We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful unique resort”
Review of The Rim Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rim Resort
Ranked #29 of 403 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The rim resort was a beautiful place to stay in a very charming town. The staff was very accommodating. It is located within the old city walls but on the quieter side of town. If you are looking to be in the center of activity this is not it. But if you want a quiet retreat it is very beautiful and there is a shuttle every night to the night market and stuff on other side of town.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jinmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 739 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We were here in August 2013. This used to be the quiet season, but not anymore. A couple of direct flights daily from China to Chiang Mai are catering for the growing Chinese middle class. The Rim was also fully booked. The pool is nice, but too small, when there is a full house. This the only small complained that we had. Plus the beds were a bit too hard for our taste.
On the plus side: location a short tuk tuk ride from all places worthwhile in Central CM. Breakfast ok. We tried the restaurant once and were positively surprised. Staff Well trained. Prices vs quality when
we were there, were on the high side when we were there, but that is all a function of supplement and demand.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Przlwalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at The Rim Resort for 2 nights July 27th and 28th 2013. The hotel has a nice feel to it, not too big, rooms spacious and huge bathrooms. Balcony is a good size too.
Mosquitos can be bad in rainy season but there is insect spray and mosquito coils in your room.
The lobby is a unique design with lovely huge old teak tree trunks as a feature. The location is really good for getting around the city.

Staff are helpful and friendly, breakfast was a good choice of the usual continental buffet style and choice of eggs, bacon etc ordered off the menu.
A good value for money resort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gismo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Based on the hotel alone, the rating would have been a five, but taking into account location I can only give a four.

The hotel itself is a boutique style lanna hotel, based on the perimeter of the old city on the West. We were upgraded to a deluxe room. It was very spacious and had a small outdoor area with a seat and a table overlooking the garden. I would recommend you asking for a room overlooking the pool as I suspect that there would be more natural sunlight. Our double room was actually a twin room with two beds pushed together. This was done perfectly well and there was no uncomfortable gap in the middle, and meant our bed was huge. There are toiletries provided and bathrobe and slippers.

Service was absolutely impeccable, possibly the best during our stay in Thailand (and everywhere was great). The front desk staff were very helpful in arranging a taxi to the airport and catching a songthaew for us one night to [Nimmanhaeman]. The staff working at the pool were efficient and great.

There is free wifi in all the rooms and common areas.

Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of western and asian food, and eggs made to order.

The pool area was beautiful and it was a great place to be cooling down in the blasting heat.

Now for the areas which make the hotel a four and not a five rating for me:

- location. It is on the perimeters of the western wall of the old city. Whilst only a cheap taxi journey to the riverside, night bazaar and Nimmanhaeman, it is not walkable to any of them. This may not be a problem for some, but we like to be able to explore the area around the hotel by foot so this was a disadvantage for us.

- water. I found the temperature to be inconsistent and would sometimes change. Not a massive deal though and wasn't too annoying, but one of the things which adds to the list.

- laundry service. Is expensive (although note, is in line with other hotels). I would suggest using the many laundry places in the city. There is one right beside the hotel which charges 50 baht a kg. Our load would have cost hundreds possibly over a 1000 baht if we used the hotel service.

- Perhaps because we were there during summer holidays but quite often, there were not enough seats around the pool. This is a catch 22 situation as I think the number of seats they have around the pool is good, and too many would mean it would be a less peaceful place.

- Rooms are a bit dated (or at least, ours was). The walls need a fresh lick of paint - particularly the garden view rooms which don't get very natural light, I would have thought that white walls would brighten up the place. At present, they are a dirtyish cream which makes the place look dim. The beds creak too much and the airconditioning is too loud that it sometimes woke me up at night.

- There is a free shuttle to the night bazaar which is great. I would suggest that the hotel consider offering a return service with a small charge, as I suspect most guests would rather pay a small charge rather than be ripped off by tuk tuk drivers.

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank little_L86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel looks great, beautiful rooms. However we had a serious problem. We had a reservation for our full family of four, 2 adults and 2 children. We specifically chose The Rim because we wanted a hotel with a room that could accomodate the four of us. However, our room had only one queen bad. We spoke to them and showed our vouchers saying that we had reservation for 3 nights for 2 adults, 2 children. Their answer was that our voucher did not say extra bed. It says 2 adults and 2 children but according to them it had to say one extra bed. I did ask them where did they think that my two daughters (9 and 7) would sleep and their answer was that "some families like to sleep together in a cozy environment of a single bed". OK. So I asked for an extra bed anyways. They set up a mattress on the floor. And not only that, the manager warned me 10 times that they will charge $60USD for each bed (mattress on the floor) for each of the days we stay.

What a mess up. I really recommend you not to stay here. The Rim messed up big time with my family.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Rodolfo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Rim R, Front Office Manager at The Rim Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Value guest,

Thank you for taking time to let us know your experiences during your stay.

I am of course not happy to read about how you felt about our services. Without giving excuses, please allow me to quickly reply to each of your mentioned points

Regarding to your booking from your travel agency, the booking was booked for 2 adults and 2 children in one room and did not book for any additional roll-away bed at all. So we upgraded you to stay in deluxe room for larger room size. As our accommodate policy for maximum capacity is all infants and children under 12 years stay free of charge without breakfast when using existing bedding. All older children or adults are charged at THB 900 (not 60 US per bed as you mentioned) and maximum capacity for extra bed or baby cot is one per room. From your booking detail make us understand that your family with small kids were agree to stay by sharing bed together.

On your arrival day, you strongly requested us for adding 2 extra beds in each room but unfortunately our proper extra bed is not enough that we left only 2 extra bed and 2 mattress that we sold by the same price and our Front office supervisor tried to ascertain the price with you and you were agreed to pay. Actually we allow for only one extra bed added in one room but your case is special exception in order to solve the problem for your stay. In the mean time, we was immediately contact with your travel agency to find out a further solution for you due to they did not clarify your reservation details with us.

Once again sorry for your inconvenience stay and we did try our best to fix the problem for you also do apologize that cannot make it reach to your satisfaction and once again thank you for taking the time to write to us.

Sincerely yours,

Nattapong Benjapornpong
Front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed here for 7 nights on business. The hotel is centred around a magnificent traditional northern Thai house with a beautiful central courtyard containing a small pool. Most of the rooms open over this courtyard, the use of limited space ingenious. My ground floor room was beautifully appointed with an excellent shower, high quality toiletries and a veranda opening onto the courtyard and pool. The staff are a delight and could not have been more friendly and helpful, the breakfast, part buffet, part served to order, is of excellent quality. It is within walking distance of the Sunday Walking Street and the hotel provides nightly transport to the trendy and busy riverside area, if that is what you want. I had just come from 5 weeks in central Bangkok and it was a completely refreshing contrast. It's a 'boutique' hotel, rather than a 'resort' but it is delightful in every respect. I would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a beautiful place to stay out of the hustle and bustle but close enough. It is a more traditional Thai style and is beautifully done. The staff were excellent and the breakfast was good. I spent 5 nights here and felt so relaxed when I left. LOVED IT!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.9 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 403 in Chiang Mai
1,023 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#36 of 403 in Chiang Mai
1,030 reviews
1.1 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#31 of 403 in Chiang Mai
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#14 of 403 in Chiang Mai
1,531 reviews
3.2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.9 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rim Resort

Address: 51/2 Arrak Road | Phrasingh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $104 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rim Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Rim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rim Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing