang Mai
995 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,007 reviews
3.2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#16 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,494 reviews
1.9 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rim Resort

Address: 51/2 Arrak Road | Phrasingh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#34 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $111 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rim Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rim Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing