We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of The Rim Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Rim Resort
Ranked #28 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We arrived at the Rim after a much longer than expected overnight train journey from Bangkok

We were checked in promptly on arrival and upgraded to a deluxe room which is large and very comfortable. The hotel is in a good location for restaurants and bars and the hotel also runs a daily shuttle bus to the night market

We would definitely come back to the Rim

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    248
    45
    8
    3
See reviews for
132
346
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2012

After long travel time, it was great to check in to The Rim. The welcome drink was great and the room was even better! The room had Asian-style furnishings and was very spacious. The robe and slippers were great after a nice long shower. I didn't get to use the tub, but it was large and inviting. The bar had some funky drinks and a nice atmosphere (outdoors). The location was central and within walking distance to the Sunday market and many other areas. Finally, the breakfast was wonderful. There was plenty to choose from on the buffet table, plus you could order Thai or western items from e menu. The coffee was fresh espresso, nice and strong!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

From the moment you enter Rim Resort, you are treated like royalty. We were immediately given cold towels and drinks and setup with our room. We were upgraded to a nicer room and were relaxing inside in no time.

We stayed in a very spacious deluxe room. The bathroom itself was larger than many hotel rooms.

We were on the second floor and had a balcony view of the pool area.

Breakfast was included in our package. It includes an entree and then an extensive continental buffet.

Staff were very accomodating and setup a massage appointment for us.

There are a few places nearby to eat and it was easy to find transportation to the Sunday night market.

We paid around $140 Canadian per night.

Five star.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ski D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Lovely hotel, very conveniently located, clean nice room and balcony with a traditional twist, nice pool. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Only regret was the food which was less than average. We loved the massage by the pool. I definitely recommend the place be it for family trips or romantic getaways.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We got upgraded to a large room on the ground floor with a private balcony overlooking the pool area. The room was clean and we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. The hotel provided a free shuttle in the evening to the night bazaar, which was handy. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the walking street area, which has some nice restaurant options.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyTO2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

First time in Chiang Mai and was travelling with friends. This is a great place to stay, very friendly and polite staff. We didn't try the spa at this place there's was no time too many day trips booked.

The room was clean and decent size, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was great. They have a buffee style with fruit, bread, cornflakes and yogurt etc. On top of that they have a menu to order the main, yes main :). You can choose from omelettes, thai style dishes etc and the service at the restaurant was great.

In all we had a great stay here and I can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetsetter_viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
110 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have traveled quite a bit trough South East Asia and stayed in a lot of very good and highly ranked hotels. Still, i cannot think of any place that i like to return to, as much as to the Rim Resort in Chiang Mai. This is only my second stay, but i think that if i return to Chiang Mai again in the next year, i will clearly stay at this place again. What makes it so good ? Read on...

Location:

The hotel is located on the eastern side of the old town. To be honest, the location isn't really perfect. There is not too much around in the near vicinity of the hotel. Even the next 7Eleven is a good 5 minutes walk away. It probably takes around 30 minutes to walk to the night market or a 5 minutes drive (they provide some free shuttle service to the night market in the evening). But, it's very quiet. The "Rim Resort" is a place for me to unwind and relax, which means it should be very quiet and it is. No hustle bustle, no noise. It's really a quite place and thats something which i really prefer, of a top-spot-location.

Tip:
If you come from the airport or want to go to the airport, you can get a pick-up from them, which cost me a fair 90 Baht, much less than a taxi and much more comfortable.

Hotel:

When you see the "Rim Resort" for the first time from the outside, you have the feeling that you are entering the grounds of an old temple. This continues as you proceed further to the inner side of the hotel. They tried to recreate the architecture of a thai temple without letting some unusual elements like destroy the illusion. It just feels right when you walk through the grounds of the hotel, everything looks like it could really have served as an temple in the earlier years, though everything was probably just build to create such an illusion.
You have a big reception area (with a stand alone PC for all us old fashioned people without WIFI-devices, though wifi worked really good with a laptop), a big restaurant, with seats inside and outside (though the seats to the street can be very noisy), a nice garden with a communal area where you can eat, too, play games or just read a book and of course the pool, which is surrounded by most of the rooms. At last, you also have small gym, which overlooks the pool also. The pool itself is not as big, as it may occur to you when watching some of the professional photos, but still big enough, surrounded by tropical trees. I enjoyed the pool very much, though i must add that i found it very cold last year, when i was there in the end of October. This time, at the beginning of the month, i found it much warmer.

Rooms:

The superior rooms are all directly by the pool. Some on the same level as the pool, while others are on a higher level, looking down at the pool. I had a room on the highest level this time, but my view to the pool was obstructed by a tree, so that i had no clear view to the pool. The room was equipped with a balcony, which had some of the most comfortable sitting mats that i have ever seen (look at the pictures). It was just a joy to go out the balcony and plank yourself down on the mat and read a bit.

The room itself is big, kept extremely clean (i guess they tidy it up more than one time in a day) and was still in a very good condition. It had everything that you may need (TV, safe, bathrobe + slippers, a good choice of toiletries and stuff you might need) with a fine and big bed (though a bit hard, if you are bothered by that), with a good working air con and a very nice bathroom. The room is kitted out in wood and makes a very nice appearance. The bathroom is also kept in the same style and provides a shower and a bathtub and the very cool feature to be able to from the bathroom to the room and essentially also to the balcony through a window. I am happy to report, that the water pressure was good and that they have also solved my problem with the water, that was getting very hot/cold again and again, from last year. Actually i had no problems with my room this year and was very satisfied.

Sleep Quality:

As i wrote before, the bed is a bit hard, but this usually makes me sleep even better than at home. Same here, i slept like a baby most of the time. It was very, very quite at night and the curtains provide some good cover against the early morning sun. I could stay here forever, as i can sleep so well.

Service:

Clearly a very good point of the hotel. While the service might not match the luxurious service of a 5 star hotel, it is very good. Everybody is very friendly, constantly smiling and trying to help you out with your questions and problems. I must also add that there is a good surplus of service staff around, so that you will never have to wait to long, if you need some help with something. This applies not only to the reception, but also to the restaurant. However, as good hearted and good meant the service usually is, it is not totally up to par to excellence. Especially at breakfast i sometimes had the feeling that i was forgotten by the staff, because i was sitting outside and not inside the restaurant.
But all in all, the service was very good and the spoken level of English also sufficient. I wouldn't want to call the service world class, but it is very friendly, honest, good hearted and much more competent, than a lot of other 3 or 4 star places that i have been in SEA.

Food:

The breakfast that is provided is a mix between buffet and order. You can order eggs or even thai food. The quality is good, both the buffet, as is the food to order. This was probably the best breakfast that i had in 5 weeks of SEA, which doesn't mean it is perfect, but perfectly adequate. A special mention goes to the coffee, which was really good and which is a fine example, that somebody cares about the customer and doesn't just provide the cheapest thing available.

I also tried to restaurant food a few times. The selection is not really big and sometimes you can get the feeling that they try to make the food a bit more fancy than it has to be. The quality ranged from so so to very good, but with prices to match.


Verdict:

There isn't much else to say. I enjoyed my second stay at the "Rim Resort" very much and would go back there any minute.
I can clearly say, this is my little heaven, my little place on earth that i like to go to, to do nothing but unwind and relax. I know its not perfect, i enjoyed my time thoroughly and found that the hotel provided excellent value for the money i paid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 3d-razor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.8 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 381 in Chiang Mai
957 reviews
0.9 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 381 in Chiang Mai
946 reviews
0.6 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,811 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rim Resort

Property: The Rim Resort
Address: 51/2 Arrak Road | Phrasingh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#34 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rim Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Rim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rim Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing