We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel on the outskirts of Chiang Mai”
Review of The Rim Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rim Resort
Ranked #28 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The rim was a lovely hotel on the outside of the square of chiang Mai. The buildings were all beautiful. The bedrooms were large with a good size bathroom.

There is a small ish pool in the middle of the hotel with several sun loungers, it was always very peaceful and nice to cool off in. Only ever one or two others in the pool.

The hotel is walking distance to some of the temples but not in the busiest part of chiang mai, they offered a free bus to the night market if wanted each night and a tuk tuk back was reasonable at 100b.

A loveley hotel with great staff

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dabbott84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
There are newer reviews for The Rim Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 701 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

Nice rooms, excellent buffet breakfast, gym, helpful staff, very clean, conveniently located. This was a perfect hotel for the first place we landed in Thailand. It was relaxing and helped us to get our bearings before moving on to other cities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lj474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Lovey rooms, great bathroom, enough hot water, and a nice balcony. Beautiful pool ( but refreshing cold) and helpful staff. The free transport to the night markets, and walking markets a plus -- but reserve your seats early.
The food was excellent ,breakfast excellent and even had cheese omelets, be early for the croissants.
Looking for a change of pace from Thai food the burger special was expensive for Thailand( 250 B) but excellent and welcome after 20 days of native meals. Thai meals in the $5.00 range.
A big recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadaMara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I simply can't gush enough about this place! Right off the road but once you walk in, it's like you've entered an oasis that is so peaceful and beautiful. Rooms are large and lovely; staff are simply amazing - they go out of their way to ensure you are comfortable; breakfast was lovely and location is also ideal. Several restaurants nearby but away from the noisy bar areas. So easy to get around with the tuk-tuks. The only problem was the water heater which would go from ice cold to scalding hot in seconds....the management should really see to that. Other than that, simply perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Rim is a small, boutique hotel. Beautiful and calm. The staff was very helpful and the room service promt. We had the junior suite which was amazing and we didn't want much more from the hotel. Located on the top floor, big bathroom, jaccuzi, minibar, coffeemachine, big balcony, big plasma, dvd... beautiful interior. If you usually like to hang out in the hotel, there isn't much going on. The food was really good. It feels like they could attract more people with this beautiful building, more entertainment in the evenings for example.The pool was not appealing to the children, the gym was a tiny room with a running machine. The only thing I didn't like was the quality of the breakfast, could be improved.

Room Tip: The junior suite!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessSchN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here on two seperate occasions during our trip for three days total. The customer service is excellent, the breakfast was delicious with a wide variety of options, the rooms were so comfy and big. Both times ours looked over the pool which provided such a soft trickling water sound at night. The location is ideal, just a quick taxi ride and you're in the city. There's a local laundry place across the street that will wash your clothes by the pound. Super cheap and they did a great job, everything was clean and smelled great!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

It's very good value and we enjoyed our stay, it's not the Chedi but neither is the price. Staff are very nice and friendly all taking time to chat to the children, breakfast was good and the omelette was dine to perfection. I liked the hotel a lot and would be more than happy to stay again. Great value and good location

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.8 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 386 in Chiang Mai
983 reviews
0.9 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#31 of 386 in Chiang Mai
970 reviews
0.6 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.2 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 386 in Chiang Mai
764 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rim Resort

Address: 51/2 Arrak Road | Phrasingh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#34 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $93 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rim Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Rim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rim Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing